Media is doing a god job of reaching to Locations and publishing the worst situationsa and sufferings of the people,taking public opinions on how the disaster controls measures are helpless when tried to reach them ,This was announced by our CM and Uddhav Thakare to press on mega scale spending a crores of rupees
For the last several months we have seen MMRDA widening roads and reducing areas for smooth flow of water,this has been happening all around in the places where they have widened roads.They have not taken a pragmatic approach to this problem.they have concentrated on the aesthetics and not thought of a solution.Its time they wake up.
Is this a joke. I had to walk from work through filthy water because of the inefficiency of our cities municipal service. They claim they have spent money to improve and help the problems of our city, but I have been feeling that they have just eaten up the money. with the new RTI drive I feel citizens of mumbai should work hard to make them accountable for the money they spent in our name. We pay taxes and they are pocketing the money where is the trasparency! WE are to blame as we take the chalta hai attitude. At the time of elections they tempt us with all kinds of promises they appear on TV and all. I think we should report them to the income tax officials and make them account for our money.
Why only now-a-days Mumbai has started flooding and why not did it flood during the times of British rule? the answer is simple, its because the builders and ministers nexus have reclaimed the creeks in most atrocious way and to add to the woes there is the cancerous growth of slums( or vested vote banks? ).
When Mumbai was formed out of 7 islands the British govt.that time had left lots of creeks unreclaimed so as to let the rain water drain from the main land.
Now what is Bandra-Kurla complex,Garodia Nagar,Back-Bay reclaimation just to name a few - one time creeks I guess,so all this is man-made problem.
So now the only solution for this problem is to stop indiscreet constuction activites and get rid of slums that are occupying the creek regions.( e.g. one on the side of the Mankhurd link road )
Inspite of last year's assurance by the Govt. that the floods will not be repeated in Mumbai once again the assurance is a false one as one can see, and face once again to go through the floods - a real hassle and an unfortunate situation for the poor people of Mumbai who, no doubt, work so hard to earn their daily BREAD - the conscientious ones I mean. Seeing the suffering on TV is one thing, but to experience it in real life is another. We hope and pray this will never be repeated. There is definitely no substitute for hard work and honest living and the guilty should be brought to light and suffer the consequences when all blockages be removed so that the future generation enjoy a life they so rightly need having worked so hard for it sacrificing their time and energy.
Sir, Since construction debris are a major source of clogging drains, why not ban all new construction activities, except work on road, railways, schools, colleges and hospitals for next 5 years. No new residental/commercial construction till the govt gets drainage system in place.