Total 706 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>
Dark side of the jobs boom in India
by Smita Mahajan on May 01, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is really one of the best article / news I have read. I just couldn't stop writing on this subject.

One of the nature rule is that not all human beings having same mind,talent,brain etc. Accordingly it's not possible for everybody to persue degree from premier institutes.

What remain is to have a qualification as per choice & get a job for survival of life.

In my 13 years of experince I have been a continous victim of such kind. There is not clear job description, bosses are adamnt, reporting structure are different, some time one has to report to 2-3 different bosses at a time. For a business person its easy to report to shareholders,customers etc but for a ordinary emplyoee it's difficult to survive in this environment.

Lack of vision,absence of goals,fiery competition for success is leading to the situation mentioned in the article.

Competition among human kind will lead to destruction of human kind itself !

RE:Dark side of the jobs boom in India
by Sandip Biswas on May 01, 2008 12:44 PM  Permalink
Absolutely correct.As per Swami Vivekananda, only "cooperation" and not "competition",will lead to survival of human civilisation.

SANDIP

RE:RE:Dark side of the jobs boom in India
by amit srivastava on May 01, 2008 12:02 PM  Permalink
Its really difficult to handle growing pressure among colleagues/ appraisals by boss and competition among ur friends.
Life is becoming harder day by day.

Work, work ....
by sam on May 01, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink 

Seems like keep working but enjoy the fruits of your labor in your next life! People employed in BPO and private sector (still elite compared to majority of population) are supposed to be reaping benefits of economic boom due to liberalization (remember India shining)??

Decision are taken by self no one can thrust decision on you..
by IndiraMahapatra mahapatra on May 01, 2008 11:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

One reason why such things are happening is that most people to earn a quick buck or two change there core fields and later realise the mistake they made.I personelly feel one should sort out career paths and understand what one wants to do rather than run for some quick bucks nad then realise that all the effort was futile.In my case i happen to be a ECE graduate..got into this IT lure in 2003 and was paid much better than my counter parts who stuck to there core field.But after few weeks or training I started to realise how touch the whole thing was and at the end of 2005 i quit the industry and was back to core (electronics) and 3 years down the line i feel really good about the decision I made.

In another case one of my friends was working for around 12K for a BPO,and was very happy with frndz and family around.After attending an interview with citibank he was lured into a pay pack of around 6 lacs and the location was mumbai.Now this poor guy earning 12K per month suddenly found himself worth Rs 50K,and joined the company.Within 2 weeks he realised that the job was not worth as he were to translate latin language into English in the wee hours working from 6 in the evening to 4 in the morning with no cab pick up or drop...now he is back and back into the previous company..we can have thousands and thousands of such examples..but at the end of the day ..one takes decisions and needs to stand by it wihtout holding responsible any person

RE:Decision are taken by self no one can thrust decision on you..
by amit srivastava on May 01, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink
Hi
I work for tata motors.
I joined as a GET after passing from REC.
Many of my batchmets left tata motors and went to software consultancy & IT companies for hike of 10 to 12 thousand only, but now all are regretting. What i noticed we belong to a class where when we grow up we need respect and money.
Many of my friends dont see clear career path at the age of 40 or 45 in IT sector, while in core manufacturing if ur good u will be having a good growth and respect at latter stage, even u might be earning 5 to 7 thousand less than ur batchmates no issue, in the long run thing which pays most to u is ur decision for JOB selection and stability, Dont just jump for 6 month overseas posting or get attracted by Madding young crowd.
Thats It

by Faceless Indian on May 01, 2008 12:00 PM  Permalink
Welcome to a capitalist economy.... money talks and thats the bottom line. Love it or faint - its here to stay. And trust me - this is the beginning.

by ashokan nambiar on May 01, 2008 12:00 PM  Permalink
you are putting too much onus on an individual and simplifying the issue where a larger question is raised...

DONOT SELL
by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 11:52 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

dear all

Donot sell your agricultural land for getting jobs, if you have.

you will loose your land and also your job too.

RE:DONOT SELL
by Kvins on May 01, 2008 12:06 PM  Permalink
Actually very right... tommorrow .. I may not have the luxuries that I have today .. but If I have land I can always work and get some food to eat

by Sandip Biswas on May 01, 2008 12:40 PM  Permalink
Selling of ancestral land , in indian perception, indicates " selling own's mother".
Because of capitalists' aggression on Indian soil this basic Indian ethic has eroded from the minds of common Indian and playing as a game to the capitalists.

Sandip

by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 12:08 PM  Permalink

thanks for agreeing.

this is what exactly LOrd Krishna told in bhagavad Gita (krishi, go raksha, vanijyam)

on has to do agriculture withthe help of cows and bulls, take grains and milk products and stay happy.

by on May 01, 2008 12:04 PM  Permalink
Absolutely correct.I am a software engineer but i love agriculture as my profession but in the current situation it is not profitable.I am always ready to go back my fathers'agricultural land at any time .. we should prepare for it

This is a subjective issue, but power abuse by managers is rampant
by timepass on May 01, 2008 11:51 AM  Permalink 

The issue is subjective. Some amount of elasticity is expect of workers and also some common sense judgement in expected of managers. I know managers who have even made their subordinates run personal errands. It comes down to judgement and by and large work assignments should be commensurate to roles.

Dark Side of Job Boom
by Venkadatri Rajnarayan on May 01, 2008 11:51 AM  Permalink 

I myself has been victim of politics in business and for this my brother has to work in call centre of 4 p.m 3.a.m schedule etc. That's what in India's Best HRD( D Stands for Destruction) Practice. That's why we floods, Tsunami, Earthquakes thanks to our corporates off record employment and dirty politics

RE:INDIAN SECULAR UNION SHOULD BE DISSOLVED
by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink

by such dividing, will torture of the employee be stopped???

donot write rubbish

quality of graduates
by rgopi on May 01, 2008 11:49 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

There are millions of colleges mushroomed in India which lead to the below.
Students have no study habits they are averse to books and love the internet. The standards 12 years ago was highly intellectual and academic, was lightyears ahead of the current trend

Irrespective of their knowledge and scores, there is a TCS and Infosys to hire them. This leads to overconfidence and decline in academic standards
Most of them are unsuited for tests like Advanced GRE which measures your precise knowledge. Scientific approach to problem solving is lacking

English is a big zero despite the hype about the largest English speaking population. The average graduate vocaublary including the articles and prepositions is 50 words.

Youngsters should realise that academic years are when the brain is most fertile and should develop it to maximum

The earliest career years between 20-25 years is when you learn in and out of your job. Career is a product of your education, training and experience. Never mind the starting pay.

Rolling stones gather no moss. The current trend to is jobswitch every six months. By the end of the project the team is afresh.

IT and ITES companies do not offer careers to 90% of the staff it is just a mundane coders work where you dont learn anything beyond a certain time. Graudally pay stagnates and you are terminated. Donot get carried away by the pay.

Parents need to be kicked for they create emulation in chidlren about high salaries in IT companies

RE:quality of graduates
by rgopi on May 01, 2008 12:10 PM  Permalink
FROM YOUR ENGLISH

RE:RE:quality of graduates
by rgopi on May 01, 2008 01:05 PM  Permalink
boss it is a sarcasm not a statistic, India is stuck with oedipus complex, parental ideas reek of adult hypocrisy, getting out of the parental mode is the step to adult maturity, wanna challenge me in psychology

by anupam chouksey on May 01, 2008 12:09 PM  Permalink
i think the writer is correct. Reality always bites. A Mechanical Graduate who can earn a package of 5-6 lac easily is happy with 2-3 lac package of software or ITES industry only because he get the job early and then he leaves the studies also.

by rgopi on May 01, 2008 12:15 PM  Permalink
thanks friend, the above replies to my message shows the frozen mentality of Indians where they cannot takeup constructive criticism. As a Head of Div I interview scores of people. My statements are based on practical observations not just out of the sky.

by rgopi on May 01, 2008 12:12 PM  Permalink
MAY BE YOUR ENGLISH IS GOOD, NOT EVERY ONE ELSE'S

by Indian on May 01, 2008 12:56 PM  Permalink
Mr. RGOPI,
Dont u feel that your boasting about urself is overshadowing your otherwise good ideas?

by rgopi on May 01, 2008 01:03 PM  Permalink
sorry for the impression I have created about boasting, it is pure self defense, I in no way intended to bring GRE scores in the defense but was forced to. When i meant the vocabulary was 50 odd I meant it as a sarcasm not a precise statistic.

by kinjal gandhi on May 01, 2008 12:01 PM  Permalink
u typed only one sentence and even in that there spelling mistake thats where he gets his info "FROM"

by rgopi on May 01, 2008 12:12 PM  Permalink
My GRE score was 680 out of 700 you DUMBSTERS first polish your english, parents contribute to their chidlren's downfall via greed. My spelling errors are typo because of the hurry

by satyajit chatterjee on May 01, 2008 12:01 PM  Permalink
sahi hai...I support ur second part of comment...over-generalisation

by vic on May 01, 2008 12:14 PM  Permalink
It is true that there are lot of substandard education in india.I 100% agree with it.
education system in india is very poor and below standards youth.

RE:atleast people r getting jobs............earlier qualified people in India had no jobs.......no future.........today they have options.......
by Suprio Choudhury on May 01, 2008 11:55 AM  Permalink
yes, thats the bottom line. people are at least getting jobs. its better than eating grass as your food (people are alive eating grass in some states in India)

RE:atleast people r getting jobs............earlier qualified people in India had no jobs.......no future.........today they have options.......
by satyajit chatterjee on May 01, 2008 12:07 PM  Permalink
Absolutely correct...
I v seen persons with limited capabilities climbing over the ladders of expectations at the very beginning. In these cases, there is a fear of falling badly.

THE PLIGHT OF A GIRL
by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 11:47 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

1. the girl child is killed right in the womb

2. if the girl is sent to school, the teacher will molest her

3. if sent to college, they face eve teasing

4. if go for jobs, sexual harrasments

5. at all times the danger of rape looms large on them

the vedas say that girl should always be protected by father, brother, husband, and son.

where it is said that she will be protected by school, college, company etc.

people donot follow vedas which is simple. but rather want to have a bitter experience and accept the vedas.

SUFFER!!

RE:THE PLIGHT OF A GIRL
by sunny sehgal on May 01, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink
my god

either u are demented or watching too many movies or may be our silly news channel.

Man , world is not as bleak as what u portray here for the fairer sex. Life has its shades of gray and good and evil exist together....... may be vedas do mention that.

have a chill pill ;)

by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 12:00 PM  Permalink

vedas do mention grey part of life

but it also recommends the ultimate solution.

when you follow, there is no more grey in your life.

hope you got it!!!!

by aamy sandhu on May 01, 2008 11:53 AM  Permalink
dude ure on a diff plane ... lol ..

by Rakesh on May 01, 2008 12:15 PM  Permalink
i think what he is trying to say is dont send the girl child to work father and brother should instead work and safe gaurd the firl child in this case the Smita Rajan (name changed), an MBA......

rakesh

by PKN on May 01, 2008 12:03 PM  Permalink
Stop watching NDTV / IBN-CNN.
Within 4~ 6 weeks you will notice a marked improvement in you mental state .

by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 12:05 PM  Permalink

you are correct

because i stopped watching movies, NDTV, CNN IBN, i could understand the import of vedas properly.

followers of vedas will take essence. they donot cry on details like you people.

hope you understood.

by Indian on May 01, 2008 12:47 PM  Permalink
Its u is crying and sremaning as I see an outsider on board..chill man, seems u recently got mesmerised by Vedas, they were there when u were a kid and they were there when u werent even born...

RE:RE:THE PLIGHT OF A GIRL
by siva krishna on May 01, 2008 01:18 PM  Permalink
thats why i am asking you to follow

Total 706 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>