Total 104 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6
26/7 downpour
by RAJESH SETH on Jul 25, 2006 10:51 AM  Permalink 

I was in Mumbai on 26/7 and I will not forget that day when I had to walk down 3 kms during the heavy rains and waterlogging.Certainly it was not possible to walk but it was sheer courage of the people walking around me that gave me energy to walk in knee high water level and the scare that I should not go into the manhole which generally floats due to water pressure.

Mumbai 26/7 /2005
by S.Hariharan on Jul 25, 2006 12:32 AM  Permalink 

Dear Sir, Railways are a mighty organisation and have the facilities and capacities in quick disaster management. A derailed train or compartments are quickly removed and the traffic is restored. At the most there can be a few hours delay. What happened to the passengers stranded in the abandoned trains outside Mumbai on that day. What happened to the nearby stationmaster? My wife was in a sleeper compartment from Hyderabad to Mumbai. For over 24 hours she remained in the compartment. No relief operation or other facilities were done to those people stranded in the train and the authorities {if they were there} felt that it is upto the passengers to find the way of safety. My Mrs. got a feeling that that would be the last day for her and wrote full address of the house in Sion and also in Bangalore. Who can forget negligance and lapses of such organisation?

Rains
by VMN on Jul 24, 2006 10:32 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It was terrible to see such apathy by the Mumbai corporation which is responsible for cleanliness

RE:Rains
by Srivathsan on Jul 26, 2006 10:21 AM  Permalink
Ganesh, you have reinforced an open secret !
If a disaster happens...politicians smile.....

26/7 Terriable day....administration failure day....Pocket filling day for politician
by Ganesh Thakare on Jul 24, 2006 07:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I was in office whole night near Andheri kurla road .. phone was not working..roads were converted into roaring river..there were lot of drainage opened and lot of people died into it.But still No work happened . lot of money is allocated for this road . But still water is coming on road.I don't understand for every simple reason people have to complaint against administration. This is simple problems child also understand what to do for it. I don't understand what do u mean by democracy in India. If single person is in difficulty democracy help to solve .But In India everybody is in problem but nobody come up and take responsibility. Politicians are busy to fill up their pockets. If any disaster happen in country...polticians smile bcoz they feel God has given chance to loot money.Our Government is earning much more than any country.
It is really responsibility of Court to see work happened or not .If they feel anything wrong they can fire authority person. But court wait for filing case What is it?Being an Indian I dont know I have future or not , Am I safe or not.?In Mumbai every day I have to struggle for simple things .What we can do nothing just see Tamasha & Pay taxes

RE:26/7 Terriable day....administration failure day....Pocket filling day for politician
by Ravi on Jul 26, 2006 03:46 PM  Permalink
Dear Ganesh,

Your frustation is understandable. This is the state of affairs in Mumbai - the so-called Economic Capital of India. Have you ever tried to think what people must be going through who are living in places like Bihar, UP, Uttrakhand and so on.

Ever thought about the people (Kashmiri Pandits) who have been thrown out of their herths in 1990 and nobody wants to even think about them. People displaced by the construction of dams in 60's and 70's are yet to be settled or rehabilitated.

You are lucky enough of having luxury like a roof over your head.

Think about those people who spend their nights on the road without any shelter, you will realize that their are thousands and thousands of people who are in dire need of help. But who cares????? Not you nor ME. Before we start complaing, we should have done our bit to improve the situation. By the way, have you done a single job on your own, which would helped the situation in a better way.

So, STOP complaing and do some concrete work for the society you live in. - Ravi

Recurrence of 26/7 flooding
by Deepak Kotian on Jul 24, 2006 07:20 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The Government and the people of india will never learn from their mistake. We have already witnessed flooding on two occassions when it rained heavily and inspite of the complains and tall claims made by the authorities the condition of the city remains as bad it was. Every year they claim to feed crores of the tax payers money into infrastructure which is so pathetic. It is only when someone from the ministry or the bureacrats faces problem then possibly they would wake up. Out complaints to BMC keep falling on deaf ears as they know nothing will change for them and they can continue with their old ways of working. God save our country from these politicians and these bureacrats

RE:Recurrence of 26/7 flooding
by Kiran on Jul 26, 2006 03:13 PM  Permalink
You have mistaken Manoj, posted under wrong comment

RE:Recurrence of 26/7 flooding
by Manoj on Jul 26, 2006 12:30 PM  Permalink
You are mistaken sir, India is already soft target.

India soon to become softest target for Terrorists
by Mayank Yadav on Jul 24, 2006 07:17 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

No doubt the way Indian people & indian politics is playing in the hand of Fanatics & extrimists. India will soon become the softest target for Terrorists

RE:India soon to become softest target for Terrorists
by V.C.Rajnarayan on Jul 26, 2006 01:40 PM  Permalink
You are absolutely right. Because we have not only voilent terrorists. But also cultural terrorists in the form of Evangelists . Because of VOTE BANKS(Very Openly Tension Encouraging Bureaus for Affecting Nation Keeping and Security) Policy.

Rajnarayan

by G H IYER on Jul 26, 2006 01:55 PM  Permalink
I agree with you and that is the saddest truth that there is collusion between hard cored terrorists and the power crazy and corrupt politicians with out any ethics what so ever. thatr is the experience from the stand revealed by mulayam singh yadav and his crneys, arjum singh karunanidhi ony to name a view. They will not care about the contry and protect the terrorists even after their vicious attacks ion innocent citizens for no fault of them on vote back politics. The situation is grim devoid of any hopes. But can the right thinking citizens thik about it aloud bring it into a national debate and create awareness in every right thinking Indians. Other wise these will merelybe dismissed as passing incidents after the initial furore and public out bursts after the initial dust settles down, May God save our country and our innocenet country men

by CL Gopalakrishnan on Jul 26, 2006 03:02 PM  Permalink
I fully agree with whatever is said by others. Unfortunately India is already a soft target for terrorists and will continue to be so. Terrorists worldwide know that they can attack India at any time and at any place because of the laxity of our security agencies, inactive police forces,corrupt machinery, unconcerned policitians and Government,nexus between politicians and criminals and above all our judicial system which takes ages to commit the culprits to the law of the land. No where in the world can u see such a fine combination of all ills.

by Christie John on Jul 26, 2006 05:06 PM  Permalink
The blame Game is easy right?

Government should be blamed if they cant take care of the citizens who (are supposed to!) pay them. In mumbai they deserved the blame.

But when i decide on a marriage, do i always have the liberty to select the season. Trust me mostly not. I cant imagine telling my soon to be in-laws -"see, it might ran in mumbai and flood might ensue, so lets get the marriage in Summer!"

Does that happen..? or is there a marriage planning calendar which i need to look at?

by Chris John on Jul 26, 2006 05:11 PM  Permalink
Hey.. wait a minute...

To our government, a terrorist attack is an opportunity to exhibit their empty jingoism.

More than that, they have more thngs to takecare of like:

> Increasing the taxes of the bloody common man

>> The office of profit bill

etc etc

Whats the use of common man to politicians.. get votes, get money...!!!

by KC on Jul 26, 2006 07:02 PM  Permalink
Yes...while we debate that POTA is the magic wand all the problems can be wished away enemies of the country are having a ball. On the other hand the PAK President threatens us if we go in hot pursuit based on news reports. All sounds like we have heard & seen these all before - Deja Vu. Less talk and lets play hard ball else we will be soft targets forever !

Mumbai, 26/7: Then and now. Tell us!
by Tarun on Jul 24, 2006 04:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi

I am one of the many mumbaikars who was effected on 26/7/05.Walked several hours in filthy stinking sometimes knee deep and sometimes waist high water from Bandra to Andheri (where I live).However my journey to home also had a big waiting time of 5 hrs at Milan subway (santacruz - west)junction cuz the road ahead was blocked by the fire bridage to avoid people getting sweept away by the strong water current.however i reached home safe and shaken by early the early hours of 27th.But to my horror i saw the state of my home i was terrified and angry.Terrified because my house whcih is on the ground floor was flooded upto 5 1/2 feet and angry because the first people that i could blame was BMC who i knew and know had never cleaned the nullas in front and back of my society.Its now the same time of year the nullas still not been cleaned properly...to show and to make some good money they cleaned the nullas and put all the kachra at the edge of the nullas which got swept in the nullas again and the result of which was two weeks back my house was flooded again but this time it was only 2 1/2 feet.Last year most of the roads were eroded due to rains on 26/7.the BMC did a good job ???

RE:Mumbai, 26/7: Then and now. Tell us!
by Jackie on Jul 26, 2006 02:04 PM  Permalink
Dear

While we can all blame Mumbai corporation for its failures to provide a better infrastructure, are you not to be blamed for organizing a function of your lifetime during the peak of the monsoon?

Regards

by Apurbo on Jul 26, 2006 05:41 PM  Permalink
Hey Dude,

You seem to have jumped the trigger. You need to go thru Sami's posting once again. He has mentioned Last July and not this July.

by SANAUL HAQUE on Jul 26, 2006 05:41 PM  Permalink
I can not understand since begining because the date is quite confusing

Sana

by geetha on Jul 26, 2006 05:44 PM  Permalink
The marriage would have happened on July, 2005.Pls clarify

RE:sahastranshu, u nuts?
by Matt on Jul 26, 2006 08:03 PM  Permalink
Whats wrong with the dates baby? U mean the flood waters carried dogs who fought with poor Moosa?

26/7
by Samir Moosa on Jul 24, 2006 02:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi Folks,
It so happens that I am an NRI (I stay in the Middle East).I was in Mumbai last July for my marriage. The marriage date was fixed for 29th July. We stay in a building which is adjacent to the Mithi River in Kurla/Kalina. Everything was alright till 26th morning when we were just about thinking that the final arrangements were completed. The wedding celebrations were going to begin on the 27th, which had guests coming in literally from around the world (USA, UK, UAE, and all parts of India) numbering around 1000. As fate would have it, except for a few who had arrived about 10 days earlier, none could make it. My building had water upto half of the first floor (about 12 feet). My brother nearly drowned in the wave sweep which occured just near my area. All food was spoilt. All arrangements went waste. BUT KEEPING UP THE MUMBAI SPIRIT, I STILL GOT MARRIED. Instead of 29th, we got married on 30th. There were just 150 people at the wedding, which included many whose houses were still under water. It was horrible, imagine, I had just 3 glasses of water in 15 days on and after 26/7, as clean drinking water was unavailable. I think that incident humbled me.Thats all I can say.

RE:26/7
by An Indian-not NRI ! on Jul 26, 2006 05:53 PM  Permalink
Thank GOD, I'm not a NRI !
1000 persons from abroad to atted his marriage?
E kisko ullu banaa rahaa hai?
Even a Arabian Sheikh cannot expect this.
How long does this NRI stays in this India?
Did he hear about KATRINA? Here at least he could GET married but there, nobody could!
When do we shed our complex of being a NRI?
Do they think they help the country like Chinese do?
Perish the thought and think of something else-my brother!

by sandeep on Jul 26, 2006 05:29 PM  Permalink
Dude ,

The NRI guy is talking about *last* july..thats year 2005...

what an item u are!

by kumar on Jul 26, 2006 10:11 PM  Permalink

In India nothing is impossible. Politics has became a lucarative business, earn, loot, take law into hands, create differences and create maximum inconveniences to the public. They will not care for the public, country image, stopping to any length against the interests of country.

Our Indian Politicians for the sake of votes, can stoop to any level, and nothing to wonder one day, they may give voting rights to territorists, anti nationals, corrupted people and who loots our country since they are one.

Their audacity is they can fool us, all the times and still get away with every time.

It is less said the better about them. It is ultimately the people who having nothing to do about this politics, to bear all on the onslaught even after so many years of independance.
We must pat ourselves, for the strength we have and we bear at regular intervals against the onslaught indulges by these Politicians.

Kumar

by Mohammed Samir Moosa on Jul 26, 2006 11:02 PM  Permalink
To be precise, I would like to understand you sensibility. I was not getting married on 26th thats right. But the rain did effect it badly. Thats what we all are talking about, AFTERMATH. Only the survivors live to tell.

by sahastranshu on Jul 26, 2006 01:46 PM  Permalink
I read your message and really thrilled to know that you are ahead of all the people in this world. Check the dates you have mentioned about your marriage dear NRI friend and you will come to know what's the problem we indians and even NRI's have. You fight with a dog and always tell you fight with lion. Change your mentallity brother

by kadne on Jul 26, 2006 04:13 PM  Permalink
with blessing and understanding of All party high Command we have to face 26/7 and 11/7 situation . With blessing of all party command all leaders are corrupt. People from all parties are corrupt so we .

Total 104 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6