heavy rain on that had opened pandora's box which clearly shows lack of govt. and bureacrats interest in people's welfare.With such infrastructure we can not compete china.Separating mumbai from maharashtra will not serve any purpose but only add govt. expenditure. look what happen at jharkhand.only solution to this is to create lobby and pressurise govt.through media.
Whatever said is not new but at least honest and bold landscape of the reality. People after July 26 started criticizing-praising the system, Mumbaikars, government, policy, infrastructure ..... Blame game is the loveliest timepass when people are compelled to stay or gather at one place due to some disaster, accident. But what when the wounds starts healing, when the dust of the footpath starts patching the potholes and people starts running, leaving others behind, catching locals with a "chu-chu" sound like a mole. At that time when you will stop somebody and talk about these social issues their common answer will "Yeh Mumbai hai babu aisa itch chalta hia idher". Its really a wild thought to make Mumbai a separate state, I am convinced that nothing is going to change. "cuts out all the nonsense" where you wanted to throw that nonsense ? I will appeal to thing little better and try to "correct the nonsense". Unless untill we will not educate, train our people socially, individually problem will retain its shape and get healthier as we face new challenges.
I agree that mumbai should be granted statehood...they could combine the satellite townships around it and hand over complete control of mumbai to people from mumbai rather than these greedy politicians that take everything for other parts of maharastra but dont contribute anything in return.... Make it a union territory like Delhi.
Its a well-written article. Compare the situation with major cities in the west. In US, the infrastructure finance allocation is decided by two criteria: 1) The tax each state/city is contributing, and, 2) the population. Either way, New York City, being the financial capital and the most populated city, receives a large amount for its infrastructure.
And, almost all states in the US have their capital in a medium-sized town, not their major city. Albany is the capital of New York state, not New york city.
I absolutely agree with TVR shenoy about the general apathy among BOMBAYites(i still prefer BOMBAY). Actually this apathy is an epidemic throughout the country.I do not know of too many towns/cities/states in which the general public take an active part in making effective changes to the infrastructure. This "I don't care attitude" is what has always set us back, even from a global perspective. Mismanagement of funds, corruption and fraud have been allowed to go unpunished for years because frankly "WE DON'T CARE'. It's time we did. Else we will have only ourselves to blame and not the politicians.
The suggestion to shift the caoital of Maharashtra to any other city is only a different version of the demand to make it a Union territory. The way this city had been administered in the last five decades -it is now inevitable that Mumbai be made a union territory.
State has delivered itself to the builders and corporates. South Mumbai gets all the plum projects neglecting north MUmbai. Bifurcate BMMC into two, south and north so that north Mumbai can fend for itself better.
Scuttle the McKenzie project which involves redeveloping Mumbai block-by- block.
Stop the sale of Mill lands and cancel those that are already done.
Discard the sea-bridge between Nava Sheva and Sewree and drop the Bandra-Worli seaway.
Decentralise government instituions and shift the Mantralaya to Navi Mumbai.
Rememeber the warning that the Institute of Oceanograph had given two years back, of the coastal cities sinking in about 3 decades. If we allow klousy adminsitratioin such as ours to continue the chances are that it may happen sooner.
Has Mr Shenoy been to hutatma chowk in Mumbai. Does he know what it's for. 105 people gave their lives for Mumbai to be part of Maharashtra. Chief Minister of Mumbai state Mr. Morarji Desai wanted Mumbai to become part of Gujarath. Do you think Maharashtrians will allow Mumbai to be separated from Maharashtra. There's no question of that ever happening. I agree on increasing the representation of Mumbai in Lok Sabha and Vidhan sabha. May be even more powers to Mayor of Mumbai. But separation from Maharashtra. There will be riots everywhere if that happens.
Cut the nonsense & offer Mumbai a chance August 04, 2005 By TVR Shenoy **********************
While I agree with what has been written by Mr. Shenoy, regarding lethary in responding by the administration, polititians, one must also agree to the fact that, every Tom dick and Harry runs to Mumbai, from all over the India. Nobody talks about the population inflow into the Mumbai, the infrastructure what it has got. Is it possible to accomodate such a crowd. The geological stucture of Mumbai. It is surroundes by water and can grow only in one direction NORTH. There is basic difference in Delhi and Mumbai. Delhi can grow in all directions. Hence you can plan in better way. In Mumbai space itself is a constrain as regards inflow of people, it is better not to count. The major difference for better quality of life in Delhi is ' MONEY EARNED FROM MUMBAI IS SPENT ON DELHI' We need to think on different lines. By shifting capitol a to somewhere else will not serve the purpose. The basic problem boils down to one thing - Public Inflow to the Mumbai. May be in wost case Govt. may have to issue permits for entrering Mumbai(???) Very difficult, but this only leads to problem.- Mohan