Total 919 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Difficult to have one national language.
by Jayashri Chaudhari on Nov 23, 2008 07:45 PM  Permalink 

I would say Jaya Bacchan should have been careful about her word of choice. Do we marathi people have freedom to talk in marathi in UP? NO. Go to south and try speaking hindi, people wont allow you, coz they simply dont understand it. So why Marathi people has to learn hindi? I guess marathi people are loosing their identity by allowing all these hindi intrusion.

Country like India where there are so many different cultures and languages are, its very difficult to have one national language. And I am certainly against making hindi as national language. Coz I dont see a reason why it should be hindi then? why not marathi, bengali, telagu?

Contraversy Bread earner
by Sandeep Mitra on Oct 11, 2008 09:18 AM  Permalink 

Contraversy to these Celebs Comes so easily. Yes the strategy is for popularity and to earn big bucks. But these remarks, devides our nation.If we want ever lasting peace then we should not devide instead unite as Indians.

Arre Bhaiya Srivastav Bhojpuri bhi bolegaa
by Truth Be Told on Sep 12, 2008 05:20 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Kudos to Raj Thackeray. Now that he has lit one big fire under the shifty Srivastav bum, Srivastav ab agar zaroorat padhe to Bhojpuri bhi bolega aur pair bhi pad jayega. Ab aayi oont pahad ke neeche, kyo bhaiya ka bolot!! Samjhat ki nahin!

Re: Arre Bhaiya Srivastav Bhojpuri bhi bolegaa
by vijay pawar on Sep 13, 2008 12:43 PM  Permalink
Go back to her earlier remark which said that she does not know who is Raj Thakare, and now that the Marathi people to excuse her for not using Marathai language for addressing. What is she proving by saying this?

In fact this is not her brain child, but she is surely doing this under influence and to please someone.

Marathi Manoos will rise on all occassions whether big or small as Mumbai should not become the Story of the Arab & the Camel for the Marathi Manoos.

Integrity of INDIA in danger
by z on Sep 12, 2008 01:58 PM  Permalink 

At times when Maharashtra was baffled with rain and Sunami raided south India; it was the whole country who stood up to help; religion/language/location was nowhere at that time. Why people forget such humanitarian act?? Is this remark worse than Thackrey's remark to Biharis or North Indians????? Think.

mind your language!!
by ratna dhar on Sep 12, 2008 11:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Language is a means of communication;one should only be concerned with the correctness of the language in use. Being citizens of a democratic country we have the right to speak in any language that is official. as long as one respects the unity of India,one knows that HINDI is THe language after that is WHATEVER you choose to talk in just as where ever you may choose to live. Let Maharashtra's loss be some one elses gain!!! Any state would with open arms accept performers of the stature of the Bachhans. To the ordinary citizen of any other country(I speak from experience)India is the land of Gandhi and Amitabh Bachhan!!!There are no people in between!!

Re: Re: mind your language!!
by Jayashri Chaudhari on Nov 23, 2008 07:53 PM  Permalink
Being a citizen of country as Jaya bacchan has right to speak in hindi as you suggest, do we maharastrians have the same right to speak in marathi else where in india, especially in UP? Who made hindi a national language? since when? and why it should be hindi?

and what on the earth amitabh bachhan has done for india on societal level, that you say that its a land of amitabh bacchan? he didnt even pay income tax. what kind of service is that towards country? Is india such a shallow and dumb country that we idolize so much a movie star? i have no idea where the india is heading. for sure not in a right direction.

To Speak in the Language of the Locals
by Mac on Sep 12, 2008 09:45 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I think Maharashtra is the only state which is lenient in this regard. If you go to Karnataka, Tamilnadu, Kerala, Andhrapradesh, you will see that they will thrash you up if you don't learn their language. Even the signboards should have large fonts of the local language than the other language. Jaya Bachan being a prominent figure was absolutely wrong in saying that she is from UP and therefore she will speak in Hindi and to top it all she had the audacity to say "iske liye Maharashtra mujhe maaf kare" It clearly shows she was taking potshots at the people of Maharashtra. I am a catholic but I insist people staying in Maharashtra should atleast learn to speak in Marathi.

Re: Re: To Speak in the Language of the Locals
by anil verma on Sep 12, 2008 10:45 AM  Permalink
Dear friend,its is on your wish in andhra,tamilnadu,kerala to learn their language or speak in common language hindi or english.if you ever get chance to come over delhi, you will find that local language is hindi but people talk in many regional language and english.Don't you think that raj thakray is doing wrong politics by torturing weak and poor's from bihar and criticising soft targets(celebs).

Re: To Speak in the Language of the Locals
by Guest on Sep 13, 2008 05:32 AM  Permalink
its not about in which language she talked / should talk ,also she hasen't used any bad word, but her intentions or u can say feelings whatsoever she showing was to tease particular region's language speaking people .
therefore she has faced lot .....
i think she should do some kind of meditation to give up hateradness

by Suddhasheel Ghosh on Oct 10, 2008 09:37 PM  Permalink
When an Indian goes abroad, he talks in Hindi or any other Indian language with his/her friends. Are we so foolish that we can't draw a parallel?

Re: Re: To Speak in the...
by shivram v on Oct 10, 2008 11:55 PM  Permalink
Arrey Mac babu,if u go to A.P. or karnataka u can many people understanding hindi and they respect other languages .Also one can easily manage without learning Telugu in A.P. as it is not compulsory subject from class I to Intermediate(10 2) stage.It is the only statae which does not force any body to learn telugu.Now the second largest spoken language in India,Telugu, is in such a danger that it is stadily losing its language and strength and soon willd ie and become extinct by 2050 if the same trend continues.So u better correct urself about the facts.Do not write abt unkwon things from next time onwards and mislead people.

by amitha k on Sep 12, 2008 04:28 PM  Permalink
Sab teek hai. But y did u mention that u r catholic?

by shivram v on Oct 10, 2008 11:57 PM  Permalink
thats really a good q man!!

Mrs. Jaya Bachachan%u2019s statement
by Guest on Sep 12, 2008 09:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My Name is Maya Yadav. We have been In USA about 40 years. American government has never asked us to pay charity or take care of the particular state which we are living in neither American government tell us that we should not speak in our mother tongue in our Indian gatherings. We work here and pay our taxes to American and local governments. Whatever else we do with our money. It is our choice. We give lots of donation to Indian people and Indian organizations who come here for different causes. Not only we give the money to Indian people, we deduct the money we gave to Indian and Indian organizations, in our income tax. American Government does not questions to us, why did we pay our money to Indian people or Indian organizations, we are working in America. But we also give charity to the local organizations. I am trying to say that Mr. Amitabh Bachhan must be paying his taxes to local and Maharashtra government. Whatever movies he is making the state must be benefitting from it. I am sure Maharashtra is not paying for him for making movies, the whole world is paying for movies by watching them. Mr. Raj Thackeray should understand that Bombey city and Maharashtra state is economically well because of all these people have come here from other state and they are working hard to be successful because they are successful, Bombey is successful. Can Mr. Thackeray run movie industry by him self? If he can then I urge all those people to leave Bombey and go somewhere else

Re: Mrs. Jaya Bachachan%u2019s statement
by preeti rawle on Sep 13, 2008 03:00 PM  Permalink
Dear , IT is not the question of paying taxes and talking a marathi. These people are not evan care for the local people the donate there money for there state aparat from that Mumbai has its own capacity by all means Mumbai is already overburden the people so it is must to give the local people 1st preference to work here. "though Mrs. Bucchan said that I am from UP and I will talk in Hindi Cant she say that Hindi is our National langauage and we will talk in Hindi it is realy necesaary to make such Regionalism satement. so Marathi people must get there right back mam
ok.

by Mahi on Sep 13, 2008 03:31 PM  Permalink
Amitabh and Sharuk are staying in Mumbai b'cos it is a part of India. How foolish of Thakres to question their right to stay there? And ofcourse when they stay there and excel in their respective fields all are benefited.I thinks had the Govt. acted properly both the Uncle and Nephew would have been behind the bar for their unsocial and unlawful remarks.

by Guest on Sep 13, 2008 05:30 AM  Permalink
its not about in which language she talked / should talk ,also she hasen't used any bad word, but her intentions or u can say feelings whatsoever she showing was to tease particular region's language speaking people .

People should have freedom to choose their language
by Jitendra Kumar on Sep 12, 2008 01:37 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I think everybody has right to speak the languages what they like. They should not be any restriction.

Any I dont see any issue here for MNS. Actually MNS is playing in the hand of Congress nothing else. People of maharashtra should understand it.

Re: People should have freedom to choose their language
by Arkotak on Sep 12, 2008 07:23 AM  Permalink
She can speak in which ever language....But why link Maharashtrians when she speak in Hindi??? Thats insulting and rubbing it in...

by Mahi on Sep 13, 2008 03:21 PM  Permalink

Yes she was rubbing the people of Maharastrians who are dictating people of other provinces to speak in the local language. How is possible to speak in the language which you don't know. Maharastrian is not a pan Indian language like Hindi.Even people of Maharastra show disrespect to their language when they come out of their state. Sons of Raj are studing in English medium schools and have opted for German as an optional language.

by Guest on Sep 13, 2008 05:31 AM  Permalink

Jaya's comment is not acceptable
by Himadri Shekhar Roy on Sep 11, 2008 10:00 PM  Permalink 

Before asking anyone to do something Mrs. Jaya Bachhan should first check her home because her hubby, son and daughter in law are always seen speaking in english and who the hell is she to ask priyanka and Shristi to speak in hindi. Apne body pe bhais naach raha hai woh dikhai nai deta dusrae ke body mein lice shoondne chale.

why not Hindi!
by Priyanka Shah on Sep 11, 2008 08:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I think every person in India should ONLY speak Hindi. it is the national language afterall! BY involving other languages , there r more complications created!! so just speak HINDI!!
n btw... freedom of speech... come again!?!?!?!

Re: why not Hindi!
by Arkotak on Sep 12, 2008 07:24 AM  Permalink
Who are you to tell us Priyanka? it is a Democracy... jaya can speak in which ever language...we dont care...as long as she does not link her choice of language to Maharastrians

Re: why not Hindi!
by nakul on Sep 12, 2008 02:55 AM  Permalink
fyi..Hindi is not the national language of India.It has been adopted as the official language by the govt. of India.India doesn't have a national language.

Total 919 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>