The problem with Bombay is that with every year the concrete jungle is expanding. Within a few years it would be almost impossible to see SOIL in Bombay. Soil is believed to be the best water absorbent...so you can understand the reason for the current state of Bombay. This year though I am sitting in a new cozy comfortable flat, I can never ever forget what happened last year. I was staying with my parents at Lower Parel, in a big bunglow-type govt quarter. Inspite of repeated complaints the Railway authorities (Inspector of Works) didn't turn up to inspect our residence. And on that fateful day the temporary tarpaulin cover put on our tiled terrace got blown away by the wind thus exposing our Hall & Bedroom to the open skies. So you can understand the trauma through which we went during that period. We had to vacate both the rooms & lived only in the Kitchen & the Balcony. All our expensive goods had to be shifted to the Kitchen & Balcony. Me & mother spent about a week flushing tons & tons of water from our rooms. I guess the Railway Engineering authorities should wake up to calls from all Employees & not only from top Officers.
Nothing much has changed than last 26/7. I was wading in neck deep water near santacruz flyover. reached home 1.30am in the morning. started from my office at 5pm. company bus could reach us upto powai. from there 4 ppl from our office started walking all the way via seepz, andheri highway, airport, santacruz. it was a horrible experience with no power for 3 days, all essential commodities like milk, bread etc. was in short supply. surely it is a day not to be forgotten. and to add fuel to the fire cell phones went kaput(off the air). hence no communication between near and dear ones. a total chaos. i hope this does not recur.
Well, it nice of you to recall the 26/7 to share Mumbaites response.
It is said one poison is a medicine for others!. For those in power and athority, these disasters have proved to be boon. Many have amassed wealth in the crisis; while common man has suffered badly and continue to suffer.
Nothing has changed but things have become worse; the cruel witness is 11/7 bomb blast. If at all these johny's ( that include Johy Joseph- Municipal commissioner)were bit caring to the cause of common man things would not have happened or sorrows would not have repeat in a different version. Colosal negligence and waste of public money without any iota of accountablity.
This is what is going on and will continue to go. Who need to be held responsible?. It is contiune to happen because there is no unity among the citizen of India, hence we are taken for a ride in every aspect of public and our private life.
Unless people sink their difference work against poverty, disproption in wealth distribution, litracy and voilation of Human rights the lesser and the marginalised of the community would sink and suffer to centuries to come.
RE:Mumbai
by Santosh on Jul 26, 2006 01:12 PM Permalink
Dear Sudhakar did u mean the Jonnys, what about the sons of the soils or pandus, you can hire them for peanuts, how is this place going to improve if the police is hand in glove with the gangsters/terrorists. how many blasts have been traced till date, or was it planted by this tauts them selves who knows, end of the day, the people who died was some regular officegoers, on whom a family is dependent.
Attack on assembly, akshardham, rail blasts, killing in Kasmir, killing from naxalites, etc.
Is this the only identity of India? Like me, many Indians are having such questions. We are the second biggest nation so far population is concern. Does it means human life is carrying no value for the nation. We have elected these politicians & now we only have to watch our country mates dyeing. When will this picture change? Now somebody has to make Mera Bharat Mahan again? The question is who? Who will swipe this terrorism out? Who will help our new generation to breath freely? Can we ever be able to leave peacefully?
RE:When will it get over?
by Kiran Kumar Vootori on Jul 26, 2006 03:33 PM Permalink
Who? I can, you can, anyone can, if all the people thinking like you and me stand together spare some time for the society in which we live. Unfortunately, we dont have the time, we are not united. Learn from our politicians, they almost kick each other before elections and for the number game after the elections they lick each other.
Then why cant we fight together for our own cause? Why should we wait for a 'super hero' to come and save us?
I still can not forget that terrible day. Everything was going fine till afternoon. Around 2 PM I started from my office in Prabhadevi to meet one of our clients in Lower Parel( am working as Sales Manager with an MNC ). Around 2 30 PM , amidst meeting i got a call from my wife that its a heavy downpour not seen before and i should immediately start. But like typical mumbai rains, i ignored and thought its lke routine rains and will stop. But moment i left Parel, trouble started. I could not cross the Parel bridge and had to comeback. Still I was cool & calm thinking of moving ahead when rains receds. Situation started worsening and i could see water level reaching half of my car doors ....I could see many Men, women and children getting panicay.. In the middle of the night, made one more attempt to move further but of no luck. Whole night was spent in the car with no communication with family. Only companion was FM radio. Next day morning, started around 7 30 AM but could barely reach Bandra and due to traffic jam, had to park my car near Khar and from there, started walking...thanks to Mumbaikars for distributing snacks and water .. finally reached home (Andheri ) around 2 PM...
You know what you are a looser!!!. Please go ahead and leave mumabi and India as we dont want loosers like you here. My advcie to you is do a proper checking about the corruption and other common problems regading the palce you are proceeding to, I think the best place for you will be in the middle to Thar Desert or even the Amazons will suit your looser type attitude but I sincerely think losser like dont have any chance of survival anywhere on this planet. You must look for some alien ship and migrate to mars or some planet like that but again I dont think you will survive. Any ways all the best and please GET THE HELL OUT OF MY MUMBAI AND MY COUNTRY.
RE:Terrible tuesday-05
by Kumar on Jul 26, 2006 03:31 PM Permalink
Hi.. I'm actually not a mumbaikar.. still can understand the pain and apathy they're going thru. I still feel sad for them who pay taxes, vote for the right person (wrong peole getting elected, is different, out of our control), slog through out the day and still, no peace of mind. They go thru this pain of struggling for each and everything of life, be it medicine, education or for that matter for simple pleasure of living peacefully.
I honestly think they have the right to fell that they are being treated as substandard people and they have the right to take call of leaving that place itself.
Pls donot interpret movies, like RDB and give advices. I would suggest, instead of giving free advices, pls go and live there, show up what a common man can do and then poke your noses.
by Srividya Angara on Jul 26, 2006 01:00 PM Permalink
You bloody Loser! You'd probably sell your own mother if you had the chance! You know what, PLEASE do leave the country for any of the god-forsaken lands you listed. We're WAY better off without you!
by CS on Jul 26, 2006 02:33 PM Permalink
Savio,
I firmly beleive that you are correct. One must look at their own atttude before pointing out a finger to the System and there should be some national pride in every indivudial. However, having said the same the point which MC is making is also very correct.
Why not opt for a better standard of living ( if one gets) in Western countries?
It does not mean that I hate my country if I desire to live abroad for better facilities!
RE:Terrible tuesday-05 & no hope
by Aditya on Jul 26, 2006 05:42 PM Permalink
Why do so many assume that the person complaining about problems in India has not tried changing things for better,is a loser,and would sell some relative off (usually the mother) for a better life?Face up,there are MANY problems in India.People complain about racism in Western countries,but do you think it's not present in India?Any1 remember the white missionary and his 2 kids less than 10yrs old burned alive in a jeep,just because they were white Christians?And the guy who did that was hailed as a hero and went on to win an election?!! Obviously politics has a lot of corruption anywhere,but there are some major differences.Look at UK politics for the past 1.5yrs.U'll c high ranking politicians have had to resign,sometimes because of their own mistakes,sometimes because of their predecessors mistakes!Now take our own babus:Laloo has been involved in 1000crore scam,among others,and he gets one minsiterial post after another.WHY IS HE AND OTHERS LIKE HIM STILL AROUND?Honestly,how many people would join politics to make things better?Many people's parents would say "what nonsense?!" and then let it go at that.Don't. Let's not fight each other,let's fight off the criminals ruling us
Its not coward
by Nilesh on Jul 26, 2006 05:32 PM Permalink
Its not coward to go away n enjoy ur life. All of u r saying that we shud fight with circumstances n live in India itself n do something for this country.
Let me ask u...what r u doing today to save India - politically n ecnomically?
we have got one life.... better to enjoy, have fun n live happily wherever u find happiness... doesnt matter whether in US, UK, Australia or anywhere else. Indian conditions r turning into a big shit - politically.... why 2 bear this when u can have life n resources somewhere else?
I Love India.... but that doesnt mean to waste life out here if u r not happy.
Understand, Bombay is sold out. Please don't call it Bombay or Mumbai. It's "SLUMBAY".
Everthing is in a state of mess. The BMC & the city's infrastructure, the Traffic cops & the traffic. Traffic conditions even in top commercial areas are pathetic. All localite cops sold out to groups of cabbies. Tomorrow bombs will again be planted in cabs!
The railways of foreign countries would provide better facilities even to animals meant for slaughter!!!
The so called "sons of the soil" have stripped their own motherland. Corruption prevails. No one wants to uphold the law.
My only advice : Get out while you can. a) Canada is offering Permenant Residency. b) UK is offering HSMPC visas and the US H1b's. c) Australia's also on.
Please understand the situation and leave, for God's sake. Don't have any hopes hear & relying on the "sons of the soil" for any good to happen is tantamount to mental imparity.
RE:Regarding no hope!
by Sivaram on Jul 26, 2006 04:06 PM Permalink
Sorry Prashant, M.C is not responsible for the shit. We, living in this country, are. Stop critisizing others, we are responsible collectively for the shit that is India. Our forefathers could have made it a better place to live in, they didn't. It is up to us now to try and re-build, throwing stones on any one is not helpful....
Have you heard of rats deserting a sinking ship(they are usually the first to go). While I do accept that we have certain faliures, there is also a lot to look forward to (the warmth, colour and passion with which we live our lives).
What do you call racism, depression, shootings in schools and colleges by students (very prevalant in the UK and most european countries).
As it was mentioned in a movie "Rang De Basanti" if your an Indian as your name does not give any clues (except the word M.C. which is very apt), Make the diffrence yourself then grumble about the system"
by Sudhakr on Jul 26, 2006 03:40 PM Permalink
I am sorry to note that when the chips are down, people like you desrt the ship!!!! Instead of facing the problem and trying to solve it, you are running away from it. Hold the bull by horn!! Unscrupulous people will have field day if all right minded people run away like you are advicing!!!! Please grow up. There is a difference between boys and guys. What you want to be?
by Rohan on Jul 26, 2006 11:24 PM Permalink
:)) hey ppl....dont even bother trying to stop such guys as Mr. "MC" from fleeing the country for good....India is much better off without such guys.
And Mr."M.C." , keep your 'advice' to yourself. I am a student currently in USA on an exchange program and am waiting to get out of here.
There are two ways to look at all our problems back home: 1. A challenge which you look forward to overcoming 2. A no-hope situation where u bail out before u even try.
It seems quite obvious what choice you have made. Glad there are lots of us who ll make the first choice without second thought.
by Prashant on Jul 26, 2006 01:53 PM Permalink
Hi, I know things are pathetic here....but who is responsible for this....I can say people like you...who find easy way to get the solution...see you are a coward and showing the same way to others...by migrating to other place.... People like you have made such politicians without ethics grow to such a extent and rule this beautiful country. I feel pity for you, you want the best thngs from the country...but what are you giving in return...you want everything redymade...instead of running away try to workout hard and see if you can make a difference...instead of just blaming others for the situation.... Please let me know your reply friend...
by Parijaat Sharma on Jul 26, 2006 11:23 AM Permalink
I understand that every word you say is true. Everything has been sold out.
Now tell me, would you like to let it happen with you that happened with George Fernandes in the US. He was stripped on the very airport. I have interacted with people of US and UK, they treat Indians like labourers on wages. Their mentality is altogether different than ours. I don't say that we can't match them or they can't accomodate us, the only thing I would say is GROW UP, they want us that is why they have opened their economy otherwise they don't even like to see Brown or Black people. Go there for some years, learn as much as you can, but don't to emigrate there. Don't forget that at the time of 9/11 NYC bombings the people of US burnt some Indians.
by CL Gopalakrishnan on Jul 26, 2006 03:13 PM Permalink
Post 26/7/05 and even today nothing much is being done to clean up the storm water drains or the pothole ridden roads. For even day todah cleaning of roads & drains, the BMC waits for court orders. It is high time that we rename BMC as Brihan Mumbai MahaNARAG palika instead of MahaNAGAR palika. Unless the "who cares attitude" of corrupt officials in the BMC and other government agencies responsible for Mumbai's upkeep and maintenance changes, our doomsday is coming closer and closer.