RE:dev-evergreen
by karan b on Sep 19, 2007 06:13 PM Permalink
Boss watch his pathetic movies directed by him like 'CENSOR','LOVE AT Times Square', Main Solah Barask Ki' and many others .....and then what u have to say ....
RE:RE:dev-evergreen
by Bhardwaj Velamakanni on Sep 29, 2007 10:20 AM Permalink
Boss I didnt watch them but I did watch Guide, Kalapani, Kala Bazar, Hum Dono, Prem Pujari, Taxi Driver and many more - And I do understand what Mohan is saying .. as of the junk he made in the last 2 decades, well he was off his prime and evry star has god bad movies towards the end of the career
Everyone is talking abt this topic, check this wat people comment on this. http://igoto.co.uk/m33 and I agree with this people they are right..! I hope you people like it..
I have seen so many heros of Hindi films, including Big B and even SRK, but no one could project that unique quality of a Chocolate Hero better than Devsaab !
RE:Chocolate Hero Dev
by SHREYA RANA on Sep 18, 2007 03:01 PM Permalink
Dev is Just Dev...... We salute Dev Anand..... yesterdays dev us todays salman....
This HFM icon never ran down pavement dwellers..shot at dumb animals...or took his shirt off at every public appearance..Kindly be a bit more prudent in your comparison or iconisation....
Our generation would not dare to disrespect a film icon like Dev Anand.. a trendsetter and a trailblazer for the Hindi Film Industry till date... There is an element of surprise associated, however in the fact that... A person who had acted in such thoroughly entertaining movies.. played a debonair, and the smartest detective even till the age when no one of his times would dare play a hero... Some films that still remain as Archives like Rahee, Taxi Driver, Tere ghar ke saamne, Sharaabi, Guide, Jewel Thief, Hum dono... Johny Mera Naam... A film maker who could produce such a strong social statement in a film like "Hare Rama Hare Krishna" & Desh Pardesh.... could actually produce movies like, Mr. Prime Minister, Awwal Number, Saheb Bahadur, Mahal.. etc...
Is he short of plots? Does it satisfy him to make movies of this category? Does he remember his old movies when he produces and directs such movies under NAVKETAN?
We love him for what he has been for my parents' generation and even our generation..but at the same time...it pains!!!
Guess there is no Gregory Peck around him now to inspire him the Mackenna's Gold...
Dev anand wants to make movies at this age it is good but he shuold also see what is taste of presend audineces are having..he should promote new talent and new ideas into his project. and i salute him for makeing a brave attempts to make movies at this age.i wish ur movie will be accpeted by indians at large and happily go from this world.
Why does no one in the film industry have the guts to tell this relic to stop making movies. He is so out of sync with time and sense. Can't someone just lock him up and spare us drivel like Mr. Prime Minister.. Please do not give ditties to movies he made some zillion years ago. You cannot claim to be a sportsman by saying you won a sack race when you were in school.
RE:Guts
by MUKESH on Sep 18, 2007 04:00 PM Permalink
Please do not b so arrogant i do not know your age, but think yourself where we we will be & how healthy when we turn 85. Devsaab is managing finance from his own sources and borrowing from any body as far as i know, he is not demanding finance from you. So why not keep quite and allow a person to work like a live wire at this age. I wish u also best of luck and request u to have positive attitude my dear FREIND. MUKESHH
by Totoman on Sep 18, 2007 05:13 PM Permalink
Typical responses without understanding my stance. Let us get rid of the emotion. The fact is his current movies (in fact all after Hare Rama Hare Krishna) are an embarassment to say the least.. Most of the times you just cannot fathom what he is trying to say...
Regarding finances.. that is a black hole.. how gets finances to fund his duds is a big mystery ??
I have no issue with his working at the age of 85. By Amighty's grace, let him work even when he is 125 !! but what he has to do should be relevant . He seems to live in an ivory tower which is best avoided.
by Totoman on Sep 18, 2007 05:42 PM Permalink
What is it that you have understood of "classics" like Swami Dada , Anand Aur Anand, Hum Naujawan, Sachche Ka Bol Bala, Lashkar, Awwal Number, Sau Crore, Gangster, Return of Jewel Thief, Censor, Aman Ke Farishtey ,Love at Times Square, Mr Prime Minister. They are sterling examples of some of the most inane trash ever produced.
And yes, please do not accuse of being an SRK supporter.
by Rajendra Bora on Sep 18, 2007 06:15 PM Permalink
Dev is really superb. His real worth is yet to be appreciated. Audiences loved this fellow who made films on diverse subjects as no other film maker could do in India. Those who are telling us that he is making "trash" lately are the ones, I believe, who have not cared to see the movies they have been criticising. Thanks to rediff for saluting the living legend.
RE:RE:Guts
by Totoman on Sep 18, 2007 05:55 PM Permalink
And by the way his last hit movie was way back in 1978 that is almost 30 years back.. which is why I am saying do not give ditties to movies he made some zillion years ago. You cannot claim to be a sportsman by saying you won a sack race when you were in school.
by Rajendra Bora on Sep 18, 2007 06:15 PM Permalink
Dev is really superb. His real worth is yet to be appreciated. Audiences loved this fellow who made films on diverse subjects as no other film maker could do in India. Those who are telling us that he is making "trash" lately are the ones, I believe, who have not cared to see the movies they have been criticising. Thanks to rediff for saluting the living legend.
by Totoman on Sep 18, 2007 06:22 PM Permalink
Bora, I am not sure how many people you would be able to round up who have seen the "classics" of Dev Anand..
by MUKESH on Sep 19, 2007 01:15 PM Permalink
Regarding Finance it's not our job. Govt.of India/Ministry of Finance/Income Tax Dept. will take care of the same
by ashish Kaldhone on Sep 20, 2007 03:21 PM Permalink
Totoman is supported from my end on certain points. One should do only what he/she is best doing at. Dev Saab's case is in acting & for Gods sake, not directing. I hope, he doesn't come out with with yet another humiliation of an art of direction.
by Totoman on Sep 20, 2007 05:05 PM Permalink
Thanks ashish..I am glad to see there are at least some people who look at things without getting completely emotional about the whole thing.
by dileep dongre on Sep 23, 2007 05:32 PM Permalink
Dev Anand gave us beautiful ideas to model our romance on , during our youth/college days. He was cute, stylish and charming.Gave simple , romantic movies then. True he embarressed the hell out of even a diehard Dev fan like me with his later movies. But will you please let it pass, and let us ( the fifty's generation)retain the nostalgic image of our hero ?
by Mukund on Sep 18, 2007 02:19 PM Permalink
SRK today's icon who is a copy cat of Deelip Kumar in acting and copy cat of fast dialogue delivery like Devanand is fine just because SRK is young. Dev was a great hero of olden days and respected by all may be including your parents. Would you appreciate if others insult your parents just because they are old? That way as per your theory, you will discard all the scientists like Newton and Einstain for their work just because they belonged to old era. You are just projecting your level and imatuarity by writing non sense on rediff.
by on Sep 18, 2007 12:22 AM Permalink
Mr. Totoman, Such arrogance will get you nowhere. People don't say it becoz they love him and out of respect (one which you totally are incapable of either giving or getting). He does not ask ungrateful and rude people like you to go watch his movies, he has said it several times that he makes movies for the pleasure of making movies and doesn't care about whether people like it or not. I bet people like you haven't seen the classics he has made or acted. Those who saw it and know this charming gentleman would never have come up with such inane statements. Learn how to respect the elder generation and thenyou just might get some respect.
by Venugopalan on Sep 18, 2007 02:25 PM Permalink
We should appreciate people like Dev Saab because even at his stage he is not thinking of retirement. Many from mr. totomans generation will retire before reaching half his (Dev) age. So simply ignore these samples.
by Samay Niti on Sep 18, 2007 02:20 PM Permalink
Mr. Totoman. You appear to be half man. And the other just trying to toto. Bing your sense into order. Then you will be able to appreciate.
by Varinder Talwar on Sep 25, 2007 12:51 PM Permalink
Is it not amazing that even at the age of 84 he is making movies and sending a message that age does not matter if determination is there.He also sends a message of maintaing good health at this age.Tell me a single from film industry who is working at this age.His record of working in indian cinema is marvelous.