Although I am not a Maharashtrian myself, I am surprised by the way non Maharashtrians talk of a sepearte Bombay.
Somehow they think that by doing so all the problems will be solved. I feel it is because of their desire to take over Mumbai and deny Marthis economic rights in their own capital.
While I have no respect for Thakeray, I dont think Mumbai should be seprated.
As for the problems plaguing Mumbai, it is due to the heavy influx of slumdwellers, from Maharashtra itself and also from other states. They have taken up all the open spaces becuase they know that some politician will legalise their slums and then they will get brand new flats
Thakeray himself is to blame. When he promised to give free houses to 40 lakh slum dwellers, and extended the legal date to 1995 , more people started comming to Mumbai and the slum population has doubled in 10 years to 80 lakh
we KOLIS are the original inhabitants of mumbai along with konkan belt are attached to maharashtra. we are speaking marathi alongwith konkani dialects. we have given life in maratha kingdoms for saving our land. we warned person like morarji desai who tryed to capture mumbai. but first listen this if we are silent in mumbai doesn't mean we are no one we are same who gave 650 crores revenue from exports of fishes for india. if we roar we can vanish anyone from our motherland let it be any bhaiya or marvadi. but our settlements are near we have families of us over here only not in villages like these bhaiyas so we are keeping quite. else how we take left right centrewe will show these people who will try warn us marathas. if we are calm let us be calm and celebrities seat at home and do their work. jaya should understand all marvadis and bhaiyas are like britishers who came on the name of business on our motherland if every mumbaikar and maratha thinks this way we will throw all of u out from our motherland. plz dont think of mumbai it is our village wat distruction u hav done we hav seen congress ruled for so many years and we have seen results of mithi river and mangroves distroyed
With Mumbai aspiring to become an important financial hub between London and Hongkong, its governance by sugar barons or senas will no longer be viewed non-chalantly by the MNCs and deshi corporates.
And this has been amply demonstrated by Vilas.
It is not only Jaya;
Even Charles Correa is advocating this.
Mumbai needs a coporate kind of a governance devoid of any nonsenses and stupidities.
Bal Thackeray. The man who terrorises Mumbai with his band of hoodlums should know better than to challenge Jaya\\\\\\\'s statement. Jaya may not be all that aware, but what she said is sensible. Bombay is too big a burden on rest of Maharashtra and should be separted from it politically. People gave their lives for the \\\\\\\'samyukta Maharashtra\\\\\\\' movement lived in different times. There is no such cause now. And ganglords like Thackeray know this. Vidarbha too should be separated from Maharashtra. There is such a demand from that region. Smaller states are much easy to manage. Thackeray should stop mewing. Nobody really cares about him and his handful of imbecilic followers. The self-centred cat had to be rowed out of his house (palace?) when his neighbours in the locality were in shoulder deep water. The Shiv Sena leader has gone senile and since hasn\\\\\\\'t contributed much to any cause, will soon be forgotten. There is nothing that he has done, besides spreading hate, that history will record after he passes away....
just want to state that the demand for a separate mumbai is totally a hopeless and a selfish motive of the non-maharashtrians in mumbai. this seems to me as a nice strategy by non-maharashtrians to invade mumbai from the hands of maharashtrians staying all over maharashtra. as shri thackery rightly stated: this cannot b tolerated in any case. i support him firmly.
Rediff could provide complete information about what that editorial in the magazine Saamna speaks. Also a soft link could be given to the webpages showing that article, if they exist. Did the magazine give any reasoning about why Mumbai cannot be separated from Maharashtra...? Giving only half information and only about the criticizing views of that editorial could mislead your readers. Hope rediff accepts this feedback.
pls dont seperate mumbai from maharashtra..... but make it a U.T. , i think shivsena will be benefitted politically cos they have stronghold on mumbai, and such they can raise their voice to whole world and maharashtra can then be supported by centre cos taking into acct mumbai they are ignoring rest of maharashtra ..... i m actually surprised that shiv sena are opposing for a separate CM for mumbai...cos if mumbai is declared UT, politically shiv sena will be benefitted the most.....and people of both mumbai and maharashtra will be benefitted cos they r bith ignoree by centre..... and i m sure shivsena can take mumbai to new heights...cos they were one u first opposed illegal migrants..mean teh 1995 rule....jai maharashtra.....jai hind....and new jai amchi mumbai !!!!!!