Total 1011 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >   >>
You took Indian Law for 'Chalthaa hai yaar..'
by Sanjay Reddy on Dec 20, 2006 09:22 PM  Permalink 

Guys,

it is unfair on your part complaining about what happened to you. Will you forget your Green Card when you land in the US ? You think they are going to give you time to fax documents for you? Why complaint about the physical hardship you went through when you had an attitude towards the immigration officers. You took Indian law for granted. I too live in this US for 9 years. That doesnot mean Indian law is to be taken with 'Chalthaa hei' attitude. Correct yourself.

The french guy got his transit visa becos he is a guest in the land. You made yourself an alien there by opting for American passport. No problem with skin complexion. Behave as an Indian in heart and respect the coutry's laws and have love for the country. How do you expect the officers to show out of way courtesy when you and your husband didnot bother to pick your kids' visa papers.

As an Indian lets correct ourselves and show respect to the place.

You respect even an ordinary police officer in the US where as you want a Indian Immigration Officer to be over courteous to you. I am proud that Indian officers got this strict.

officials should give some consideration
by jay on Dec 20, 2006 09:21 PM  Permalink 

HI,
Mistakes are from both sides, The childrens father is being careless about his NRI status or some sort of negligence towards his travel documents,for his mistake children suffered, The officials what could have done is give them more time to get the proper documents needed, while doing their duty they have to even think of the travelers stress at that moment, Just saying you dont have a doc get out from here, does not work you are there to help travelers with a solution. Its time waste to even talk about the system which is screwed up with lots of buffoons sitting in high positions does not even have knowledge of their works they have to do., I feel sorry for the kids and family, Honestly my reaction when I went to India, they took my passport and held under the desk for 10 minutes, as if they are going to tear my paper from passport.That was not cool

Unfortunate
by Bala on Dec 20, 2006 09:21 PM  Permalink 

No one can be happy with the treatment meted out to the family. The immigration official, however cannot also be totally blamed if that is what the rule says. Would any Indian American (American Citizen)dare to take it so easy and bring an Indian born child to US without a visa?
As I look at it, the immigration rule/law should be framed in such a way that all these factors should be considered. May be the rule/law should make provision for a severe penalty of say $5000.00 to provide an interim visa at the airport, subject to being legalised within a specified time frame.
Away from the legalty aspect, this brings us to another philosophical cross road, do we provide value based education/training to government officials which will equip them to look at such extreme situations with apathy?
I would request the family to take this up with the Minister of Overseas Affairs. The Honourable minister is certainly receptive to address such problems and look at it in proper perspective.

Immigration issue with Vijay
by Dr. Prasad Panzade on Dec 20, 2006 09:20 PM  Permalink 

I know that the immigration and customs officers spend more time in watching Cricket matches than looking at the people traveling with their needs. I had some what similar experience during my last visit to India with the customs people who don't even have enough knowledge than asking for something...
If this thing will keep on going like that our kids will not like to travel to India any more and they will loose the cultural heritage which they observe during their visits to India.
I surely think that the policies needs to be reviewed.

If they are from Pakistan
by Vijaya Kumar on Dec 20, 2006 09:16 PM  Permalink 

There would not have been any problem. I think this immigration officer should be fired.

False arguments
by KV1999 on Dec 20, 2006 09:14 PM  Permalink 

Let us analyze the debate here. Yes, Dad forgot visa. He had to put up with lot of non-sense on that accord. Now, what kind of a rule is that that allows 45 mins to fax the Visas. Would the sky had fallen if they extended it by few hours? On what basis the French national was given a 2-day transit visa?

Before you support those corrupt custom officials, evaluate your own intelligence. Rules are to be made for a reason. Not for putting people to extreme discomfort and agony. They were trying to wring a bribe. No doubt. All those who are supporting the custom officials, I wish you will have the decency to fetch your Visa\'s instead of bribing them when you forget the VISA next time around and I sincerely hope you do. That way, we all will get a chance how you feel about this.

Jai Hind

Are u ashamed of Indian?????
by Gourav on Dec 20, 2006 09:13 PM  Permalink 

How dare you say tht you ashamed of Indian... You are NRI and your children are "AMERICAN" and you are ignorant enough to not to apply for VISA. Officers have taken right decision and they deported illegal tourists. All I can say if this happen in America then you will be striped and labeled as suspect terrorist, also you will follow all the procedure in America and I think you have taken India for granted.
Sorry sir it is INDIA.

Immigration
by Unknown on Dec 20, 2006 09:11 PM  Permalink 

To all readers,

Before jumping to any conclusion, first of all, we only know one side story, from the man who got humiliated. Its definitely NO SURPRISE, however, I am pretty sure that this NRI has definitely shown some dissent to the officials as he was an NRI and his children are US citizens. Immigration rules are for everybody and how can you forget the most important document needed to travel. This is the best example of NRI Indians think of themselves above the laws. I think NOONE is above the LAW and everybody should follow it.

As someone wrote about the corruption and bribe, its all because of Indian system; we have created the MONSTER so now deal with it....why cry about it? Older or younger blood....all are same, everybody wants to be rich obvernight by hook or by crook. HARD WORK and HONESTY is the last thing people think about so STOP blaming anyone because NOTHING will change in India....neither people nor system.

Total 1011 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45   Older >   >>