Hi, I came to know Medhaji's protest and hunger strike by reading newspapers but today i realised the exact reason for protest.We should not allow the raising of Dam which will displace poor and helpless farmers without their land and livelihood. How can be people of this country ignore all this exploitation and corruption. Building big dams will never solve the problem of electricity,drinking and irrigation water.This means by snatching poor man's livelihood,you want to live comfortable life. This happens everytime but very few times it becomes international issue. As all the citizen of india know that how our democracy works,our leaders always want to say that we are the largest democracy in the world. but I will say we are the largest victim of democracy in the world where rich people are becoming more and more rich. Its really frustating but no one has time to see whats happening around him. If this time we do not notice it, we will be again ruled by rich peoples dirty politics. You are absolutely right medhaji this is not any regional issue.Now this is national issue and we are with you. God may help you to improve your health. Shivlal Sydney-Australia
Everybody has raised several points, mostly pro-medha and some anti-medha. before raising any anti-medha comments people should realise that what she is campaigning for is what has actually been said by the supreme court already. It is a pity that she has to go on a hunger strike to get the job done after the law of the land has said that people "must" be rehabilitated properly. Anyone talking of people lacking water in gujarat must also spare a thought that the people will lose their lives elsewhere if the dam's height is raised. The problem lies in the enforcement of supreme court's statement and the authorities responsible must be brought up and held accountable to their inability to address the court order. It is surprising that political leaders, like Modi, can even go on a counter-strike. For what ? For flouting supreme court orders ? What cheek I must say. People, open your eyes to the leaders of this developing country. It's a really a blot on our democracy if we, who pride ourselves as the largest democracy are willing to see people's lives snatched out of their hands, and these people are some of the most oppressed, poor,and weak sections of our society.
I am reading tons of thought about story, belief and life of Visthapit people near Sardar Sarovar Dam since years or i would say decads and story still goes on. Nobody has ever think about the draught affected people of gujarat. I think years goes on the billions of ruppies are wasted becasue of hurdles created by Narmada Bachao Andolan. Instead on tabletop discussion Medha has choosed to take Andolan marg. The result i see is the core point of andolan is changed to Medha and vishatapit people are almost forgotten. Both the issues, people of gujarat and visthapit people, are not resolved yet. I recall all gujarati to awake and ready to fight Armagadon against all possible hurdles by Medha, dedha or others. I salute to Swamisadchidandad of gujarat india, who took lead to unite all political leader of gujarat. Now its our time to show our unity.
The activist are proposing Rehabiliation of the people, environment and loss of culture as a measure threat. That effect to around 50,000 to 100,000 people in total in Gujarat, MP and Maharastra. The politicians are just have no brain. They just want to make their khichdi.
the reason for what NBA is demanding Narmada Dam construction are valid and just. But everybody has to see that if the dam is constructed to its full height @ 10 crore people of Gujarat, MP, Rajasthan and Maharastra will have its direct impact.
If any fool man compare the pros and cons of it. He will definitely say go ahead and finish the dam. Why prople are giving to much weitghtage to 8 NBA activist and not to @10 crore people.
I am Gujarati farmer and whenever the NBA make any demonstration against SS, i heartly thought of drawning all those activist in the dam. This is the feeling of thousands of people in Gujarat, MP and MS.
I hope God gives some sence to medha, and take some other route to publicity and leave our SS dam.
The decision making authorities of the great largest democracy in the world are tight-lipped when it comes to addressing the issues put forth by NBA. The lackadaisical approach of the government in this matter would clearly expose its inability and very poor administration powers. The need of the hour is to stop hunger strike of the NBA leader by all means. Why it is not taken very seriously is very trivial and people concerned should know it would lead to unprecedented effects amidst the ranks.
RE:FAST OF MEDHA JI
by Zaid K on Apr 16, 2006 02:01 PM Permalink
Dear Mr. Kamal,
It is easy to talk about development by sitting in the comfort of your home. You dont realise at what cost this development comes which promises to give you a developed state, because you will still have your shelter and livelihood. There may be a lot of problems with 'Social Activists' according to u. But the problem with people like you who do not appreciate the efforts put in by them and just speak ill abt them is that, they are mere selfish people and have no clue what actually means by a 'Developed Country'. Depriving millions of ppl of their livelihood and leaving them homeless without a reason to live is not what you call a step towards development. And i strongly suggest u try to get into the details of what these 'Emotionally Blackmailing Sociall activists' are trying to do. Only then will you realise that what they want is actual development and not what you understand from the word 'Development'.