Total 53 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
My View
by ananth on Jan 06, 2006 09:35 AM  Permalink 

I dont think its a business to have a checklist and marry a groom.. Also its not fair to think that an NRI have already married or will ill treat her...

Also any NRI would like to return to india and stay with wife.. so tinking he will ditch his wife is a wrong assumption which i wont agree.

I see that all are "assumptions" which is put in this article.

What if the girl have already an affair before marriage!!! How to find out.. will she tell her NRI husband to be? Whats the proof?

I totally dont agree to publish such an article in rediff which portrays wrongly about all NRI...

I would stop visiting redif site altogether..

thanks

Reservation in Pvt sector
by gaurav on Jan 06, 2006 09:33 AM  Permalink 

What if Groom is from India And Bride From USA, who suffers in this case. As all the consideration is on the
part of Brides from India, please save the Groom also to avoid being cheated......

Availability of the booklet which you have mentioned
by Laljibhai Patel on Jan 06, 2006 09:17 AM  Permalink 

I am interested to get the copy of the booklet on NRI marriage precautations.

If you can guide me kindly let me know please.

Regards.

How to Marry an NRI
by R.Kumar on Jan 06, 2006 09:05 AM  Permalink 

Its great for the Indian government to publish this guideline. Now how about the Indian Government taking the same level of interest to protect and prosecute Indian men in India who marry and abuse India girls. How about protecting millions on Indian women who are subject to physical abuse in India by there husbands ?

I just hope the Indian government will take the same proactive action with in India to protect women rights.

Marrying an NRI
by Rahul Laxman Iyer on Jan 06, 2006 06:58 AM  Permalink 

I am the son of an NRI. I am an American of Indian background...born in Chicago IL USA. I am a professional. I married someone who is not an Indian. I married a Vietnamese. I married under Vietnam Civil Law. The Vietnam Law is pretty complicated, compared to the Indian or the US law for marriage. I had a big dossier of legal papers that had to filed in Vietnam to have my marriage registered properly. Even though this was perhaps complicated (it took one year to get all of the paperwork together), my parents and I agree that it is good, as it does serve to protect the man and the woman, as nothing can be hidden. While I am not saying that Vietnam's process is perfect, perhaps India should consider something similar for when a foreigner (NRI) marries a local Indian, as having to verify everything does deter would be con artists, opportunists, and scammers. It also serves to help protect both parties involved.

To save the reputation of the non Nefarious Residential Indians (NRIs)
by ram on Jan 06, 2006 02:59 AM  Permalink 

I dont understand if there is a ministry dedicated by the Indian Government to take care of such things then why the brides parents have to take such kind of hastles?
1. To the brides parents: If you think that your daughter is smart enough to deal with such kind of attrocities then only get them married to NRI's.
2. Before marrying them educate them how to take care of the situation.
3. A copy of the marraige registration should be present with the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs, which should be readily available to the Indian Embassy in the respective foreign country on demand e.g. if the bride puts up a complaint of any kind in the foreign land.
4. All NRI\'s who wish to get married to an Indian women settled in India, should at the time of the marraige appoint a personal lawyer for the bride, e.g. an American NRI bride should appoint an American lawyer for his would be wife, and the parents of the bride and the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs should have a copy of the documents ensuring the lawyers credibility.
5. A far more stringent regulation will be making the NRI\'s marital status available online by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs at their website

few advice
by manoj kumar on Jan 06, 2006 02:15 AM  Permalink 

I think when marriage is going to register in court..Court should ask for social security No., Tax retirns,local bills, paystubs etc and then MEA should provide credit history or other history related to guy to the court then only court should register a Marriage.

Thanks

Manoj Gangwar

Most entertaining...
by smjd on Jan 06, 2006 01:50 AM  Permalink 

I dont accept that things like these dont happen to people... but i believe that the percentage of mishappenings are far less than the one getting success...

and what about NRI girls who come off to india for getting married... no considerations.. ???

good idea
by raj on Jan 06, 2006 12:38 AM  Permalink 

good idea. also : how about : have a list of local or national help numbers handy : like domestic abuse, south asian womens' association numbers, police, emergency etc.
importantly : how they can be used. idea about toll free call, collect calls, the emergency numbers are needed even for other emergencies.
have a ready way to call back home to india. know your rights. there are shelters to go to in case of problems. always keep the jewellery with oneself.
local mandir/mosque/church number location.

Total 53 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>