Medha Patkar has shown that Gandhiji's Non-violent method of protesting has been forgotten by the political leaders of today. How can they not review their decision? Is it not shameful that no major TV channel has come to her rescue by launching a protest like they have done in the recent murder cases? Hope Medha is fine and wins her cause.
Medha Patekar is right in her decision, the government should provide complete rehabilation to the affected family and then only it should undertake the projects in Narmada river. The country's basic infrastructure such as water and power should improve inorder to grow our economy
RE:Medha Patekar.
by Zaid Kazi on Apr 24, 2006 12:36 AM Permalink
Dear Mr. Sengupta,
I really appreciate your concern for your relatives who live in the areas where there's scarce water supply. How selfless and thoughtful of you when the people in question are your very own relatives. But i doubt you would've had the same opinion had your relatives been one of the millions of people who would be left homeless and be deprived of their very means of livelihood.
I and the whole of India would've truly appreciated your concern had you put forth an alternative which would'v solved the water and energy problems by building the dams as well as the problem of the millions affected. You cant just ignore the lives of millions for a million others who could be your relatives. Would you be ready to leave your home and job and everything you have without being given any compensation or without any rehabilitation, so that you can quench the thirst of a few others?
The social activists never were and are still not against the building of the dams and the problem of the millions of ppl of Gujarat, Rajasthan Maharashtra etc etc being solved. All that they ask for is rehabilitate the ppl who will be affected and this can never be proved wrong. ACCEPT IT!
by Paras on Jun 05, 2006 12:51 AM Permalink
Well proove that millions of people are rehabilitated , proove it on tv . gather them at 1 place. Then only we beleive it.
Poor ke naam NBA same thing kar rahi hai jo Arjun Singh kar raha hai.
by Zaid Kazi on Apr 17, 2006 12:35 AM Permalink
Dear Mr. Sengupta,
I really appreciate your concern for your relatives who live in the areas where there's scarce water supply. How selfless and thoughtful of you when the people in question are your very own relatives. But i doubt you would've had the same opinion had your relatives been one of the millions of people who would be left homeless and be deprived of their very means of livelihood.
I and the whole of India would've truly appreciated your concern had you put forth an alternative which would'v solved the water and energy problems by building the dams as well as the problem of the millions affected. You cant just ignore the lives of millions for a million others who could be your relatives. Would you be ready to leave your home and job and everything you have without being given any compensation or without any rehabilitation, so that you can quench the thirst of a few others?
The social activists never were and are still not against the building of the dams and the problem of the millions of ppl of Gujarat, Rajasthan Maharashtra etc etc being solved. All that they ask for is rehabilitate the ppl who will be affected and this can never be proved wrong. ACCEPT IT!
I have read the Algebra of infinite justise by Ms. Roy and shocked by the crime perpetuated by Goverment of India towards Adivasi people. I think narmada river is not only a means of survival to them but it is related to their identity which has to preserved at every cost.Why should they immolate themselves at the alter of "progress" which is flawed and not at all related to them.
RE:NBA
by Amit Sengupta on Apr 15, 2006 11:36 AM Permalink
Hi Ravi and all you like minded people.
I have family relation in the souther part of rajasthan and have extensively visited Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh, the acute shortage of water and electricity in those areas can only be removed by a dam or like sardar sarovar or power projects like indirasagar and omkareshwar (built on narmada upstream in MP).
Any other alternative like water harvesting can not prove to be sufficient in arid area like these to fulfill such a large scale demand of water.
These very activist would also take to roads if they dont get electricity or water. The most non-poluting way or producing water in hydro. but we have all the senseless agitation going on against the dam.
having said that yes compensation is an issue, andmust be addressed to ensure that these so called activist dont get a chance to pounce upon the issue to garner publicity.
RE:NBA
by prem on Apr 17, 2006 11:32 AM Permalink
Mr. Amit Sengupta,
I don't know how to react to your ignorance or rather arrogance to overlook the lives of poor tribals.
How dare you call this is mindless protests? I agree water is very important for drought-prone area but not by sacrificing lakhs of lives. Least they are asking for is rehab for all and everyone can wait untill rehab is done. If the rehab is not done now, it will never be done.
Your argument of killing some to give live for other is perfectly mindless.
Medha Patkar is absolutely right in this agitation.Her main focus has been the resettlement of tribals and people displaced by the dam projects.There have been few mega dams worldwide in the last 50 years, the exceptions being Russia and Brazil, the latter also elicited signiicant controversy.The long term benefits of mega dams have also been questioned on technical grounds.Patkar & her associates have offered alternative solutions using more smaller dams and irrigation facilities.Our governments, state and central, love big projects simply because of the money that is to be made.An impoverished tribal cannot compare with a Swiss Bank acct.
Medha patkar is absulately 100% RIGHT. Time for maharashtra govt take decision as early as possible. Request to our politicians please consider for poor people not only your profit.
The article compleltely ignores the lives which will be benefitted from project. Also there is lack of knowledge on part of auther to say project is going to be beneficial only for Guj, Mah and MP. The draught affted areas of Rajasthan also will benefit from Narmada dam project. Medha Patkar\'s objection should be towards specific state government which is not doing its job properly- MP government in this case.
It isnt right on part of NBA to deprive crores of people in draght afftected Rajasthan and Kutchh drinking and irrigation water for the casue of few thousnad afftected families.
RE:Right Cause Wrong Means
by Vikas Patel on Apr 17, 2006 09:22 AM Permalink
China has done many other things ..like killing all the intellectuals who can raise voice, Do u think if other country is not following moral approach for development, we also follow the same ?
How China can built biggest dam in the world ?. Why there is to fuss about that issue in China. Any work of that scale some people will definetly get affected. Stoping mega project is not the solution
RE:Social Values
by Saiprasad on Apr 17, 2006 03:05 PM Permalink
Mr. Patil,
You are mistaken. Most these roads, airports, railway lines, refineries, power plants and other insutries are also built on some one's agricultrural lands displacing them. You think when they built Pune-Mumbai expressway nobody lost their land. You want get benifited from all these. But when you are not getting benifit you say it should not be done. There is no argument in the point that proper rehabilitation should be done to all displaced. But if we would have stopped construction projects because some are (including me)getting afected for the benifit of large mass of people, then there would not have been any development. Then you will say there is no development.
Hi I m coming from Gujarat and I have been going through NBA and Sardar Sarovar since my school days. There are several drought hear areas in Gujarat like Kachchh, Saurashtra which need water barely and people have suffered a lot due to water scarcity. Sardar sarover is the only hope for these people and not only Gujarat the Maharashtra and MP states will be alo getting water and will help to resolve the several problems. Shall I ask Medha Patkar has ever visited such areas before raising slogans against Sardar Sarovar. If she has visited then why she is being blind to these issues. The poor tribal resettlement is the only issues with this project and it can be resolve by higher committee of all three states. Thanks.
RE:No justice to Sardar Sarover
by R. N. Patil on Apr 15, 2006 03:29 PM Permalink
My dear friend are you ready to give up some part of your land, your home, for these tribal people? who are going to lose all their daily livelyhood. This is like to give water to a thirsty by making other people thirsty. You just cant think to leave your home or city for other people temporarily, then how you can expect that for Kucch Bhuj people (these peoples are also my brothers and sister like narmada valley people)narmad vally people will give their home and land without proper compensation. First make rehabilitation of these people and think about dam.
by Nesar on Apr 17, 2006 09:15 AM Permalink
Unfortunatly, its just a myth that sardar srovar will solve the drought problem and water crisis of gujrat. please go through the facts given by the NBA and their supporters. when will the SSP's water reach the thursy areas of kutch? what will be the mecahnism? where are those canals which are supposed to take the water there. friend, this dam is helping only the constructyion companies (mafia) and the corrupt government officials.
and it has been said time and again that there are better, cleaner, greaner and humane alternatives available and big dams are not the best solution available. just vist the world commission on dam's website (which representatives had be denied entry into the state of gujrat) and will come to know about the futility of the big dams and the alternatives available. it just that the politician in gujrat (of both bjp and congress) have made it an ego issue for the people of gujrat over the years. something like the ram temple issue. everyone knows that its a non issue and not going to benifit anybody still veryone sides with vote hungry politicians...
by Manoj Tiwari on Apr 17, 2006 07:46 AM Permalink
There is nodoubt that technology is a bliss for people...but what is the sense of such developments which makes lacks of people HOMELESS...?So there must be first rehebilation of the affected people then only DAMS should be made...nomatter it is Sardar Sarover or Tihri Dam...
Srimati Medha Patekar is doing a good job for the betterment of Humanity. I urge our government to interfere in this issue from an apolitical and betterment of society at large point of view.