I have been living in Chennai for more than a year. Though city is clean, well maintained and under able administratiion compare to most other cities in India including Bombay where I lived for seven years and has become slum of India. However, recent incident brings the worst of our culture out. This and similar incidents (rape of a girl in Mumbai), etc., just show how shallow our cultural roots are and how far are we from the original Indian culture which does not shy away from displaying physical affection between a man and a woman in arts of Ajanta and Elora and how close we have come to Taliban thinking. Need I elaborate further?
RE:Kissing in Chennai
by pradeep on Oct 16, 2005 09:53 AM Permalink
I cannot agree more... Just the US liberated Afghanistan from the grips of Taliban and our desi babus are working hard to prop one up in India!!
Let us blame the Britishers for all our problems!!!
Moral policing shud stop in chennai...its not so bad in other parts of india....its getting out of hand in chennai....i mean sometoimes the so called Big Brothers go to far limits....as if they are the gaurdians of culture...look at the politicins...!!!
RE:Moral Policing shud stop
by Robert on Oct 14, 2005 03:39 PM Permalink
Wow, excellent Reply dude, your reply was a knockout for the so called Author.
Does this liberated journalist know that the Entertainment Corridor in Chennai is the same length of the IT corridor and that there is no other city in India which has as many resorts in one place as the ECR?
Do you know that Chennai has the lowest crime-rate and least law & order issues as compared to other metros?
Ma'am, stop ridiculing your own countrymen first. Grow up ! If you think that being hep is writing stupid articles like this, you got it wrong. If you want to contribute, get yout facts straight and do a level-headed write-up.
Lemme repeat, you have stooped lower than the reporters of Dinmalar who by their stupidity have onley invaded the privacy of a few people. On the contrary, you have tried to shed bad light on an entire city that's far ahead of other cities in India.
On the whole, only a site like Rediff, which has a dearth for content would publish trash like what you have written.
Lemme repeat, we are grown-ups here trying to behave like kids to have a goodtime, only you seem to be acting like a spoilt brat who wants to ape the grown-ups.
Shobha Warrier has stooped to a level that's worse than the moral policing crowd here. Her article is written without any analayis or going into the facts of what happened after that. She looks like the kinda of person who just reads her own wrirings and not that of others. Cos if she had she would have seen the large section of Chennai folks writing out strongly against Dinamalar. She probably is not aware of blogs, cos the No of Blog posts, which protested against the moral copping, were more than what some of these so-called Guest Columnists write when they find time.
Does this woman who talks about Bharatanatyam with a tinge of ridicule know that Chennai has produced some of the best Indian classical dancers?
Does this great columnist who derides college atmosphere in Chennai know that 5 among the top 10 Indian colleges are from here?
This attention seeker who seems to think that Chennaites dont talk about sex, AIDS etc know that we started the 1st AIDS Ad in the country and featured condoms on hoardings across the state?
I'm not a Chennaiite but i accept the fact that it is none of "Big Brother"'s business to interfere in others personnal life. But if you look @ USA where public kissing, cuddling etc are acceptable, they go to the extent of having sex in public. Then our "Big Brother"(in USA its the Cops) come into picture and arrest them. Our cities r not far from this kind of problem if we dont address the problem now.
We should use our common sense when behaving in public. We souldnt go to an extent if our parents happen to c us and feel uncomfortable.
Also why r lewd scenes not allowed in indian movies? Because if we allow them and give Ratings("R") nobody is going to follow it. So all movies have to be PG13 movies. We got to do the same with our Public behaviour.