Total 772 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60   Older >   >>
Nice write!
by Divya on Jun 23, 2006 10:02 AM  Permalink 

That was a nice article..
I always,like any other Indian - would love to talk about the greatness and richness of my country, people, culture...still, would always think..there are some things we wish, India had looked into..esp dirty politics, roads etc

Still, my Country is the best in the world and im proud being an INDIAN!!

Absolutely true!!!
by Jack on Jun 23, 2006 10:01 AM  Permalink 

A very wonderful article, in a large sense depicted the true face of India. I don't understand only one thing, that is, before mentioning these points of hatred, the author has mentioned that he likes 95% qualities in India. Without all these how much do we have? I agree, we only boast more, but the fact is, we are far behind in a lot of matters, only economic prosperity is not what we should be aiming at. In a recent survey by Reader's Digest, it was mentioned that some of our cities were the rudest. We are quick to react stating that we are not. When will we learn to look at statistics and try to improve ourselves, rather than trying to justify ourselves. Of course there could be flaws in the survey, but our own reporters on checking out some of these matters have found it true. Unless this urge comes from deep within, I don't think we can expect a change even in the coming few years. Hope it does change, so we can have a better nation with a true image in the eyes of others not a painted image.

10 things...
by Nalin Kishore on Jun 23, 2006 09:58 AM  Permalink 

Cheer up , man, we are like this only ! Have a good time.

''Top 10 Things I like about india''
by VIjayanand on Jun 23, 2006 09:58 AM  Permalink 

Reading the article...the first thought which comes to my mind is "All the 10 points stated in the article are the TOP 10 things I like about India". Because of such issues, I see that we(Indian) have lots and lots of opportunities for growth...whether its improvement of infrastructure, implementation of power plants for electricity, usage of technology for providing information and awareness about triffic rules, Maps, Historical documents...etc.

Only 1 point which I hate about India is "Leadership" - We don't have the aggresion or assertiveness or leadership skills to address all these issues or rather opportunities. Leaders in the likes of Mahatma Gandhi...who led the entire nation.

Finally I would say "its good have such articles, because it refreshes our minds about the opportunities we have in india".

Funny
by sushil dhar on Jun 23, 2006 09:54 AM  Permalink 

Its funny that the author did not mention Population as the worst thing in India . One of the reasons India is lacking behind and no one talks about it because of the politics is Population . I am amazed that nothing is being done regarding it .

One more thing if the whites pay more in India thats nothing wrong . How about Indian students paying 5 times more in the western countries . If they can do it why cant we and we are doing it just in Taj Mahal and not in every place in India . I think Taj Mahal deserves it .

10 things i hate abt india
by Madhab on Jun 23, 2006 09:53 AM  Permalink 

I think, author is very correct. I agree with the author. There are some more issues like social racism which is really dishearting.

Great article !
by Divya on Jun 23, 2006 09:52 AM  Permalink 

Being an Indian one would not like this article. But if U R impartial then these R the very topics on which V friends keep talking( & do nothing about it). Every time it thunders the elec. dept gets scared & I always pray it doesn't rain at night( I miss my late night shows,yaar:) ). U can get no work done without 'paying' the Babus(& v keep 'paying' them). There R just nice ads going on the TV as 2 how 2 behave with tourists(no one notices them). I HATE INDIAN POLITICIANS(did U C 'Rang de basanti'). People R getting conscious about our environment. I hope none of us gets stuck in traffic anywhere in the world. We ourselves R responsible for corruption in out beautiful country( V R lucky that corruption has not reached Indian soldiers; imagine them being bribed by the enemies of India; worst nightmare come true; R there any one politician's kith&kin in the defence forces). I hope 2 C one article based on "Things I love about India". There can't be just 10 things.

What have u left
by Raj Kiran Singh on Jun 23, 2006 09:49 AM  Permalink 

You havent left anything
These are the things India is made up off. Although i havent spent 30 years in India becuase i am just 22years old, but i like these things about india that you have written as bad.

Well may be we have different perceptions of things ;-)

Thanks
Raj Kiran

indian railways?
by timepassman on Jun 23, 2006 09:46 AM  Permalink 

u forgot about indian railways timing :))

frustration released..............
by Kushal Pareek on Jun 23, 2006 09:45 AM  Permalink 

Good work Mr. Claude Arpi. All these 10 things hits me also all the time, specially the different rates for 'white tourists'. I feel ashamed when i see the board showing the different rates. My frustration also released a bit.
But my point to write here is that u must add one more thing to ur list - The General Public. We, the Indians r too good but too bad also somewhere sometimes. Some of them damage the image of the whole country. Few characteristics r found only in indians like hippocracy and escaping from national responsibilities. We throw garbage on the road and then blame the authorities (just one example).
But still we have many things to give to rest of the world.

Total 772 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60   Older >   >>