It is none other than 'King Khan'.It is as if media are being paid for his promotion directly or indirectly.Any way,it is unfortunate to give such a hype to a one dimensional actor.
there are no great actors...there are only great films....it all depends on the directors...cameramen..editors..etc.what we see is the final product which has been well manipulated before shown to us...hence on one hand we see a subdued and clinical performance by SRK in Swades / Dil se...while on the other hand we see him Hamming up in om shanti om...and moreover people like SRK / Rajnikant are not supposed to be "actors" they are supposed to be "stars" and ask anybody in the world what they would prefer to be...
RE:every actor is overrated
by nikes on Mar 20, 2008 10:14 PM Permalink
I endorses your view. Shahrukh khan is not an actor but a "star." Indian audience goes to movie to watch "The Star" and not the acting.
If SRK is supposedly the most over rated Actor,Then how come he has given so many block busters?? Who goes to watch his films,ha??
Is it bcoz his movies r doing best business of the year,he becomes a bad actor??
Actors r nt supposed to be tailor made or follow some text book principle of acting.Like every good actor,SRK has his own style which is USP like say AB,Rajesh Khanna or Dilip kumar etc used to have which make movie goer luv to see on the big screen. In any case an actor is only as good as the movie the does & his director ask him to do. Also no actor can portray everything or look good doing all sort of characters,e,g Can Nasirudeen Shah or om puri replce SRK in DDLJ or AB replace Anil Kapoor in topori role in Ram Laxman??even can SRK replace an om puri in Art house movies?? The answer is a firm no.
There is one thing ,i'm pretty sure off, that is while lack of commercial suceess doesnt make a talented actor as a bad actor,but actors who hav commercial success are damn good in the acting skills.
Finally, never under estimate the intelligence of millions of movie goers who spend real money to buy tickets.Thank u.
RE:For All SRK Bashers.....
by santosh satpathy on Mar 20, 2008 10:16 PM Permalink
Do u think that other actors dont do marketing?? And u think everybody is so foolish that they get caught in SRKs marketing gimmicks.its time for u to grow up or u r just baised for personal reasons which has nothing to do with facts.
RE:For All SRK Bashers.....
by anupam saini on Mar 20, 2008 10:15 PM Permalink
you seems to be a kkkkkkkiiiiiirrrrraaaaannnnnn fan. He is not a good actor to be frank, he does overacting in almost all his films. But he surely is a good Entertainer.
RE:RE:For All SRK Bashers.....
by santosh satpathy on Mar 20, 2008 10:18 PM Permalink
smart ass1, most ppl go to movies for entertainment.For them ther is no differnece between a good entertainment & acting.
Year Title Role Notes 1992 Deewana Raja Sahai Winner, Filmfare Best Male Debut Award Chamatkar Sunder Srivastava Raju Ban Gaya Gentleman Raju (Raj Mathur) Dil Aashna Hai Karan 1993 Maya Memsaab Lalit Kumar King Uncle Anil Baazigar Ajay Sharma/Vicky Malhotra Winner, Filmfare Best Actor Award Darr Rahul Mehra Nominated, Filmfare Best Villain Award 1994 Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa Sunil Winner, Filmfare Critics Award for Best Performance Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award Anjaam Vijay Agnihotri Winner, Filmfare Best Villain Award 1995 Karan Arjun Arjun Singh/Vijay Zamana Deewana Rahul Malhotra Guddu Guddu Bahadur Oh Darling! Yeh Hai India Hero Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge Raj Malhotra Winner, Filmfare Best Actor Award Ram Jaane Ram Jaane Trimurti Romi Singh/Bholey 1996 English Babu Desi Mem Vikram/Hari/Gopal Mayur Chaahat Roop Rathore Army Arjun Special appearance Dushman Duniya Ka Badru 1997 Gudgudee Special appearance Koyla Shanker Yes Boss Rahul Joshi Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award Pardes Arjun Saagar Dil To Pagal Hai Rahul Winner, Filmfare Best Actor Award 1998 Duplicate Bablu Chaudhry/Manu Dada Nominated, Filmfare Best Villain Award Achanak Himself Special appearance Dil Se Amarkant Varma Dubbed into Tamil as Uyire Dubbed into Telugu as Prema Tho Kuch Kuch Hota Hai Rahul Khanna Winner, Filmfare Best Actor Award 1999 Baadshah Raj 'Baadshah'Heera Nominated, Filmfare Best Comedian Award 2000 Phi
RE:SRK
by Gurghantal Singh on Mar 20, 2008 10:09 PM Permalink
1999 Baadshah Raj 'Baadshah'Heera Nominated, Filmfare Best Comedian Award 2000 Phir Bhi Dil Hai Hindustani Ajay Bakshi Hey Ram Amjad Ali Khan Simultaneously made into Tamil as Hey Ram India's official entry to the Oscars Josh Max Har Dil Jo Pyar Karega Rahul Special appearance Mohabbatein Raj Aryan Malhotra Winner, Filmfare Critics Award for Best Performance Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award Gaja Gamini Shahrukh Special appearance 2001 One 2 Ka 4 Arun Verma Asoka Asoka Dubbed into Tamil as Samrat Ashoka Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham Rahul Raichand Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award 2002 Hum Tumhare Hain Sanam Gopal Devdas Devdas Mukherjee Winner, Filmfare Best Actor Award India's official entry to the Oscars Shakti: The Power Jaisingh Special appearance Saathiya Yeshwant Rao Special appearance 2003 Chalte Chalte Raj Mathur Kal Ho Naa Ho Aman Mathur Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award 2004 Yeh Lamhe Judaai Ke Dushant Main Hoon Na Maj. Ram Prasad Sharma Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award Veer-Zaara Veer Pratap Singh Nominated, Filmfare Best Actor Award Swades Mohan Bhargava Winner, Filmfare Best Actor Award Dubbed into Tamil as Desam 2005 Kuch Meetha Ho Jaaye Himself Special appearance Kaal Special appearance in song Kaal Dhamaal Silsiilay Sutradhar Special appearance Paheli Kishen/The Ghost India's official entry to the Oscars The Inner and Outer World of Shah Rukh Khan Himself (Biopic) Documentary directed by Briti
RE:RE:SRK
by Gurghantal Singh on Mar 20, 2008 10:14 PM Permalink
If you see the list, in most of the movies his co-actors are excelled than him but still in those movies he was nominee for filmfare award.I think he is just one lucky guy...
He is most funniest actor in film industry. He is more toward his name expansion intead of doing some acting. One of his interview, he told that I always teach my son to be at top that he is always in race of top. Now a days he is busy in his night rider stuff, he is there to make money & fame. He really doesnt care about acting, what he wants is to show some style & other stuff in movies to be in top. I really dont understand why people are crazy about him. I think this called as destiny.