For environmental governance to work public redress must be encouraged and respected. The opinions of NBA movement and its memebers are to provide guidelines for the decision makers to adjust what may be a faulty decision.
But as always public redressers are looked as ignorant, idealistic and ideologues as they do question the apparent wisdom of the leaders of the society.
I am glad that while I am here in Nicaragua and not physically there someone keeps the fire of redress alight and for the right cause
this project wil give maharashtra,gujrat,MP & rajasthan much needed water suppy& electricity! India is primarily a agricultural country but still after 59years of independence we stil depend on rainfall! & large nuber of sucides occur bcoz of this. taking into consideration benifit of max population of gujrat working of dam should b finished immediately. & its not possible to rehabilate all the people so goverment should provide them with monetry compensation. & taking into conseideration that every delay is costing them crores of rupees so even if compensation is a bit high govt should provide it & finish this issue,bcoz every delay will b much more costlier for govt
After following the Narmada dam struggle by the oustees and reading the report of group of ministers about the ground realities in Madhya Pradesh one cannot help wondering "what is the difference between the Narmada valley oustees and the Red Indians?" It appears that there is only one difference: the Red Indians were exterminated by aliens and the Narmada oustees are being hounded out of their homeland by their own democratic governments.
Hi,, This is in response to the NBA guide. I have been to many tribal places throughout the western ghat section. And I know what these so called social activists do. They never want to help the needy people. Infact their wealth grows like anything by the grants and other funds which are meant for these affected people. I would like to pose a question to those who say Medha patkar is doing a good job. Will you ever imagine a life without an inch of water for yourself. You will never tired off blamin government for not providing enough water and infrastructure. Just think of it.... What government has to do to provide you a liter of water. Have ever gone to the tribal region. Their life is so horondouz... We need to educate them and get them to a developed world. Gain the knowledge from them about the environment and use them to build a better eco-friendly systems. By letting them in forest to begg their food will not help them. They never say like we are well here in forest.. They say we face so many difficulties in forest. So do look around the world and conciously think about these matters... The media wants its publicity..So they create personalities out of nothing...
The points relating to history and geography is understandable.But,living conditions of people rehabilitated in a development project, generally, improves substantially.Then greed takes over and non genuine claims take the shelter of such selfless people like medha patkar.It becomes an unending story, with dharna and rasta roko happening everyday and people do gain by such agitations.In the type of democracy that we have this trend becomes a bottleneck for development.Can any body launch such agitation in CHINA?
Is it so hard to understand that there will be no water for saurashtra and kuch (the most water starved areas) even after the project is completed??? Why do we still fall prey to the assurances of politicans even after so many years? Just take a look at the flow of water..All the water will be utilized by the industrial belt (read golf courses, tanning industries and resorts) before it can reach kuch..wake up folks... try to see beyond simple assurances by dirty politicans.
Any way people elected Govt.s are not working for the people
They are working for development I mean development of Capitalists We have to change the mindset of our Govts
See every where in the world this is happening remember the same happened in USA recently when black people was hit by Natural calamity Govt was not ready to help them But they were solving 'Global Issues'
Sad ... very very sad
Its Happy we have at least one Woman to fight.
May God Bless Medha Patkar I wish You all my prayer Medha Patkar
Come people of India To correct the people elected Govts. Come and join together In this greate struggle.
It is said that religion is for people. But none of them see these people. They need temples and Masjids They dont want the helpless people. See who these clerics/sanyasis are
Where are our Sanadhana values See who is make life an art and to whome. All have business for BIG heads only
Correct ourself first and come forward to fight this devil
Let all the humanity win Loga Samastha Sughino Bhavanthu
........ One among Indians sorry, one among the human beings Noushad Rahim
Time and again the same nonsense prevails. To all NBA members and especially Medha Patkar...
Consider this (or rather compare this)
1. Perfectly renewable source of energry versus smoke spewing thermal powerplants
2. Frequent episodes of drought & failed crops with hardship to millions of farmers versus water for most parts of a year
3. The lives of millions of farmers facing water shortage against thousands of displaced people (who can be rehabilitated)
4. Soil conservation & fishing oportunities by a dam versus soil erosion
5. Fresh water supply versus desalination plants to provide drinking water
There are many more arguements for the project than against. Maybe during these past few years you people should have stayed and experienced a dry Gujarat & talk to the farmers who have faced failing crops, poverty and hardship due to water shortage.
Please do something useful if you are genuinely 'environmentalists'. Go plant a tree instead (I have nearly a hundred to my credit and I am not an environmentalist) or set up a bio-gas plant in a village.
If you still dont see light, I cant say anything else other than asking you to get your head scanned
Medha Patkar is one who wants to gain popularity by raising her voice against heightening of Narmada dam. Naxalites & communists are her supporters, because they dont have any base in Gujarat Rajastan & Madhya Pradesh. Many readers dont know that what kind of life Medha Patkar, Arundati etc are living. They live in posh colonies, lead a high-profile life and want to deny the fruits of development to the common man. They get foreign & local funds without any tax & leaving a false impression that they are striving for poor. The completion of the project only in Gujarat will benefit more than 8000 villages and 193 towns with uninterrupted drinking water supply and 18 lakh hectares of land will be brought under irrigation. The project if allowed to go on schedule will be complete within a year. In Rajasthan another 124 villages in Jalore and Barmer districts will get drinking water & irrigate 2.5 lakh hectars of farmland. Rehabilitation issue has to be addressed by the govt. & govt is saying that they are ready to do.This leftist woman dont care about 4lakh kashmiri pandits lost everything & living on delhi roads like orphans. Shame of educated supporters of Medha. Dr. Ramakrishna,UK.