Total 207 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>
Right in the past has turned the wrong way for the present
by Shobha Nair on Dec 08, 2006 10:16 PM  Permalink 

Respected Sir, It was right at that time to save the people of Bangladesh from the atrocities by the west pak regime.But we have payed aheavy price and is still paying for the help we gave them.The foolishness on our part was to keep our borders open to meddle with,which ended in our northeastern headache to this day.Now as we prosper Pak has made them friend to conspire against us at the border.These are the countries who can not prosper and not let others to prosper in peace as they still remain in their mediviel period and think through narrow brain. In short we created Bangladesh which in practical is a stick to beat us in return for what help we have given them.Shobha Nair.

Yes - Right thing to help
by E Ramaswamy on Dec 08, 2006 01:20 PM  Permalink 

We did the right thing in helping them but we should not have trusted them and we should have also sealed our borders on both sides

Ramaswamy

Half Job
by pumaaa123@rediffmail.com on Dec 08, 2006 01:17 PM  Permalink 

Yes it was half job done!

Today no leaders of b'desh are good to Inida. Thankless! They want to share repeated gunfires with our BSF.

Ok, when indians liberated b'desh atleast should have cleared the existing border disputes with the yet to form nation. Still there are border areas which is claimed by both sides. How innocent the indian side is?

Today they kill n do whatever they like with chittakong region tribes and hindu banglas.

So atthis stage, we have that left job to do...

Should India have helped Bangla Desh
by Colonel Narender Singh on Dec 08, 2006 11:40 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It was a big mistake in helping Bangla Desh to take birth as a Nation. We helped the then East Pakistan to take birth as the present day Bangla Desh. No doubt, history was created, but see their behaviour now. The same very Bangladeshis are killing Indian troops. It is like son killing his own father. Even if the help was extended, the right thing would have been to negotiate Kashmir at that time as Pakistan was under tremendous psychological pressure because of its 93000 soldiers as prisoners of war held by India. At that time it would have melted under Indian pressure and the strong feelings in Pakistan about their near and dear ones held captive in India as Prisoners of War.But our politians are strange bed fellows. They do what they think is correct. Today, many lives would have been saved in Kashmir had the then PM insisted on settling the Kashmir issue first before releasing the Pakistani prisoners of war. But alas! that was not to be.
Now things have changed entirely. Nothing can be done now except cry over spilt milk.

RE:Should India have helped Bangla Desh
by kawaljeet sandhu on Jan 30, 2007 04:32 AM  Permalink
I Just felt like adding little more the words of our Army officer. Its always good to have the views of an Army officer on such issues, and in this case the officer has point blanckly said about the inadequesy of our politicians. I dont know why since the very 1st PM we have been faultering on such decisions. No one wants to fight a war for the heck of it. But when you have faced the inevitable and succeeded you should have negotiated well for the future generations.
I feel even if India had not helped Bangladesh, it would have been difficult for Pak to retain it. Imagine the distance of the two countries and also the state of affairs in current Pak. Its struggling to some of its own territories to self. But for sure the current situation is strangly poised as Bangladesh is some what hostile to us. There is strong anti Indian feeling is Bangladesh. By helping Bangladesh we have not created a friend but a opponent.

Ridiculous Question!
by Anita on Dec 08, 2006 03:06 AM  Permalink 

What a silly jingoistic question this is!In hindsight everything seems so straight and simple.At that time the Bangladeshi people were dying en masse.What sort of a people are we to say 'Oh we should have taken this piece of land,and tortured so many soildiers and installled such a pro-India regime'? Were we supposed to take advantage of Bangladesh's desperate struggle for survival for trivial selfish gains? So India helped out the Bangladeshis(though I have heard and read about Indian soldiers indulging in pillage and rape when they arrived in Dhaka),are they expected to to be greatful and subservient and have no independent foreign policy? Who knows, maybe if India had not gotten involved,the Bangladeshis would have won independence anyways,only it would have taken more time.Humanity needs to take precedence over everything else and some of the people who have posted shrill,xenophobic comments should remember that.

India shud have occupied bangladesh!
by Venkat on Dec 07, 2006 10:46 PM  Permalink 

As always our leaders of the time just did only half the job!! If they had occupied then we wudnt have been surrounded by 2 islamic hostile states. Those thankless bangladeshis have exterminated lakhs of hindus and are more inclined to pakis than us!

Bangladesi.. bhag jao..
by Jugal on Dec 07, 2006 07:12 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Our neta logs have allthings except GUTS i.e.they do not have courage .
Why Indian helped Bangladesh when we were poor country ? Still Mumbaikars pay Surcharge BEST rent.Why Bangladeshi come easily in India ...I think nly because INCOMING IS FREE like in Mobile.Many districts of Assam & WB have become Bangladeshi dominated.Hindu People & Mandirs are demolished every day.Hindu population is diminishing i.e. came to nominal %.
Why leftists & other secular parties keep mum on this national security issue ? On other hand,if any house of Muslim in Gujarat,suppose,destroyed due to earthquack,they will blame Modi,the Poladi Man !
Due to formation of Bangladesh,Pakistan thinks only of revenge,revenge & revenge.That's why 27.02.2002,13.12.2001,11.07.006 happened to us.
Why we want to become masiah of other people at the cost our own people? Bangladesh has become hub of terrorism .Why we milking this snake which is more danderous than Black Cobra.Just order our security forces to enter Bangladesh Border & kill all anti-Indian elements.
Why should we always keep singing bhajan of shanti ?
Today we need Bhagatsinghgiri not any other film based giri.We have to keep our paghari safe.

RE:Bangladesi.. bhag jao..
by AniC on Dec 30, 2006 08:23 PM  Permalink
Seems like you have too much intolerance and hatred for others and too little pride in being an Indian. what does BEST surcharge have to do with Bangladesh now? If you think it is unfair, go and fight BEST in court?
Anyway, what is done is done and we as Indians are no saints either. We did our part (nothing) in Sri Lanka and Tibet too ..... Still be proud that we as Indians are much better than most of our neighbours.
Finally, shut up and listen to the world around you - and be tolerant of others.

Hi
by sanjay on Dec 07, 2006 09:11 AM  Permalink 

I want to share some few comments..why we helped bangladesh.If we dont helped bangaldesh at that time,pakistan would have encircled india till west bengal.Its not that refugees were pouring.our leaders always follows the Gandhian principle when dealing with neighbours..sometime it does not work.If bangladesh is harbouring terrosist-we can take the Israel path.We cann't wait till it will be solved by dilaogue.Though dialogue should continue..but it should have some outcome.
Our foreign policy lacks dynamic..it should change as per scenario.We should be more procative...
We are now overpopulated ..in some areas of West Bengal,the bangaldeshi migrants have outnumbered the locals.The refugees crisis has to solve fast.we should put pressure on bangladesh to take there people.

Dear Ibrahim
by CY on Dec 07, 2006 03:57 AM  Permalink 

Are you an Indian? If you are, you should rejoice at India's victory and celebrate. You should be thankful that Rediff is the only magazine that even bothered to remember. Every nation state celebrates its' victories and we are no exception.

If you are a Paki, ofcourse you are talking about diamond rings and crap.

Have fun.

PS: I do think we should have let Pakistan bleed internally to death instead of help B.Desh become free. If they are always fighting B.Deshis they would have no time to dirupt India.

Total 207 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Older >   >>