Total 14 messages Pages | 1 | 2   Older >
OFFICE OF PROFIT
by Hanif Mohammed on Mar 18, 2006 02:55 PM  Permalink 

This is an absurd article - where the author is preaching caste based politics. The Supreme Court of India, has ruled against Jaya, and not Sonia Gandhi. It shows transprency is working in India. I am suggesting here that any person who is wrong or on the wrong side of law, should be challenged in court, and common citizens should be assured fair justice is prevailing in India.

Jaya Bacchan
by partha biswas on Mar 17, 2006 05:14 PM  Permalink 

One of the most respected of Actors in Indian Cinema has been way laid by shrewd politicians like Mulayam and manipulators like Amar Singh.Actually given the fact that Amitabh and Ajitabh have come together, Amar Singh and group have prempted a reunion between the Bacchans and Gandhis.And Jayaji has fallen hook line and sinker to this clever manipulation ... or if one sees the reverse side of the coin, if and when Bacchans and the Gandhis come together, Mulayam and Amar Singh shouldnot miss out on eating the cake and keeping it too !!! As I write this I understand that President Kalam has disqualified Jayaji from RS membership.So there is a chance of some efficient Lawyer getting Jayaji's brief to contest this.By the way this is also a way to keep attention away from the MORE pressing needs of UP governance or whatever you call it.Politicians are FANTASTIC in diverting attention.

Jaya Bachchan's speak...
by rnsharma on Mar 14, 2006 05:19 PM  Permalink 

Jaya is trying to sound like a politician-a la Amar Singh who himself is more of a fixer than a politician. Both of them have no base and absolutly no following. So the question of Jaya's winning a Lok Sabha Seat from any where in the country is based on hypothetical assumptions and need hardly any comments.

The Kayastha Votebank
by Pranshu B Saxena on Mar 14, 2006 01:14 AM  Permalink 

It was funny to note someone with Kayasthized surname write an article which has faulty knowledge of the community but then in maharasthra, the peshwas replaced the kayasthas with brahmins leading to eventual decline of their empire! Jaya Srivastava is an issue not because she is kayastha but because she is Amitabh, UP 's most favourite, son's wife. Kayastha community specializes in government service civil or military, teaching, medical and arts (humanities) with hardly any lawyers. They are not clannish in their voting patterns. They cannot be. Unlike 99% of other indian castes, Kayasthas are very liberal in their marriage customs, a kayastha can be born in bengal,in kashmir,in hyderabad, in goa or in UP and can marry any one in any caste or region or religion. Kayastha has one identity only, "Indian". The mother most likely will be of different caste. Jaya Bahaduri is only an example of a kayastha marrying outside their caste. Unlike following Rabindranath's directive after Jwallianwala bagh, kayasthas will put the Jaya Bachhan story down to a normal kayastha joke "Congress was planning to get the other Jaya- Jayalalitha and you know non-kayasths cannot spell"
Pranshu B Saxena

abide by the law - politicians
by A.Balasubramanian on Mar 13, 2006 10:46 PM  Permalink 

When there is law, that, the elected member of parliament or any house should not have another post which gives any monetary benefits, Jaya bachan, should abide by this.

Once the election commission had found the case is valid as per the existing law, then the MP should go first.

Now, the UP Govt had passed a bill in support of Jaya, ie., the elected member can have one more post with monetary benefit, this will legally be applicable to the elected member from the date of the bill.

As a law abiding citizen, Jaya should resign.

Congress' UP Bungle
by Mohanbir Singh on Mar 13, 2006 08:19 PM  Permalink 

Yes, the Congress has bungled very badly on the Jaya Bachan issue.. But I don't think , with all the political tamasha,at Harvanshrai's village, the Samajwadi party is going to gain substantially in UP, except for a few brownie point's. As long as this castist politics remain the bane, UP and India are bound to suffer. We have to get out of this mindset.

bachanboomerang
by abdul on Mar 13, 2006 07:30 PM  Permalink 

According to me what rajya sabha has done is right sacking jaya bachan. This is not a film industry where you will do as you like . Its our countries pride, when resoulations are there you should follow, irrelavant of being a celebrete or a rajya sabha member or a minister. You cannot break constitution rules for a film artist. So Mr President keep in mind of our countries image and its pride. We cannot dance on the actions of film stars like Mr mulayam singh yadav and amar singh.They are making parliment and rajya sabha as a filmi scene. By bringing film artist into samaj wadi party, who do not know the ABCD of politics, just they want the film artist on the stage and gain public confidence. But now the public they can see the crocodile tears of jaya bachan YEH PUBLIC HAI SAB JANTI HAI ANDER KYA HAI BAHAR KYA HAI.Please jaya bachan dont dance on the tunes of Mr mulayam singh and amar singh they are using you, you are film artist you can judge and continue. Politic is not your field, politician are people when they need you they will use you and then later they will through you out. OK if you want to make money from these gimmiks go ahead you will also be same like them.

Too optimistic on Yadav
by Dev on Mar 13, 2006 04:59 PM  Permalink 

too optimistic.The columist thinks UP electorate can be swayed so easily by such mundane incidents?There are bigger things at stake for different casts there.

dear editor
by prajesh lutchman on Mar 13, 2006 04:26 PM  Permalink 

namaste , my name is shree prajesh lutchman and being
extremely close to shree amitabhji bachchanji and shreemati jayaji bachchanji ,your reporter namely
one aditi phadnis ,should write an apology to shreemati jaya bachchan and take
back all that she has written in her article "bachchan boomerang" about the bachchans for
as well i take personal offence to miss phadnis's article and she must apologise,in writing to mrs
bachchan.

Total 14 messages Pages: | 1 | 2   Older >