Well, if you see, freedom of speech is on the verge of being misused, even by couple of people. It has to be restricted. Even one single message can cause chaos. Somebody is misusing the freedom and trying plant hatred in our minds, so Govt. is right.
Evil forces are trying to replace the very feeling of " Hindi hai hum, Hum watan Hai" from our minds with the feeling of Hatred among ourselves. We shouldn't fall in the trap and take wise decision.
"Saarae Jahan sae Achachah, HINDUSTAN Hamara", because we learned to love irrespective of cast, creed and religion. Let us hold no to it.
RE:Govt. is right
by Ashish on Jul 24, 2006 11:30 AM Permalink
Dear Raj,
I wish the same response can be given by a widow of the terror attacks or a orphan child after the blasts. I wish your family is never affected by these type of terror attacks and you remain forever in this mode of goddie feelings.
Sour grapes !!
by Swadeshi Swamy on Jul 30, 2006 06:17 AM Permalink
Mr Damodar, don't confuse freedom of speech to the right of hindus to live in india. Hindus have lived very, very well in india after independence ,in spite of people like you who always find fault . That's why india is being called an emerging economic giant by america & Time magazine. Just because your BJP lost power does not mean you should criticize what ever this govt does.Come out of your " Sour Grapes "" attitude & do some thing constructive Man .
I have a serious issue with the term 'Freedom of Speech'. Does it mean that one can say or write anything he/she feels like without thinking of its adverse repurcursions? Probably it is situation dependent so lets take one. What freedom of speech r u talking about in case of Mumbai blast? Is hate mail an expression of freedom of speech? Certainly not. But can you expect someone admiring 9-11 terrorists or indian parliament attackers? If one does this than his head is not on his shoulders. Its nothing but an inhumane act if someone kills people or supports them who kill people and talks about freedom of speech. To me freedom of speeach comes with a rider called 'Responsibility'. One needs to ask oneself why I need to say this or write this? Am I hurting people "at large"? Is there any vested interest? Am I hurting my nations interests? if yes then it isn't freedom of speech. The Govt has the right to stop this nonsense and i support the ban. Thanks and please pray for those who got killed in the Mumbai blast
RE:What is freedom of speech????
by nitin on Jul 24, 2006 01:01 PM Permalink
VK, Indeed it is vilation of freedom of speach. Do you really think by blocking blog sites there wont be anyterrorists in future. You must be lying to yourself. Government is blocking the sites because they dont have a clue about whatthey are doing. They may even block the Mumbai local trains because terrorists used them. Heck if government beieves that certain portion of a specific site is being used by terrorists, government should work with site owners and find out the terrorists behind them, arrest them, prosecute them.
RE:What is freedom of speech????
by Ashish on Jul 24, 2006 11:26 AM Permalink
Dear VK,
Its high time now for cultured and sophiticated people like us to understand that this government is not going to appreciate any feeling of goodwill or terms like "responsibility". We are far into the jungle where only the survival of the fittest matters. You can understand this in a better way if you talk to any widow after Mumbai blasts. The laws of land are changing very fast and you have to be either this side or that side. You can't follow a middle path which people like you are me are doing for last 5000 years and getting beaten every time. This is Rang de Basanti times, and if still we don't wake up to the call, there is absolutely no future left for our children.
Well, being an Indian and having lived (and survived) the better part of my 25 years in India, I believe I can well appreciate the government stance. A possible increase in hate crimes is the reason the govt cites for blocking blog sites. Somehow, I fail to paint the picture of rioters instigating riots and commiting hate crimes having pulled off sensitive information of the internet. I believe that the segment of our population that 'regularly' uses the net is a well educated one; certainly not the masses that loot and kill having been smooth talked into believing Modi's glib talk.
There is little reason to believe these people could be influenced (in mass numbers) to engage in hate crimes. I recall going through rediff columns and another similiar ban on some lesser known separatist organization had actually catapulted it to the heights of fame. Apparently, our govt has found something that eludes my comprehension at the least. To me this is just one of those many token measures( calling off Kashmir talks, reiterating the soveeignity of India and the fact that we will not bow before terrorism, and warning our neighbours) that our sovereigns manage to pull up.
I do realize the freedom of speech.....but guys, india hasnt reached the state of no internal problems...that we can freely discuss whatever we want......when we know it doesnt do good to the country or the situation at hand.....its better to help them in every proper way....moreover they are not asking you to shut your mouth for a long while....just for a moment. I do anything for my country. Shud be the attitude before anything else.
RE:BJP did no better !!!
by Tamil Kudi Magan on Jul 30, 2006 06:09 AM Permalink
Mr jasvir singh, this govt. was voted to power by millions of people. Who are you to say they have no right to be in power ? Do you think you are God? Whether you like it or not this govt is here to stay. So " Either Put Up or Shut Up". Moreover your BJP govt did no better but fell face down before the terrorists at Kandhahar & released some killing machines from indian jails ,who later went on a blood spilling spree !! Don't let your hatred for muslims cloud your judgement !!
RE:YEs...totally
by jasvir singh on Jul 24, 2006 10:58 AM Permalink
It is strange that people like you are still there who have total faith in this government which has failed on all front. Instead of securing the lives of the citizens this government is more interested in censoring the voice of the citizens. This government is spending more than one lakh crores of rupees(Rs 1,00,000 Crores) every year on the so-called security of the nation but the ordinary citizen of this country are most insecure due to the misgovernance. If you think that the solution for terrorists attack is banning blogs, censoring press and harresing ordinary citizens, you are unfit to live in a democratic country. It is better you go to Burma or Saudi Arab or to other non-democratic country. Similarly this government which wants to take away people freedom of expression and other democratic rights has no right to stay in power in a country which is has a democratic constitution.
Minority rules in India, the majority is always subdued and oppressed by our governments. This is another example, www.hinduunity.org was a great site.
RE:Block sites, what else is expected of India
by Ashish on Jul 24, 2006 11:09 AM Permalink
Dear Sagar,
Its not the question of minority or majority communities. All goverenments all over the world would support majority feelings if they are to remain in power. The problem is majority community in this country, say Hindus, don't know what is good for them and for their children and try to make everyone happy. Hindus should realise that world is not as safe as they think and its high tme to get up and have a look around, otherwise they will keep on doing the salve act the way they are doing for 800 years to Muslim rulers and 200 years to British.
it is unwarranted. but as long the telecom ministry is under the childlike person dhyanidhi maran who is misfit and unfit this sort of actions will continue.God alone can save our country from such fools and idiots.
i think that we are learning from the past though the process is slow but the process is going on,i think that the people are mature enough to think before they act anything stupid so it doesnt make any difference to them,but some might feel dejected since they want to raise their voice against any bad and they will think that they are not properly heard. but it is my appeal to everybody who reads this that please this is a really hard and testing time so we should become the strenght of good and mankind and should face agaisnt any terror,its the time that we have to send a message of unity,we should always remember that we all share this earth and the sky above so why this hatred.live and let others live.
RE:request for spreading peace and not hatred
by prashant on Jul 22, 2006 11:08 AM Permalink
great vikram!!!!!the prime misnister and his ministry are all fools.U are the right person, much clever than the PM and his ministers, to become Pm, plss go forward, we need u, a clever person like can rule the nation well.plss go and unblock all sites!!
RE:request for spreading peace and not hatred
by Ashish on Jul 24, 2006 11:51 AM Permalink
Dear Respondent,
I appreciate your feeelings but don't you realise what these goodie goodie feelings have given us so far? Please ask any victim of the blasts to preach this goodwill message. Only the people of the developed countries would preach such messages and would themselves cheat others at the first opportunity. Don't you think that this is the high time for us to be wise now and realise the hard realities of life rather than preaching these bookish sayings at the first opportunity. Just remember that we are preaching these feeling for last 5000 years are in the process have become one of the poorest nation from one of the richest one.
Absolutely. This is not even questionable. For country's security reasons, whatever govt. asks has to be cooperated. You can question banning Toor dal and onions and Tomatoes, not security. It is ridiculous that this is brought on forum
RE:Blocking websites
by Prad on Jul 21, 2006 06:28 PM Permalink
Hey dude, Haven't you ever heard/read/seen '1984'? This will be first step to an authoritarian state i.e. curbing freedom on the basis of national security
Your logic leaves me amazed. Since you're advocating blocking anything that terrorists 'can use', how about blocking the Internet and all email? Terrorists certainly use phones - should we ban the use of phones as well? What if they write letters by hand? Shall we ban all postal services as well? At this rate, we will end up banning all forms of communication, including speech.