Total 159 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11
Medha shd cons and spend her time in developing Poor $ Street Childrens Condition in Mertos
by Sanjay mohanty on Apr 06, 2006 05:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

EveryBody loves popularity by easy means and I think Medha is one of them.She doing what she has no answer.Plz Medha stop all these and help govt how the peopels will be rehabilated properly.What Medha have done till,only Sitting and nt eating.Is it a way to fight for peoples for their rights.She shd give up all and be involved in spending her valuable time in others respected work like improving the situation of Street children in Cities like kolkata,Mumbai,Chennai

RE:Medha shd cons and spend her time in developing Poor $ Street Childrens Condition in Mertos
by Reza on Apr 19, 2006 03:16 PM  Permalink
Mr. Sanjay,

Just Sitting and not eating??? FYI: This is called fasting and this method is one of the non-violent modes of protesting. This has been followed for generations together including leaders like Gandhiji. Were they wrong in doing so?

If Medha wanted to be famous.. with her education and background she definitely has a lot of other options. Please understand the cause for which she is fighting, a very noble cause.. when all of us are living in the comforts of the city she has created a bond with the villagers there and we need to respect it.

Hats Off to Medhaji for her work .. and I hope she will be succesful with the NBA .. I would also request her to look into / suggest alternate ideas to benefit poor villagers in Gujarat etc.. who are looking forward to receiving Narmada water...

Good Luck Medhaji

Regards,
Rez

RE: Find a better think to protest for
by bob on Apr 26, 2006 10:24 PM  Permalink
Medha Ji or whoever it is. She is wrong if she is fighting against the increase it height of the dam. It she is so much attached to the tribals and others who are affected , ask for a place where they can be moved and LIVE together. It is Sad that people have to leave the place where they have lived for 100's of yrs. Our Govt has to meet the GROWING DEMANDS OF THE COUNTRY and shouldn't worry about who is attached to whom. Our HIGHEST Court has approved the increase in the height of the dam. Who is Medha to protest for something she even can't justify it. If they are living close to the river and are depending on that, they have to move to a slightly higher place and be close to the river when the height is increased. It is simple as that sounds. If the Govt is not doing the needed to help the displaced, then PROTEST. Not by not eating. I Just eat 1-2 times a day. I'm getting used to eat. Similarly it looks like Medha is getting used to eating in once is 6-7 days. She knows for sure, that the govt will force her to eat or take her to the hospital. Why screw your own life? Gandhiji followed in then because he had MILLIONs behind him.

RE:Medha shd cons and spend her time in developing Poor $ Street Childrens Condition in Mertos
by Sunflower on Apr 17, 2006 02:51 PM  Permalink
Hi Sanjay,ever tried de kind of fast that Medha's undertaking.No,I guess.Thats why u find it sweet 2 say that she's doing it 4(cheap) popularity.She has been raising this issue for so many yrs now & doesnt need to do it for publicity any more.And do you think that de Govt needs Medha to tell it how 2 rehabilitate ppl.Me thinks thats the Govt's OWN job to do.
I challenge you to just SIT & NOT EAT for one good cause,unlike that showman Modi who sits surrounded by the media & 100s of hanger-ons and actually announces when he is gonna end his fast.He is comes off much worse than Medha.She had to be forcibly be taken to the hospital, in case you didn't know it.

by cheears on Apr 29, 2006 06:31 PM  Permalink
Do you think this multi million dollors project is handle by Non Technocrat people?

Dude, have you visit there anytime or just jumping like other monkeys?

by bharath on Apr 17, 2006 04:26 PM  Permalink
Who has asked you if you are from IIT or MIT? I hope you IITians come out of the cocoon of self-important world. The fact that you oppose the dam and praise medha patkar makes it clear how good a \"technocrat\" you are....

comment
by ravindra s bhide on Apr 06, 2006 05:34 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I read the quick guide enlighting the Narmada Bachao Andolan aspect. And in my respect, Medha Patkar is 100% right!
I am a Technocrat from IIT Bombay..and technology never says to develope at the cost of living beings !

RE:comment
by Manan Mehta on Apr 17, 2006 12:49 AM  Permalink
Dear sir,

Good to read that you are a intellectual person graduate from IIT Powai. I think you should come to gujarat before making comments on any on going Narmada Issue. The 60 million gujarati people are facing draught since several years. Have you ever thought about that people who don't have drinking water which is the most basic stuff to live. I think you will not able develope that vision while drinking mineral water bottle in your office. Ask any farmers in gujarat who has ruined there crop, life and family by shortage of water. I am sure you will have more sympathy to them then Megha who is working to be in limelight by foreign money.

Manan

RE:Medha Patkar and Sardar Sarovar Project
by Sangeetha on Aug 22, 2006 08:48 PM  Permalink
Dear people who are reading this,
You may think that i am in no position to talk about this issue as i am only 14 years old but i seem to have a better understanding of this issue thanks to anand patwardhan (movie maker) and medha herself,
and ofcourse my teachers.

the Sardar Sarovar Project will not reach the poor drought striken people at all. The water is really targetted at the capitalists who have already built factories where the narmada water will come. All the adivasi's will be displaced from there native place. the land the government has offered is not fertile enough to grow anything. since the only occupation they know is fishing and farming they won't survive in the place gov. has given them.Adivasi's have never bought things from outside they were self sufficient unlike us. the dam also causes natural diasters like earth quake which won't be that natural anymore. Ms.patkar is not saying that the dam shouldn't be build. she and the rest of the NBA are saying provide proper resettlement sites for the displaced people before increasing the height of the dam.

I am willing to give my life only if all the people realize why would so many people lie.

Sangeetha

RE: Shut up
by bob on Apr 26, 2006 10:12 PM  Permalink
You are a screwed up Technocrat. Doesn't matter where you studied and who taught you. Don't know why you had mentioned it. Do you think that everyone will buy it since you had come from IIT , Bombay. There is also a saying like " No Pain, No Gain". Raising a Dam's height doesn't have to do anything with Technology. It is to meet the needs of millions who need water. So YOU SHUT UP.

Struggle of NBA and insensible Leaders
by OP Trigunait on Apr 06, 2006 05:30 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am expressing my concerns about ill-health of Medha Patkar and her efforts. We are just watching the whole episode as an alien spectator and our so called democratic government and its corrupt machinery is doing what they want in the name of "Development".
I don't know whether they have resettled even 30 % of displaced people in 50 years of independent India?

These projects are only source of corruption for our leaders and theier relatives.

If any one has doubts he can go thorugh the conditions of projects and displaced people of "Indira Canal Project", "Danodar Vallay project", "Kosi Dam Projects" and hundreds of others with "Tihri Dam Project".

Becoming alien at own place and country is the worst for a human and we are doing the same "SIN" by making them homeless.

We are facing slums, crime and other threats in Metros just because of this.

We must stop it.

Kindly send my message to activists of NBA.

Long live Medha.

OP

RE:Struggle of NBA and insensible Leaders
by manish on Apr 17, 2006 01:23 PM  Permalink
Meghaji is always, all the years has been threatening 2 die My question she doesnt My mom is always asking how many neghaji are there in india since times innumerable she is threatening
Why dont we sue her by taking the nation by ransom like terrorist?
I would ask come and stay in house in NALLASOPARA were electricity doesnt go it comes for 3-4 hrs a day
and i think she could also ask AAMIR to join after that the megha menance finished if they really understand our problem
If meghaji is indeed worried about rehabitation then she ,roy and aamir should not use electricity nor water from tap since they supplied by DAM
WE are in such state whose CM does not want electricity inspite no electricity in his state and farmer are commiting sucides due lack water and electricity

by Samir on Apr 17, 2006 01:04 PM  Permalink

Hello OP,

You want long living of Megha on behalf of 5 Crore People of Gujarat.

Do you know whole issue.
Just read all the issues related to this Sardar Sarovar Project and then comment.

And also one suggestion for you,
We all have to raise ourselves beyound politics and think in the direction of Prosperous India.

Hope all oppositers of Sardar Sarovar project, must have to understand this.

( Just Go to Saurastra and Kutch and leave their for one day without water. You will get the importance of Sardar Sarovar Project to those crores of people. )

by Manan Mehta on Apr 17, 2006 12:56 AM  Permalink
Dear Sir,

Nice to know your concer about "Meghaji". I have few question before I comments on your post. How many people are required to be displaced? Everybody knows that Megha Patekar is working against the Narmada Project. Do you know how much work really she has done for "Vishthapit"? Do you know how may farmers and people of Gujarat are facing shortage of water, which i think Visthapit would not face where ever they go. I am really sympathatic towards visthapit, but the way this fight is going is really dramatic. See the situtation is other country. I think instead to watching everything by media eye, think the the other side or real side.

Total 159 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11