It really cannot matter if a person is rich or poor. A man can eat only what his small stomach permits. The problem is usually caused by rich people who throw away food. Indians are taught never to leave food on their plate. So Indians are not responsible for food crisis. In fact most part of India itself is under food crisis, where poor people donot have money to have food. US surely seems to be a culprit because of their BioFuel usage.
RE:Real Issue
by bhanu joshi on May 06, 2008 08:38 PM Permalink
Indians r told to speak truth......so r all our politicians goin by ur logic... :-) NOM
Our greed for making a fast buck is the root cause for such food shortage. Our Poor farmers are lured by the vested intrests to part with their land for a few lakhs and they fall prey to such quick money. Our government should put a ban on construction in the agricultural land and also take strict action who contrusts building in agricultural land. Farmers should be given all incentives to produce more goods instead of luring them with fast buck for sale of their land. If rumours are to be believed Dawood has pumped almost 2500 crores of black money into the real estate business and he has spread his wings across south India especially Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka where the land prices have gone up like anything. This has also made the rich farmers lazy and they now sleep over loads of easy cash which they have amassed by surreptitious dealings (more in black money) by selling of their land, more often in piece meal. More over the government is encourging to have SEZs all over the country in lush green areas (not remote areas where infrasture is absent) and this is going to have a major impact on the availability of land for agricultural purpose. At the end we will be left with only malls and SEZs but no land to cultivate. Unless this trend is arrested India is going to face severe food crisis in the months or years to come. Aping too much West is going to take a heavy toll on the lives of the common people. A state like Kerala where the Industrialists fear to tread
Has anyone even noticed how conveniently food prices have gone up for all staples consumed by the poor man in poor countrues BUT.....price of Coffee has not gone up since its consumed only by the common in the West? chee I wonder how this crisis started and who doctored the crisis in the first place.
RE:What about Coffee?
by harish babu on May 05, 2008 09:55 PM Permalink
Coffee prices are not going up because Indians and Chinese prefer Tea!If they switch over to Coffee you will see its price sky rpcketing.Dont blame Bush for the price rise.It is indians and Chinease who are breeding like rats!!
RE:oerg
by varghese on May 05, 2008 08:17 PM Permalink
all rice farms in India run on diesel,petrol,oil,kerosene..all these prices have risen from 25 to 120$ a barrel..
The arabs have decided to trade in Euros and keep USD out of business...this way they are trying to wreck USA and this means all Democratic,secular countries will suffer because of arabia and their islam..
by raju on May 05, 2008 08:51 PM Permalink
Mr. Varghese I think you do not read news and concentrate only to bash Islam.Let me tell you that all the gulf countries who are producing Oil are trading in dollars.Iran and venezuela are trading instead of euros.Dont bash Islam for anything and everything.
by Meow on May 05, 2008 08:03 PM Permalink
Nitin, unfortunately the farmers do not earn, it is the middlemen who get the most money. I have farmer friends who say it is a big gamble because sometimes you do not even get the cost price (or price of growing)
RE:real facts r here........
by YoBro on May 05, 2008 08:00 PM Permalink
well said, and then they can't stand it when the Bush points it out. Everyone from PM to all the useless politicians are out of shape, terrible eaters. Same goes to the whole of India. Bush has a valid point.
RE:RE:real facts r here........
by rajeev krishnan on May 05, 2008 08:34 PM Permalink
Varghese u need to work on your facts or look at the past history. US is one way or the other have been in WAR for last 50 years. How can u be so ruthless and compare India with US. US is 3 times bigger than India and 1/4 in population compared to India. Even with this stats India is still able to manage / promote her resources through out the world with different religion / race / caste systems exsitence. West have looted us in past and now its done by business men with black money, this will be tackled today or 2morrow; we need to wait till then. Dont imagine govt / all politicians are corroupt, there might be few who really cares for the country which is a ray of hope.
RE:RE:RE:real facts r here........
by on May 05, 2008 09:34 PM Permalink
Varghese can't be more Moronic & they can only look after citizen where they have national interest(nothing wrong with that though) but its citizens are still rotting in New Orleans, thanks to Bush & the new Christians who speaks truth they are still debating about Darwin in Florida & polygamy in TX & Rajeev if US does goes to War you would have been chatting in German or Japanese now. India is no superpower as its a service oriented country(but not that it can't become one)& hugely depended on US economics.. so get over the the Indian alter-Ego
by Sweety on May 05, 2008 08:07 PM Permalink
And the other point that is to be noted is that they cheat the government in taxes. They cheat the banks with fake documents and acquire loans for their business.
RE:RE:real facts r here........
by Saravanan Subramanian on May 05, 2008 08:14 PM Permalink
I could understand one thing from this non-sense post. If a society is developing, there are bunch of people abuses out of jeolosy ... this is actually a kind of appreciation.
by Saravanan Subramanian on May 05, 2008 08:12 PM Permalink
Prince (and a religious fanatic Varghese), How do you statistically base your statement?