by Kalki on Feb 28, 2007 02:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

All you guys realize this !!!

World's 3rd largest military.
3rd largest airforce.
4th largest navy.
3rd largest economy.
Largest IT service industry in exports.
6th largest in Area
2nd largest population and huge manpowder thanks to 22 million new babies born every year. To put in prospective India grows the size of 44 towns like Noida every year !

World leader in less crime.

Wake up to new reality, India is already superpower.

Don't why even this question is even asked ?

Now better to focus on other issues like traffic jams and pollution, then we can say we have a great quality of life as well.

RE:India is already a superpower
by raja ram on Mar 02, 2007 09:32 AM  Permalink
I think whatever progress india is making w.r.t army,navy,military,economy etc.... the underlying below poverty line people are still remaining the same.... This requires special care else we cant call ourselves shamefully as superpower. ok?

It is not just boasting of our existing materialistic powers, but there needs to be some loyalty in our fellow indians to our country... not just words but in action.

Really?
by Arindom Choudhury on Feb 23, 2007 12:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

There is no Buzz in the West about India. It is a pure creation of Media. We are still a poor country with a microscopic minority (the 5% english speaking Indians)making all this Hulla....

RE:Really?
by manoj bhaskaran on Mar 03, 2007 02:16 PM  Permalink
There is a buzz about India in the west.Here in UK,even the common man is aware that India is a superpower in waiting.Don't let the pessimist rule,although we need them!

by mbawmba on Apr 29, 2007 08:59 PM  Permalink
Yes. Raka Krishnana is a Bozo. I hate Raja Krishnan. May god give him 10 daughters and no son.

by Raja Krishnan on Mar 22, 2007 01:53 PM  Permalink
Arindom,
In the west hardly anyone know any place outside the thier state....so u r right, there is no buzz. its bcause they dont know. Remember George Bush before he became the president - wen asked abt india where india is, he was clueless...You are also like George Bush. Media writes only tht is Saleable...India has its own strength n weakness...who care if only 5% of india can speak..how many percentage of western populaiton can any one indian populaiton....i can say with certainty it will be in hundreds...

thanx manoj bhaskaran....it is pessimists like arindom who cannot see india growing without thier help...because he himself must a great failure.

SUPERPOWER
by sanjay sharma on Feb 19, 2007 02:10 PM  Permalink 

CONSIDERING THE SIZE OF INDIA IT IS DIFFICULT FOR INDIA TO BE A SUPERPOWER

GREAT COUNTRIES
by sanjay sharma on Feb 13, 2007 01:11 PM  Permalink 

COUNTRIES MAY NEED ONLY ONE EINSTEIN OR ONE NOBEL OR ONE LINCOLN OR LENIN OR MAO TO BECOME GREAT.ONE ALEXANDER THE GREAT MADE IT'S COUNTRY GREAT.ONE PORUS MADE INDIA GREAT.

Generous thinking is all we need!
by raja ram on Feb 09, 2007 10:55 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

tell me people, how generous are we to our own fellow country men? We never let go a chance of criticising our country, our infrastructure and many more things.

Why would IT guys ( the "so called" software engineers) love to travel abroad with a H1B or H4 or whatever shit it is? Why would they not hesitate to work in libraries, hotels, departmental outlets etc in foreign countries when they see it as a "low class" living here?

why would people go abroad and tolerate all the bloody racial abuses with just a smile on their faces, when they cant tolerate their fellow mates in our country?

It is we all, my dear friends, that will shape up our whole country. It is not in any politician's hands becoz we make the politicians behave as one. We make the officials behave as officials. We provoke them for bribery, corruption, crime.

Why would many girls/women in our country like to follow the dressing fashion of the west, when we have our own cultural clothes here? It is we who dont have basic realisation of our country's values and people.

Why cant many scientists like to perform their research here in our country? Im not denying the fact that there are many scientists love to be here and do their work here. But the fraction is less on this side.

It is not just complaining we require. We need to both complain about and eradicate the mentalities in people like mentioned above.

BE GENEROUS TO YOUR COUNTRY MEN. DONT SERVE THE OTHER COUNTRY PEOPLE WHEN YOU CANT TREAT UR PEOPLE WITH GRACE....

RE:Generous thinking is all we need!
by mbawmba on Apr 29, 2007 09:00 PM  Permalink
Yes. I see some IT guys working as Gigoloos in foreign countries. I don't know what is a Gigoloo.Do you?

WILL WE BECOME A SUPERPOWER IN 2010 - Sunil
by on Jan 27, 2007 07:17 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

By "SUPERPOWER", if you mean "A country which can stand powerful against any country in the world, possessing most advanced military technology (what kinds of arms and equipments do our army men and police has compared to terrorists and criminals in our own country?), or a country having developed it's economy to an extent that %u201Cat least%u201D no citizen dies of hunger (40% of our countrymen have no clue over how to earn food for next day), I think you don't need an answer. INDIA is not in a position to say that %u201CWe will become a superpower-my loved friends! A result of leaving the rope of leadership in wrong hands since last 90 years (even before freedom), we are facing a crucial, nervous moment of "failure" and "shame" in front of the developed world. SHOULD HAVE THIS GREAT NATION BEEN LEAD BY TRUE SONS OF THE SOIL LIKE BHAGAT SINGH, CHANDRASHEKHAR AZAD, SUBHAS JI BOSE, SAVARKAR, SARDAR PATEL, THERE WAS NO NEED FOR THE JUSTIFICATION OF OUR SUPREMACY. Not a single developed nation in world achieved superpower without a visionary leadership and was ever lead by %u201CCorrupt%u201D, %u201CCriminal%u201D, %u201Copportunist%u201D politicians like ours. Name of our country is "BHARATVARSH", we are "BHARTIYA". Have you ever tried to find out why we were named as %u201CIndians%u201D? A cruel, wild, man-eating, poor tribe in America, Spain, Australia and other countries is named after %u201CIndians%u201D. Are we really Britisher%u2019s %u201CIndians%u201D? 550 parliamentarians, thousands of MLAs, millions of corrupt public servants are the %u201CRulers%u201D and %u201CSuperpowers%u201D of our country. Next time you see a Rikshawala, a beggar, a poor man hunting for a living hood; ask this question to the %u201CRulers%u201D %u2013 Shall we hold our head high in front of rich foreigners and say %u201CWe are Superpower%u201D. We need to unite, shredding all our differences against the ill political powers in our own country, not letting these rulers rule us through their everlasting %u201Cdivide and rule%u201D policy, first. %u201CWe The People...%u201D are, SUPERPOWER.

RE:WILL WE BECOME A SUPERPOWER IN 2010 - Sunil
by nadia sani on Feb 06, 2007 04:56 AM  Permalink
Here here! Only I do not agree that "Indians" being cruel, poor or cannibals.Indians is used to represent indigenous people as opposed to the settlers and colonizing populations. Those people had their own cultures, were civilized and none were cannibals, food being readily available.The aborigines are Dravidians who fled the country when the Aryans and other invaders entered Bharath pressing them further south and finally out of their country.
Bharath is now a nation of "poor" growing poorer by the day.We may have a million mobile phones and IT companies, but the truth is we are still slaves to the white. Our culture has become stagnant and is dying. Noone speaks their mother tongue or learns it at school. We have forgotten our dress, our rituals and festivals, not to talk of food.
We gladly sell our country for a few words of insincere praise from a white man.They are free to settle anywhere in India but we cannot even visit their country. No one complains.
As for our government if there is no accountability among public servants, there will never be a "superpower".We are clueless as far as having an original opinion is concerned on any matters in the world. India never takes a stand.Can't.Because the people who run the country have always danced this way and that to make money. Honesty and sincerity and real thinking do not figure among the rulers, politicians or even the educated. We are the only country with 2 million graduates a year who have NEVER done one piece of original work. They have simply swallowed teachers' words and vomited the same. Otherwise can we have a country with more than half the population without basic services like water, toilets and food? The sun burns our fields but no one thinks of solar energy to power irrigation sistems for fields, doemstic energy or wind power. Crores of rupees went into some stupid gobar gas project that was simply an eyewash to swallow money.
Rural development projects are thrown out of the window because the rural populations if ignorant will continue to vote the ruling politicians.
The poor will try to take advantage of you exactly like the man next to you in any office. How can we even dream of being a superpower when 1% dreams of designer clothes and the other 99% dreams of survival?
Educatin is to teach people that they must stand for what they believe in whether it is popular or not, forget caste, think of dignity and give human life its true value.Courage and conviction are lacking. Will the coming generations learn this?

RE:RE:WILL WE BECOME A SUPERPOWER IN 2010 - Sunil
by manoj bhaskaran on Mar 03, 2007 02:24 PM  Permalink
Please don't bring up the aryan/Dravida theory again,there is no evidence to support that,genetic or anthropological.

ARE WE GOING TO BECOME SUPERPOWER
by on Jan 27, 2007 07:12 PM  Permalink 

By "SUPERPOWER", if you mean "A country which can stand powerful against any country in the world, possessing most advanced military technology (what kinds of arms and equipments do our army men and police has, compared to terrorists and criminals in our own country?), or a country having developed it's economy to an extent that %u201Cat least%u201D no citizen dies of hunger (40% of our countrymen have no clue over how to earn food for the next day), I think you don't need an answer. INDIA is not in a position to say that %u201CWe will become a superpower"-my loved friends! A result of leaving the rope of leadership in wrong hands since last 90 years (even before freedom), we are facing a crucial, nervous moment of "failure" and "shame" in front of the developed world. SHOULD HAVE THIS GREAT NATION BEEN LEAD BY TRUE SONS OF THE SOIL LIKE BHAGAT SINGH, CHANDRASHEKHAR AZAD, SUBHAS JI BOSE, SAVARKAR, SARDAR PATEL, THERE WAS NO NEED FOR THE JUSTIFICATION OF OUR SUPREMACY. Not a single developed nation in world achieved superpower without a visionary leadership and was ever lead by %u201CCorrupt%u201D, %u201CCriminal%u201D, %u201Copportunist%u201D politicians like ours. Name of our country is "BHARATVARSH", we are "BHARTIYA". Have you ever tried to find out why we were named as %u201CIndians%u201D? A cruel, wild, man-eating, poor tribe in America, Spain, Australia and other countries is named after %u201CIndians%u201D. Are we really Britisher%u2019s %u201CIndians%u201D? 550 parliamentarians, thousands of MLAs, millions of corrupt public servants are the %u201CRulers%u201D and %u201CSuperpowers%u201D of our country. Next time you see a Rikshawala, a beggar, a poor man hunting for a living hood; ask this question to the %u201CRulers%u201D %u2013 Shall we hold our head high in front of rich foreigners and say %u201CWe are Superpower%u201D. We need to unite, shredding all our differences against the ill political powers in our own country, not letting these rulers rule us through their everlasting %u201Cdivide and rule%u201D policy, first. %u201CWe The People...%u201D are, SUPERPOWER.

Yes. v R growing
by bala murugan on Jan 27, 2007 04:46 AM  Permalink 

I didn't see the transformation of India from 50 up to 80, but from 90 at least i can see the foundation getting built in terms Tele.connectivity,IT ,BPO,bio,Infrastrcture,auto,pharm industries, even Agri -Retail,global products on Indian road,bazers..SENSEX index all u and V see is sign of growth of our mother country becoming a POWER .Looking ASIA e sure we are a example for them. When China bothers itself to fight Indian upcoming economy what does it mean?? ..we ALL r Doing IT to become a power. Lets take all of these as positive sign and put our self in deficit areas like rural deveoplement, governance, religion /caste barrier, internal ...etc I am sure my generation will witness our mother land as POWER..
--MicroBala

Total 225 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>