Total 34 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
Employment Guarantee scheme
by jaideep on Sep 05, 2005 06:25 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I share Mr Shenoy's cynicism about the Employment Guarantee Scheme, in whatever name it be.Arun Bhatia, who resigned from govt service in Maharashtra, stumbled upon a case, where canals, waterways, roads, you name it, were constructed and money disbursed. That this construction was a figment of the babu & neta's imagination, was brought to light by him. Mr Bhatia was transferred for telling the truth.The Congress now relies on Mahrashtra's "good experience" in the EGS to pour public money into private pockets.Our babus and netas do not stop to think that one leaves this world without a paisa, they are so busy filling their pockets. I truly hope the proponents of this scheme suffer for this fraud scheme.

RE:Employment Guarantee scheme
by Ram Ariya on Sep 07, 2005 05:15 AM  Permalink
First of all, all modern countries around the world have some form of social security, while India does not. People are dying and committing suicide - thanks to globalisation. They urgently need food - and it is theirs by right. Nobody is giving to them in charity. It is the money they deserve for being citizens. This country is built on their broken backs.
Secondly, If corruption is the reason that you are concerned about, consider how implausible Shenoy's scheme for education is: the government has not built a single NEW public school or hospital all my life. How many of us have seen the government actually building new schools or hospitals?
Shenoy's attacking of this scheme is purely based on the sense that poor people are getting a free lunch. They are not - they are getting this money so the prosperity that the rich have built up due to globalisation can be shared. This money is their birth right.
So before calling EGS a fraud scheme, try to press for its correct implementation.
I have a question for Mr.Shenoy:
Why should money for one development scheme always come from another? Why don't we stop spending on missiles and sending Indians to the moon?

Dear Mr Shenoy
by Ravi on Sep 05, 2005 08:47 AM  Permalink 

I never expected this error from you. You used "cheek-to-jowl" where as there is no such idiom in the whole of English language, the correct form is "cheek by jowl".

As regards your article, when you say people, read parents, should be given vouchers, where is the guarantee that they will not be sold to make money.

We need real Patriots to move the country forward.

Regards
Ravi

rural employment guarantee scheme/citizens, put your guard up!
by m.r. arun kumar on Sep 04, 2005 10:58 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

as always, shri shenoy lambasts political hypocrisy and public inaction tinged with skepticism. mr shenoy, i too pray that you are wrong in your doomsday predictions but excepting the elections, when do you get to lick the KKK's (Khadi, Khaki and Kavi (ochre colour)) ? The swami-neta nexus is undoing us more than the netas cohorting because the former is opium for the masses (sorry comrades, stealing your phrase) Give us a chance in our ordinary lives like on the Mumbai train or Telengana wilds or Mangalore hotels - you know what i mean. educate me to spend a thousand rupees to print a pamphlet asking netas some hard questions - and speak fearlessly in public. Otherwise the wise saws could be just foaming at the mouth.

RE:rural employment guarantee scheme/citizens, put your guard up!
by sgpal on Sep 09, 2005 09:26 PM  Permalink
Some people have suddenly woen up to see that the discussion is one sided and is against the ereersvation.So they have started replying in anger to one and all! All ofcourse in the name of social justice.Your great great great grand father might have or has suppressed my caste people and so now we are backward and we shall suppress you!
Please read narayana gurus teachings and shall know how to improve from with in.Bye
cheers

Fishing in the pool of talent
by N J Ramesh on Sep 04, 2005 07:13 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Systemic changes do not begin with procedures; that would be equivalent to watering the leaves. We need to work on the common understanding issues which can inculcate healthy conformance and these begin with values paradigm, assessing the scale of operations and complexity in communication to determine investment levels, defining the criteria for success etc.

The agenda of India is not reservation; it is prosperity and equitable development. If reservation is the means to achieve it, then it ought to be enforced. The debate ought to focus on what reservation can not achieve the desired result. It seems that the best Indian minds who can competently address the issue are silent. In the present cacophonic political climate of India, this silence of buddhijivis may appear sensible. When the political intent becomes suspect, desertion is the only option. Indians live not only in India but also on this Earth.

RE:Fishing in the pool of talent
by Ramiah Ariya on Sep 07, 2005 05:42 AM  Permalink
strysh4,
You said:
"If a community has to grow there has to be effort from within - not pampering"
Please read the news about Dalits' houses burnt in Gohana, Haryana and Akola, Maharashtra.
How many times have Brahmins' houses been burnt in caste violence?
If you had any sense of the misery and oppression that Dalits and Backward Castes have to go through in their daily lives, you would not be talking about "pampering". After having enjoyed the fruits of education and cornering of all jobs for 2000 years, it is easy to comment about other communities having to "grow from within". Although caste violence may not now involve Brahmins - mainly because of their migration to urban areas, Brahmins have played an active role in suppressing other castes. There is good reason for all the "advancements" that you talk about: it is education and money that Brahmins cornered BECAUSE of the caste system they put in place.
To talk even now as if Brahmins have "special" qualities is plain and simple casteist and racist.

RE:Fishing in the pool of talent
by strysh4 on Sep 06, 2005 05:44 AM  Permalink
Hi sgpal,

I agree with you that caste thing has been magnified out of proportion by the politicians to suit their agenda and Swiss bank balances.

Everyone talks of upper castes being atrocious to the lower castes. Tell me how many brahmins.. the so called higher class, have killed the so called backwards? Today, after 50 + years of Reservations for the backwards, how many brahmins are doing great deal of advance? Many. And everything is against them.... the state, the policies, the attitide of masses of BC, OBC, SC & ST. Now there is a talk of a new class... Minorities BCs stuff.

If a community has to grow, there has to be effeort from within, not pampering by the vote hungry politicians.

Guess who used to live in rags, on bare minimum facilities, bagging for alms, teaching the society, often unable to take care of themselves? Brahmins. The other upper castes like Thakurs (many of them) have brought disrepute to the term upper castes... Regular exploitation of poor farmers, land grabbing.

Have Brahmins been known for violence, land grabbing, etc? But they bear the brunt of attack on Upper castes. Not that all Brahmins are sadhus. But the politicians are CRIMINALS.

caste factors
by sgpal on Sep 04, 2005 06:37 PM  Permalink 

The caste factor has been there in India for thousands of years.The politicians will exploit the caste divisions amongst Hindus for as long as viable and possible.The people also have to be blamed for this. In Karnataka, just one example of the literate state, the two communities that have always held power are the Lingayats and Vokkaligas for at least 45 years! Time and again the election is fought between two communities and not about progress. Basic question no one asks prior to voting is are the roads any better, is the power situation any better, are the govt offices less corrupt,what is being done for corrupt people etc.Instead, even literate people are interested in two things .1.How to get their comunity included in the backward list and 2.Is that person being elected belongs to which caste! Thats the reason there is no progress and there shall be no progress.

set aside 50 per cent of the seats in colleges -- but insist that every one of those seats be filled only by women students!
by Jawahar Mundlapati on Sep 04, 2005 05:12 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

"He who is dying of hunger must be fed rather than taught."

Saint Thomas Aquinas

Idiotic response
by Mandar S. Chitnis on Sep 03, 2005 09:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

An idiotic response to an equally idiotic scheme from the Government.

Useless article shows the shallow thinking of the author.

Mandar

Total 34 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >