Hi, This refers to the 10 things I hate about India. Things listed are superficial.It fails to touch upon the deeper maladies(except that,surprisingly, corruption is listed and obviously that's the raison de etre for our sacred cow called red tapism). Here's my contribution to the list We are in the age of information right? And Bangalore is billed as the Silicon Valley of India Till today nobody has thought about installing a network of information system with which the commuters of the city buses in Bangalore could be informed about cancellation/late arrival of the buses! Is it impossible in this era of mobiles & electronic display boards? Stop introducing more buses when the service provided is so lackadaisical.Instead be considerate enough to INFORM the anxiuos youth waiting for the city bus to appear for an interview that he has missed the bus and go by auto!That has been my refrain for the past 10 years! It's more puzzling to note that the very commuters gave luke response whenever I spoke about such an information network! That's the catch.It happens only in India's IT capital.
I agree with you completly. Yes India does not lots of things to admire about, mainly their hospitality, culture etc. but slowly these things are also changing. we have started aping the west for things like smoking, drinking live-in relationships less regard to elders etc.
Also the point about charging higher amount to foreigners is really a shame to our government. I don't think any other country has such a differentiation. recently when i had recommended my expatriate collegue who also pays taxes in India to a Naturopathy clinic, we were shocked to know that inspite of his having lived in India for last 10 years and paying taxes in India, because he had a foriegn passport, he had to pay 4 times of what a India had to pay. Shame on us. I sincerely hope the government will change these rules and attract more foreigners to see the Marvels of India...
What ever the writer has mentioned, I concur with him.If the brand image of India has to improve then we the citizens,the indian politicians,the so called indian netas and Babus have to change our mindset and apply our mind in bringing changes in the above mentioned ten aspects positively and in a lesser time frame.We bring this change then "India" the brand image wil be "great" in every nook and corner of the world.Wake up india.
Hi. I really appreciate your bravery at having left a land of convenience and settling in India. I also appreciate your observations .I completeley agree that India always had had a great potential and all these negative points are something which can be brought completely under control if desired by the people and also by those who can by their authority. Its only when i came out of India that i realised really the diversity and the inner strength that my country actually has . I wish i can contribute to removing the negative shades of my homeland in any way possible.
I cannot think of more apt 10 things to hate about India myself. Although, people can bring about a change in many of these dysfunctional systems to a certain extent. We don't see any improvement in any of these things ever. Thats the eleventh thing I hate about India.
The corrupt should be mercilessly killed and the democracy removed. I feel democracy is the root cause for problems in India. A ruler even with a slight commonsense is fine. Hai Hind
Well I guess though you stayed in India, never really experienced it.
1) Power Cuts : I am in US, do you really know what the victims of hurricanes have gone through, forget about electricity they are homeless. Every country has its own structure depending on their experience and resources, and actions taken depend on them. Well power cuts happen in every single part of the world.
2) Indian Babus : I guess they atleast have a heart to help the people they love........
3) Historical Documents : They are hundreds of libraries for any historical facts to be read about other than the library mentioned.
4) Tourists : I have met a lot of people who have been to india and still crave to go back. They wont stop yapping about the love and affection that our people show towards them.
5) Maps : India is meant to be explored in your own way rather looking on maps. Well if u really need directions i guess our pan gallawallas are far better than any maps.
Last and not the least, U have 10 things that u hate about India, we have MILLIONS OF THEM to love about India.