It is totally failure of the top bureaucrats of the mumbay , we should learn from the England or US the way the government gives respect to all citizens in India if 1000 people will die also ministers do the politics with different ways. We should not do any short of politics with the needy people, earlier I was having respect to the mumbay top bureaucrats, now I do not. Kindly every body should respect each other all over India ire respect of religion, region, cast and language. with out this India can not be a developed country after 100 years.
I studied in Mumbai for five before going to United states, this problem was common for previous years but this year it crossed the limit. No doubt that the administration should be blamed of doing nothing. It's a great shame that the largest civic body of Asia BMC is unable to have a Disaster Management Plan. They are very good to go on a strike before Diwali or sitting on thheir tables and drinking cutting chai.
This is the high time for Mumbai to wake up or the cosequences will be bad. Lets think about the FDI and MNC's having their operations in Mumbai for e.g BPO, they will definitely try to operate in other cities like Bangalore.
The best thing to do would is to Privatize BMC whose officials does nothing but asking for bribes. This chalta hai attitude will make Mumbai Patna rather than Shanghai.
Let's first do the analysis. Where did most of the deaths occur ? In slums ? Who are the people living in these slums ? Are those slums built illegally on a government property ? Seprating Mumbai from Maharashtra , as suuggsted by one of the reader is not a solution.
About 70% population of Mumbai lives in slums. If Mumbai is separated from Maharashtra you can imagine what kind of Government Mumbai will have. Add to that the influx of people coming from Bihar and UP. Mumbai will become Bihar if separated from Maharashtra.
What makes you think that politicians will be any differnt if Mumbai is separated from Maharashta ? What have the politicians from Mumbai done for Mumbai during this time of crisis ? Where was Govinda ? Where were Gurudas Kamat and Milind Deora ? Most of the people in Mumbai are outsiders and don't give a damn about Mumbai.
The government of Maharashtra has to do some deep analysis of the core issues and cause of the poor state of infrastructure. Spend some more money on Mumbai and get the infrastructure updated. Have a disaster plan and act upon it.
To be honest indians have to select the best amongst the worst when it comes to selecting government.
I just wish that mumbaikars can sustain their anger and bring all those dirty corrupt politians on the streets and throw them off from their power.What hurts me most is that we pay most of our hard earned money in tax and they are been very well used to comfort the life of those selfish politicians.
I hope some kind of revolution starts in india that can change the way things are now.
Even though people complain about the culture of european countries been not good but atleast life of each individual is valued there. The government atleast tries to make it worth for each penny paid as tax to the public.
I am quite surprised to read how everybody has turned the blame on the government. Isn´t the government made up of people from Mumbai or India in general?
I was in Mumbai last year for the first time. Although the city is full of life and a very exciting place to be, I was left shell shocked to see how people went about their lives in this city. I was almost run over twice because the ¨kings of the road with their cars and motorbikes did not mind stopping when the traffic signal went red; amidst the utter chaos of an utterly disorganized traffic, almost everybody was honking without reason. I am not going to draw any comparison s regarding how clean the city is. Too much has been said about it. This situation can also be found in other parts of the country, but the rich Mumbai sometimes seemed to me like a city of both rich and poor ill-mannered people. Yes, people.
they should have issued a forcast warning over tv & radio.letting public know about the heavy raining & flood warning...people would have been prepared for it,atleast..
Govt should take up measures with the weather department to ensure,people's safety..
atleast now,if they take measures about floods in future,we can avoid them.
..we should have a flood warning system..in every state..there are people's lives at stake here ...
so what,if this kind of situation occurs once in 50 years, we should still be prepared for it..