Dear readers, Women are humen beings and not animals.Who created us all? Our creator GOD the father in heaven. When GOD created us he did not say u womens are unclean or there is no age bar.Inspite we all should worship and praise him together, through which GOD will be glorified in spirit and in truth.As a humen beings one thing we should realize that we all are sinners .so let each one of us examine ourself and see where do we stand before GOD.So let us all (men,women and children too)worship our true GOD with one accord.This all rules and regulations are made by GOD. BLANCH P M 7/7/06
Who said we are sinners?
by ramanan on Jul 07, 2006 12:52 PM Permalink
Mr. Blank
Nobody is born as a sinner. Every individual is born as divine. But due to various attahcments, egoism and materialisic attitudes we donot realize this just as a cloud covers the sun.
The objective of human birth is to REALIZE this divinity in us. (Please donot confuse many of the people in the forum who are already confused by people arguing with little knowledge on Sabarimala)
On a pure Vedanta, ban on entry of women would seem as discrimination on the basis of the body since The Atman is just the Manifestation of the Supreme.
But you have to respect the traditions of the holy place. Afterall women are barrerd only in that sopecific Ayappa temple not in lakhs of temples elsewhere in the country.
Dear readers, Women are humen beings and not animals.Who created us all? Our creator GOD the father in heaven. When GOD created us he did not say u womens are unclean or there is no age bar.Inspite we all should worship and praise him together, through which GOD will be glorified in spirit and in truth.As a humen beings one thing we should realize that we all are sinners .so let each one of us examine ourself and see where do we stand before GOD.So let us all (men,women and children too)worship our true GOD with one accord. BLANCH P M 7/7/06
A country doesn't modernize by breaking traditions. There is no discrimination against women... UNDERSTOOD... it is a protocol and there is a reason behind not allowing women of certain age into the temple.
Temples are not some tourist spots... follow the protocol and come if you want to pray, otherwise just keep quiet.
Media sensatinalize the claim that some Kannada actress touched the diety at Sabarimala, 18yrs ago, so all poojas, vratha, deekshas undertaken by devotees are wasted. Media do not let out the fact that the said actress is married to a Christian and converted to Chritianity a long time ago... A CHEAP PUBLICITY... HYPOCRITES....
4. & how can you forget the age old wise saying "Man Changa to Dil mein Ganga". Pl. ask why a particular trend or tradition was set, get the answer & most of the times I am sure it would be quite logical. Do not follow blindly any tradition or trend that was created centuries ago & depended on Desh (country), Kaal (time) & Paatra (person). These discriminatory rules were never created by God. It is high time that all the people of India understands these things and not be taken for a ride. We should try to break these customs which divides us further in the name of Caste, Creed & Gender. kirangparihar@rediffmail.com
For that matter no rule on this earth was created by God.
Every institution has its own set of rules. A school has its own, an office has its own, a club has its own, a church has its own and a temple has its own. Rules are always framed with good intentions, but over the years, people interpret it in their own ways, to suit their vested interests. That is how evil practices like Sati came into existence in Hindu society. No where it is said that a woman has no right to live, once her husband passes away. Of course manu has said ' na stree swatantram arhathe' - no women deserve freedom. This was quoted in the context that a female while in her younger days is under the guardianship of hr parents, in youth once married off, undedr her husband and the old days under their son/s. Not only Hindu religion, but every sect in the4 world perhaps considered women as something 'precious' You must have heard of Kunchan Nambiar's poem in which he said all clashed in this world are attributed to two factors - kanakam and kamini, i.e. wealth and women. In hinuduism, women enjoyed a lot of privileges, especially in Kerala where Nair community was dominent.
Well, we were talking about the rules set out for different instituions. As there are certain rules to be observed in a school or club, there are certain rules that have been prevailing for centuries in temples, which we call 'tradition'. some temples had something different traditionally. In Attukal, no man is allowed to go anywhere near when ladies make Ponkala. It is an all women show. There is no gernder bias involved. To visit Shabarimala shrine and climb on the 18 holy steps one has to take 41 days strice penance, which include among others, abstaintinism from sex, avoiding hair cut, wearing of leather made items, wearing of fancy dresses - they should rather be on simple dress like a black or saffron colour dhoti, and above all when you visit YOU MUST HAVE IRUMUDI ON YOUR HEAD (two sacks)- that is absolutely compulsory. The temple used to open for devotees only during mandala kalam in the past. But what I understand now is that temple is now open for devotees almost all months but the devotees cannot come through the 18 holy steps but through another gate For enterring temple through this gate, you need not undertake any penance.
RE:Mr. Ramnath Babu
by Ramanath Babu on Jul 08, 2006 10:23 AM Permalink
I thnik, even women are allowed to enter through this gate during those times.
The restriction imposed is only during Mandla Kalam if I am not wrong. This restriction comes because of women's inability to compelte 41 days vrat, as her menstrual cycle intervene in between. Try to understand that nobody has said that women are impure or that they are interior. It is just a custom as in Attukal where males are prohibted.
As regards PURITY is concerned, once you wear that mala on Vrichit 1, you virtually lose your individual identity. YOu are then onwards for the next 41 days known as 'swamy' or 'ayyappa' Devotees who undertakes penance for going to Sabarimala greet always with Swami sharanam, and they address each other as swamy only. Even a rougue, once he decides to go to Sabarimala, mend his ways. He is not supoosed to tell lie, he will not quareel with anybody, he will not harm anobody with thoughts and action. You should visit the shrrine only with a pure mind. All real devotes still observe these rules strictly - I am talking about real deovtees and not those who are going there as if they are out for some picnic.
May be I believe in science more than god because I keep relating things to science. We do things on the name of god like yatra (exercise), fasting (body stability), visiting temple (mental peace, concentration), etc. I think, Men take oath for Ayyappa mala to keep away from women because men should be able to live independently without women support or pleasure. It is a kind of test for men. And men visit Sabarimala to break the bounds of oath. If that woman has visited without knowledge it is ok. If she had visited on purpose, she don't respect the Ayyappa. There is nothing to make controversy.
Mr. George needs to work on his reporting credentials. If he is really doing his job, he would find out why this lady is bringing this incident out after so many years? what is the proof that this incident really happened? Did she really go to the temple, if so did she really go into the sanctum anctorum? Who was with her? Did Mr. george interview them? what did they say? Whats the motivation for this againg actress to come out with this story now? Did some one pay her to make up this story? Who si actually behind this?? There seems to be systematic attack on Hinduism, right from Ramdev's Ayuerved, Amarnath Shiv Ling and now this sabrimala incident. This is an attempt to discredit Hinduism and Mr. Iype will better serve his creed(repoters) by finding the truth...Question is does he have the courage to do so???
How can you live in peace after lieing to your own conciousness ? You influenced the temple authorities for entering the sanctum and the story of pushing etc is only to cover it. leave alone the duscrimination factor. It was not the temple authorities who created the hocus pocus but you by writing / sending faxes to all.
Th Ashtamangala Prasna are held at not only in temples but in individual homes also. A lot of wrong doings crop up and appropriate remedy is done. A tru devotee will follow the dictums silently. You had said another astrologer had said the same before. So if two different astrologers said the same about your wrong doing by visiting Sabarimala and if you truly believe , then shut you mouth about discrimination and silently prey for forgiveness.
Rediff is becoming a congressi/commie in nature. You can see the comments and guess whether they were favoured to be posted and pro-hindu ones are deleted.