Total 18 messages Pages | 1 | 2   Older >
India needs engagement
by Rajender Razdan on Jun 02, 2005 08:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am completely baffled by why Indians, who are generally quite bright, behave in such a knee-jerk reactonary mode when it comes to understanding foreign relations. Vijay is right on the dot when he says that India needs some constructive engagement policy instead of its constant hostility to USA. Why, for example, do Indians get so worked up about the US invasion to Iraq? Whether the US was wise or unwise in its decision to get into Iraq, surely Indians should be rooting for the USA against the Islamists who threaten our country as well. Vijay is also right in pointing out the "appeasement" policy of Indian government, epitomized by the shameful caving in to the terrorist demands at Kandahar in which Jaswant Singh himself carried the ransom money to the terrorists. Is it any wonder that the rest of the world looks upon India as pushovers? Why should USA or any other country treat India with respect, when Indians themselves show no respect for their own country?

Utter Shytt ~~
by Nitin on Jun 01, 2005 08:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This column = 5 mins waste........Mr Dandapani...ur problem is that you are one of those YES SIR !! guys . Its not ur fault.....and talkin about people from north....am not really sure whats in your mind? ?

ghar ka bhedi lanka dhai....
by karigar on May 31, 2005 10:11 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Ghar kaa bhedi lanka dhai...

It doesn't matter for what hi falutin' reasons, but all that a reader sees is one Indian guy trashing another, and being "holier than thou" about it.

Maybe it's time for the indian "intelligentsia" to get on the same page about developing india, before arguing about afghanistan, iraq, ad nauseum...

RE:ghar ka bhedi lanka dhai....
by pankaj on Jun 05, 2005 12:07 PM  Permalink
" India brings up a voice of reason into international politics, speaks out against injustice"

### What a joke. This country can't provide justice to its own people at home. What are u smoking dude. Give me some.

It is NOT hostility to criticize wrongdoings
by Amit on May 31, 2005 08:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

India brings up a voice of reason into international politics, speaks out against injustice, The US\'s imperial experiments and ventures, Dandapani ke pass koi dhandha nahi hai so we have to read useless banter. Karzai is not a democratically elected leader, the fact that he cannot find a single Afghani to protect him shows the hatred his own constituents have for him. I would say that is not Jaswant Singh\'s ignorance - it is yours.

I\'m not too fond of the opposition but I applaud their stance.

RE:It is NOT hostility to criticize wrongdoings
by manofsan on Jun 02, 2005 07:32 AM  Permalink
Amit, your response is deplorable. Jaswant blatantly caved in to Taliban and was hobknobbing with them, releasing the killer Jaish-i-Mohammad terrorist so that he could launch more attacks on Indians. Corrupt politicians like Jaswant are due to corrupt voters like you, Amit. I certainly blame the corrupt Leftist politicians themselves for India's follies, but even more than that, I blame the corrupt voters who support the corrupt politicians -- these supporters are the most guilty of all.

Giving away the store
by Munir Akram on May 31, 2005 07:54 AM  Permalink 

It is the gold bars and releaisng the terrorists that did in, the Delhi ruling party. Nothing more foolish was possible. Congress party might have been more shrewd and cunning.

Utter Nonsense
by Ram S on May 31, 2005 12:17 AM  Permalink 

Looks like Mr. Singh has totally lost all sense of rational thought. well he has the right to criticize everything about US etc, but i cannot feel irritated about his gloating on Kandhar episode where, due to teh govt's weakness murderous terrorists got away. it was a slap on India's face and he is responsible for it

Readers need views, not stupidity!
by Shekar on May 30, 2005 11:47 PM  Permalink 

Just because the Americans are white, doesn't mean we have to bend backwards to accept whatever they say. The world over, right now, Americans are being cursed for their arrogance and brash attitude in taking the globe closer to a needless war of attrition.

Iraq is currently the breeding ground for terrorists, and Jaswant has rightly pointed out that ultimately these scum will land at our doorstep, after undergoing the best training against American grunts.
And as for your harping that the Jaswant and the NDA promoted negotiating with terrorists, please read up your history.. you will find that it started even before under the Third Affront, when terrorists were released for the current fat daughter of the Kashmiri CM.
People like you have been the problem the world over. You have only chosen to look the other way or bend over in obsequiousness to whatever the Americans opine about. As for improvement in Afganistan under US or NATO surveillance, the lesser said the better. It's just a nation of one city, and the American writ doesn't extend beyond Kabul. So if this is pointed out, it becomes brashness is it?

Itz high time somebody had the guts to call a spade a spade.

Needs engagement but not this way.....
by Kris on May 30, 2005 10:04 PM  Permalink 

Surely...India needs engagement and not hostility. But, definitely not the way you described. Who cares if you can travel to kandahar or Kabul, can you travel to Kashmir?? and thats where you need hostility and what is America doing about it? There is nothing wrong about keeping quiet for sometime for our own development, but then if India doesn't spell its own views it will be nothing better than the British.....supposedly called the 51st state. And regarding the release of terrorists for passengers...I agree you are correct about not releasing the terorists...but please tell me what you would do if you were in his shoes? My suggestion is "dont keep them with you at all...so that some one can ask for the release" and I think that comes under hostility too. Frankly, everyone knows what US did in Iraq and Afghanistan is wrong (including the US citizens...look at the demographihcs of how Bush won the elections,not a single state with nicely educated people, who kow about outside world, voted for him). And let me tell you sir, India is in the position what it is now because of its own aversion against hostility, just look back in history how US (and presently China) became superpowers

Total 18 messages Pages: | 1 | 2   Older >