Total 30 messages Pages | 1 | 2   Older >
Lets invade Bangladesh
by ankan on Aug 31, 2005 02:24 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I feel we should simply invade bangladesh and put an end to this non-sense. Its very fine to rest on our claim that we havent ever invaded a country but the fact is that the entire world thinks we are wimps and treats us as such. There are lots more strategic advantages as well.

Is Bangladesh a threat for India?
by Asif Anwar on Aug 24, 2005 02:50 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Mr. Ramananda

I am from Bangladesh. But I would like to share some neutral facts.

Though an independant country, Bangladesh is virtually is now a Province of India. When I go for weekly shopping, every single commodity I want is from India. The fact is that, such a small country with so many people can meet its own self-sufficiency. These hungry people will obviously hunt for your commodities. In the eye of the economy, Bangladesh is the consumer of India and never a competitor.

The border situation is going bad, because of our nature to compete with our neighbours. But, think if India wanted to takeover Bangladesh, then it would be very easy. Again, if the any country wishes to take over India, then their first priority would be Bangladesh. So, we both possess vulnerabilities for each other. In that sense, you can think that Bangladesh is a threat to India.

About the current Islamic Extreamism, I would say that, it is a rising phenamenon. Yes, as you said: it is a by-product of our poverty. But, the majority is a peace loving people.

With best regards,

Asif Anwar

RE:Is Bangladesh a threat for India?
by Veeresh on Aug 31, 2005 12:07 PM  Permalink
I agree with you Asif. I have worked with Bangladeshis in 3 countries now and they are liberal and friendly to Indians. The real problem is extreme poverty and something needs to be done to combat that. International community as well as India have a role here. India has committed 550 million US dollars to Afganistan and I suppose, even gives some development aid to Bangladesh, but more needs to be done to organize the country to benefit properly from developmental process.

Bangladesh Border Fencing?
by Vinod Tuli on Aug 24, 2005 10:57 AM  Permalink 

Excellent piece Mr. Sengupta, but what is the solution? Process of fencing is being resisted regularly by Bangladesh Rifles ever since the project began. Any stern action envisaged does not get the required support from Government circles nor from the State Government. It appears that the BSF is rather handicapped. Arbitrary and unprovoked firing by BDR has caused casualties on the Border outposts for quite a few years now especially after first big action by BDR on Mahendraganj (Meghalaya) border resulting in barbaric killing of BSF jawans a couple of years back. Indian forces were not apparently, allowed to retaliate for unknown reasons. Still the credit goes to BSF to withstand onslaughts from across the border and still being asked to keep calm on the pretext of honouring the much used phrase of 'Big Brother'. It is high time that the higher echelons take stock of the situation in the right perspective so that the Force is not demoralised. Vinod Tuli

the reality of the threat...
by ara on Aug 24, 2005 10:20 AM  Permalink 

check out the google cache of this article....
http://64.233.161.104/search?q=cache:4UXId6auRnwJ:www.pakobserver.net/200503/02/Articles03.asp+%22Sultan+M+Hali%22+bangla desh+pakistan+retired+army+major+assam+dhaka+&hl=en
"The party is planning to field candidates in all 300 constituencies of the National Assembly in the elections of 2006. The Party Manifesto aims at eliminating corruption and focusing on the creation of a National Army to defeat India. It also aspires to sever/detach northeast India from Indian mainland to foil river linking mega project as well as restore the sovereignty of Sikkim and support Nepal, Bhutan and Sikkim in wresting effective control of their water resources. A major endeavour of the group is restore Nawabi Bangla comprising West Bengal, Assam, Bihar and Orissa from the clutches of India. The General claims that these areas were lost to the East India Company as a result of the Battle of Plassey. He believes that all these can be achieved with the use of peoples power since there are 12 crores of homogeneous Muslims having common religion, language, culture and race, which is a unique feature. If required, as a complement to the National Army, an

Bangladesh
by manjeet singh on Aug 24, 2005 08:56 AM  Permalink 

The problem of banladesh is the offspring of shortsighted policy of our govt. run by congress party. Congress from Indra's time played the vote game to stay in power. Watch the downtrend in standard of our parliament which has more of qualified/labled Goondas than the learned gentlemen. Indra knew its easy to heard in illiterates than literates to run the govt. Irony is that our over grown population has no vision to understand the nefarious design of our political leaders.
So long the game of votes, based on caste and religion is played by the politicians India will have hostile neighbours like Bangladesh and Pakistan. Next is line is Nepal.
Only the political party without self interest and family dynasty objectives can give direction to our country. Only fools will agree to that India is safe in the hands of Govt. run by Indra family.
I wish good sense prevail on our countrymen to realise the seriousness and rise together to defeat the nefrious designs of Goonda politicians whether they are in Congress or any other opposition party.

Border fencing
by Nikhil on Aug 24, 2005 01:15 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I wonder when we'll show some spine. The author ends his column on a rhetorical question about which border we would fence next. I think it is time we looked at the question from a more fundamental viewpoint. That is, why do we have to fence our borders? Why become so defensive? Why allow neighbours to wreak our lives? Instead why not take a more agressive stance for once and teach at least one neighbour a lesson that it cannot play such games with us. I am sure the message will reach all such nuisance neighbours once and for all.

Why??
by Goutam on Aug 25, 2005 12:44 PM  Permalink
The short and simple answer to your "why"s is: "Our Secular scoundrel politician will miss out on the Muslim votes". To them, the nation may go to hell, but they won't curb their greed to remain in power, by hook or crrok. Alas, if the country is no more, who will care about votes, and democratic norms?
And we, the secular idiots of Induia, have brought back "Congrees the Cancer" to power!

It is need of the hour to know about Islamic terrorism
by Madhuri singh on Aug 23, 2005 10:51 PM  Permalink 

It is need of the hour to know much about the reason behind Islmic
terrorism.India is the world's second largest muslim populated nation of
this world so it is important for the people of this nation to know about
the theological base of this terrorism.Daniel Pipes is very prominent
scholar into this subject he has been termed as a authority in middle
Eastern matter by American press.His articles has deep insight into this
subject. By reading him one can enrich itself with intellectual weapons
in any debate on Islamic terrorism.From last 25 years he is writing on
middle east and Islamic terrorism and several times his predictions has
proved him great visionary.How Israel and India are same in their
problem of terrorism becomes so visible when you read him.He is very
objective and honest in his analysis.He is not from any angle Islamophobic but
very clear about the reason behind terrorism.It is need of the hour is
to know much about Islam its theology and its influence on
terrorists.www.danielpipes.org will help people in understanding these
well.Now he is available in Hindi also.Hindi version of his articles
will help Indians worldwide to be familier

1971: Brahma the Creator.................2005: Shiva the Destroyer
by Hemant Parulekar on Aug 23, 2005 08:22 PM  Permalink 

I don't understand why and how are we tolerating Bangladesh. If India could liberate them from the tyranny of the Pakistani rulers in 1971, today she can very well wipe off the existance of this puny little useless nation from the face of this planet.
BEWARE BANGLADESHIS.

Total 30 messages Pages: | 1 | 2   Older >