Hassan is known for winning several Indian film awards, including National Film Awards and Filmfare Awards, and has the distinction of being the actor with the most number of films submitted by India in contest for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film. In addition to acting and directing, he is a screenwriter, lyricist, playback singer and choreographer.
Kamal is the only actor to receive four National Film Awards in India. He won his National awards for the films Nayagan, Moondram Pirai and Indian. He also won the national award for Best Child Actor for his performance in Kalathur Kannamma. He has also received the best actor award at the Asian Film festivals held in 1983 and 1985 for Saagara Sangamam and Swathi Muthyam respectively. Seven of his movies have been sent as India's official entry to the Oscars. Kamal has won the Filmfare awards 18 times. He was awarded the fourth highest recognition given to Indian civilians - the Padmashri in 1990. He was conferred an honorary doctorate by Sathyabama University, Chennai in 2005. Kamal was also conferred with a unique honour this year(2007) as "Living Legend" in the film business by FICCI,India. Kamal Hassan also was conferred the Nandi Award 20 times in his lifetime.
What more does he have to prove that he is the best in INDIA...... We all done big injustice to him.
RE:Who's overrated & not an actor?
by kiran shetty on Mar 20, 2008 03:46 PM Permalink
A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY.. A FOR AMITABH....A FOR AMIR.....A FOR AJAYYYYY..IN TEENO KE BEECH SHAHRUKH DIKHNEWALA BHI NAHIN..
If SRK is supposedly the most over rated Actor,Then how come he has given so many block busters?? Who goes to watch his films,ha??
Is it bcoz his movies r doing best business of the year,he becomes a bad actor??
Actors r nt supposed to be tailor made or follow some text book principle of acting.Like every good actor,SRK has his own style which is USP like say AB,Rajesh Khanna or Dilip kumar etc used to have which make movie goer luv to see on the big screen. In any case an actor is only as good as the movie the does & his director ask him to do. Also no actor can portray everything or look good doing all sort of characters,e,g Can Nasirudeen Shah or om puri replce SRK in DDLJ or AB replace Anil Kapoor in topori role in Ram Laxman??even can SRK replace an om puri in Art house movies?? The answer is a firm no.
There is one thing ,i'm pretty sure off, that is while lack of commercial suceess doesnt make a talented actor as a bad actor,but actors who hav commercial success are damn good in the acting skills.
Finally, never under estimate the intelligence of millions of movie goers who spend real money to buy tickets.Thank u.
RE:For All SRK Bashers.....
by Khambatta on Mar 20, 2008 03:02 PM Permalink
who told u that-any one ....goes to....watch SRKs movies & made it block buster for him????????? SRK's all block busters only for the announcement/TV reports &media-who made it block buster by written/verbally NOT ACTUALLY!SO BY THE NEXT FOR all awards should "GOES TO MEDIA" & THE PUBLICITY tactics TRICKS BY "YRF".
RE:For All SRK Bashers.....
by sunil on Mar 20, 2008 08:12 PM Permalink
NAHIN MERE DOST,YOU ARE WRO O O NG ,WITHOUT BACHAN THERE IS NO CINEMA,BACHAN IS GOD MAN,WE ALL PRAY HIM,WHEN HIS MOVIE COME WE LIGHT SANDAL ,AND THROW FLOWERS.HE IS THE ONLY GOD OF INDIAN CINEMA.srk only copy Big B.He does not actSR KHAN SHOULD HV BEEN A LAMBADA DANCER,TU MOVIE DHEKTA HAI KYA,MOVIE KE BARE MEIN KYA JANTA HAI,ARRE ARE YOU FROM CHINA?DO YOU KNOW WHAT IS ACTING,HOW MANY MOVIES HAVE YOU SEEN.SHAME ON YOU MAN.YOU THINK THIS , THIS SMALL S IS A GREAT MKTING GAY SORRY GUY,ARE YOU ALSO A G,Small s is very sell vegetables,milk think small s is the most irritating actor in Bollywood,he should have been a lawyer or dentist or computer engineer or cabaret dancer i don't know.when i see his movie or presentation i got some sort of bla bla,blou blou,rarararara,ougi .urgly ougiougiougiougiougiougi,patapatapatapatapatapata,some sort of futfutfutfutfutfutfutfutfutfut,i don't know some pikipikipikipikipikipiki,wagawagawagawagawaga,I think he make me like a pagal,Finally I have either to shut down my Tv ,leave theatre, If i continue to watch his movie .I will definetly spend two three hours in toilet cause my stomach get pouipouipouipoui glo glo glo puruk puruk puruk puruk puruk .Ponk Ponk Ponk PonkPonk PonkPonk Ponk.I have watched more that 50,000 movies but when it come to SMALL S ALIAS SRK I GET SICK,SORRY FAN OF SRK,I APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCOVENIENCE,WHAT I AM SAYING IS THE TRUTH AND ONLY THE TRUTH. I HAVE TALK ABT HIM I HAVE TO GO TO TOILET I AM GETTING blougblougblougblou
Who else than the King of overacting Mr. Shah Rukh and overated to the core and gets awards for his unbareable acting which is the worst part. People like Salman never get appreciated even for HAHK and Andaz apna apna which shows the disparity in the industry and favortism
His acting is so monotonous. He does not try new things. Always the role he plays has to suit his personality, on the other hand, Amir Khan, Kamal Hassan, Naseeruddin Shah and to an extent Amitabh Bachhan get into the role and act. Thats the difference. Definetly its Shah Rukh Khan . Last year, he getting an Business award for Best marketing for his film OSO is testimony to this "wifi bollywood .com"
RE:overrated actor
by Patrick on Mar 21, 2008 06:13 AM Permalink
Akshay's film directed by priyadarshan is not known as "akshay kumar's film", rather its known for priyadarshan.
Priyadarshan is the first director to give akshay a chance in comic roles aftr his action khilladi and romantic roles. From then on, his comedy movies wer huge hits, so he stuck to tht image.
Akshay is only overrated in all comedy movies directed by brainless directors who call themselves funny, except for priyadarshan.