Total 416 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30   Older >
I have a question to ask.
by Suhail Khalid on Sep 16, 2005 11:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I don't understand why a Maulvi's remarks about Sania's dress are considered caustic.

Cricket players are also required to be fast and agile while fielding,batting and keeping wickets.But they (women too)don't wear revealing shorts.

So I just believe that Sania has been misinformed or misled,and even misimpressioned about the dress required while playing tennis.

RE:I have a question to ask.
by Harpreet on Sep 19, 2005 10:43 PM  Permalink
Suhail Sania does not wear shorts, she wears skirts.

The WTA ( Women's Tennis Association) allows skirts or dresses for women, (dresses like Sharapova wears).
Not shorts and not track pants and not trousers.

She is not wearing anything less than what is allowed and certainly more than a lot of famous ladies of her religion in the world of films.

And if men in cricket wear trouser how come even MEN in tennis do not ?

about sania's dress code
by naveen kumar np on Sep 16, 2005 11:24 AM  Permalink 

Is her own personal.she can wear short dress to get her comfort.Here there is no que stion of religion,religion fall well below infront of her talent and her careear.

thank you.

Kindly Understand the difference between following religion by heart and being professional
by Yogesh on Sep 16, 2005 11:23 AM  Permalink 

Hi ,

Well the big lords speak again and this time critise a gal who is just playin here heart out and tryin to make it in the history books. Something that no Indian done before and she is being professional in the sport. I dont believe u talk garbage as to she should wear this or that and if she is not wearing till her knees she is not a pure muslin and that she is not following the Rules of Islam. I am just a young lad compared to all the great saints and preachers who condemed her and wanted to ask her that well why not make her stay in the house all covered and maybe you guys can fund here and equal her bank balance and give her stardom which she is achieving by her skills. You talk bout Islam and i not being a Muslim have so many muslim friends we never even get all this talk bout religion between us. As from the school days we are not trested differently but you people are the ones who show how one human is different from eachother. Its all just a god damm Political issue that every now and then u people highlight and get the media attention. I have to say that i think u guys need to grow up and understand the meaning of religion.

Strong words to think on.

bye

Sania -Mirza - The dress code
by sony on Sep 16, 2005 11:22 AM  Permalink 

What about the dress (if it is called a dress anyway) that muslim women of film industry wear ? As Sania is in the limelight, some sadist people can not handle it and they just use the power that they suppose they have.

It should be none of any ones business what she weares. we can only comment on her play as she is a sports person.

SANIA MIRZA 7 THE DRESS CODE...
by DR.CHIRAG GANDHI on Sep 16, 2005 11:18 AM  Permalink 

Point well made... but the real issue here is - Are the religious fatwas relevant in today's age at all.???
We should be grateful 2 Sania for the glory she has brought...The short skirts do not necessarily mean she has 'sold' herself and her conscience 2 western influences- That way can somebody plllease calculate and tell me how much of our beloved country is run on World Bank 'grants'???????
JINHE NAAZ HAI HIND PER WO KAHAAN HAI.....

terrible article
by amit on Sep 16, 2005 11:18 AM  Permalink 

this article being posted on the website has taken away all the regards that i had fr rediff as a website.

doesnt rediff have better content to post rather than pondering over wt an individual wears to office(court in this case for Ms. Mirza)

Plz stop contemplating as to why sania did not comment....mayb she feels unlike rediff that commenting on such a nondescript issue is below her dignity....

alas a premier website like rediff thinks otherwise...

Please remove this article asap...a personnal request but it left a very bad taste

DRESS CODE
by S. RIZWAN on Sep 16, 2005 11:18 AM  Permalink 

September 16, 2005

To hell with these psedo scholars of Islam. In fact
these people do all these just reamin in news and
nothing else. If you visit their homes, you will
not find it very different from the modern Muslims.
Children are studying in public schools wearing
all the prescribed dresses in the schools and girl
wearing jeans can be seen in the family functions.

S. RIZWAN

Sania and the dress code
by Atul V on Sep 16, 2005 11:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

utter crap this article is. Religion cannot decide what anyone should wear. it is a matter of personal choice. I wonder how one has found time to think about this. Get a life guys.

RE:Sania and the dress code
by arshad on Sep 17, 2005 06:37 PM  Permalink
How very true. These film stars are a blot on Islam. I am sure they do not qualify to be called muslims in even the most elementary way. If they are ignorant of the tenets of the faith they need to be guided. However in the event of their carrying on with their antics even after that, they should be left alone and not considered to be muslims at all. Let it be clear to all individuals who extoll Islam as a great religion and then go all out to demonise it..they are only fooling themselves. Each individual shall answer for his/her conduct to the Almighty for this life on earth. Whether it is the mullahs or Sania Mirza. Islam does not differentiate between humans in meting out justice as per the divine code of Islamic ethics, laid out in the Koran.

Dress attire of Sania Mizra
by krishna on Sep 16, 2005 11:16 AM  Permalink 

I think the author is too worried about his religion and the maulvis.I feel uncomfortable reading the words "And also the highest ranking Muslim woman ever to play tennis from any country" . According me there is no need of rising the name of religion in this aspect . This is where India is lagging and far behind other countries .There should be only one religion through the world ie Humanism .If the author thinks if sania's dress code is wrong , then i think many film actors of his religion should stop acting and the great icons of Indian cinema , Sharukh Khan , Aamir Khan , Salman Khan should stop touching girls as it is against there religion .

whats wrong with sanias dress
by anthony on Sep 16, 2005 11:16 AM  Permalink 

respected sir,
i am not really impressed with the muslim leaders on demanding that sania's cloths are vulgar. how is she suppose to paly with salvar kameez if that is what he means sania is national symbol not a religious symbol as he consider why are they not commenting on the other muslim girls in bollywood and those modern muslim family, why only sania think about it

Total 416 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30   Older >