Private sector employees gets salary hike without the notice of public..I know quite a few of my friends working IT companies (infosys,wipro) where they say , just reach office , go to library, canteen or even A/c dormitories are available , relax and back to home .. at the end of month get 30 to 40 K as salary.. Also they get sodexo coupons, petrol coupons, and so many allowance without any work..whereas in govt sector many employess (except few) works and hardly get any salary hike..their hike in salary is published so many times in all media/ news paper and magazines as if it is every day given..can anyone tell that even senior officers working in govt sector cannot afford to buy a flat / house in metro cities whereas a lowermost engineer working in IT can book a flat for 60 lakhs or so.. it is a shame if any one dislikes this pay commission which is once in 10 years..
RE:6th Pay Commission
by Viz Narayan on Mar 24, 2008 02:59 PM Permalink
It is none of your business what IT companies pay and what work they do. They are the highest income tax contributors in the country unlike you blood sucking leeches. PS: Do you even know what bench strength means? Every IT company is supposed to keep x % of employees in bench so as to be prepared for upcoming projects.
RE:RE:RE:6th Pay Commission
by venkat kumar on Mar 24, 2008 03:18 PM Permalink
Similarly u don't have a business to interfere in Govt. pay commission for Govt. Employees. We too pay income tax without cheating any body as it is deducted automatically from our salary
RE:6th Pay Commission
by Viz Narayan on Mar 24, 2008 03:22 PM Permalink
You blood sucking leeches take what ever you want. Do you want it directly transferred from my account. let me know.
RE:RE:6th Pay Commission
by Story editor on Mar 24, 2008 03:03 PM Permalink
Swaminathan,
Your knowledge about IT industry is wrong. It companies make their engineers slog and the money they give is 1/50th of the money they earn from their clients.
If no one worked then the clients are not fools to pay the companies in dollars.
Yes govt people should get more money but based on performance. You cannot deny that government employees are more of less ineffcient.
All these guyes who say Govt employes do not work should justify the following:- 1. Why has India not yet been Invaded again? 2. How do trains run, mostly on time to take you to work and for buissness? 3. How come we still have water supply and electricity? 4. How come there are roads? 5. How come we have nuclear weapons and sataillites? 6. How come our money in nationalised banks safe?
It is easy to blame an entire community just because you paid bribe to somebody. But there are a lots and lots of honest Govt Servants who toil at very less pay and provide service. All of our scintiest in ISRo can easely get a job in NASA. Our railways is the biggest network in the world, out Armed Services are envied by the world. Only our own people do not appreciate what they have.
I was a poorly paid officer in the Armed forces and I know what it is to live in a meger pay, in the middle of nowhere, and gathering pennies throughout the life to some how make a house, at a place you can some how afford, even if you do not like the place, or just gazing at shoes you like but not being able to afford it.
I am an Electronics Engineer by profession, and in view of the cost of living, the Pay Rise is very much justified and overdue.
RE:Govt Employees Must Get Their Due.
by Viz Narayan on Mar 24, 2008 03:03 PM Permalink
Dont ask these things as if these are favors done by you people. This and more is expected from "public servants". Except for armed services, none of the other departments do good job. Did you read about train accident last week in tamil nadu? Is there a single day when water and electricty are cut for almost every district in the country? Where are the roads.There are only pot holes. Are you telling that if you dont get 40% hike, you are going to rob nationalized banks also. The country has been safe only because of the strong justice system and armed forces of the country.
by Roni gavaskar on Mar 24, 2008 02:58 PM Permalink
You are right - But the hike should be PERFORMACE based - to encourage better work culture and reward well performing emoloyees.
Remember - It is TAX PAYERS money - not Pay commisions money.
by Roni gavaskar on Mar 24, 2008 03:09 PM Permalink
You are right - But the hike should be PERFORMACE based - to encourage better work culture and reward well performing emoloyees.
Remember - It is TAX PAYERS money - not Pay commisions money.
Paying Rs 100 in rewards is pleasing - but paying Rs 1 as bribe to wrong govt emp.hands is painful.
Due respect to you - I amjust talking abt PERFORMANCE Based Hikes to every GOOD Govt employee - Not to bad, low performing & corrupt employees.
by Story editor on Mar 24, 2008 03:08 PM Permalink
Subodh,
I emphathize with you. All respect for the armed forces...
However my ire is mainly against the babus who create a corrupt system filled with rep tapism.
Yes we have roads, water and electricity. But these are basic needs. If we want to be a developed nation we need to think beyond mere availability and look for quality!
What is the quality of our roads for example compared to the developed nations? Can't we have world class infrastructure throughout India given our economic growth?
But we don't.
The reason sadly is the corrupt system and inefficiency of the govt employees!
Dear sir, I am in basic of 3050-75-3950-80-4590 now I am receiveing 3950 1975. Please tell me what is my new pay when 6th pay commission is apply. And what is 15%, you mention in some answer those are aksing by differ persons. I am a Employee of Madhaya pradesh Government. Please send this message to congress presiendt Dr.Pachori. - Awadhesh Shrivasva, Asst.Director, Kalidasa sanskrit Akademi, Ujjain (M.P.)-456010, Phone no. 0734-2515404, My mobile - 098278-57644.
Hike in salaries is a big farce. Govt. fails to hold the price line and then partially compensates the employees with salary hikes. If only the Govt. could hold the price line there would have been no need for so many pay commissions.
We always says Congress is not an ideal party to rule. But is there any alternate to avoid this party? Communist/BJP are not capable for the same. So what is the solution? Can India get break from poverty/reservations/population/war/riots/underworld/unemplyment?
Thanks to Employee Unions and Higher authority for implementing this as it was long awaited since 1st Jan 2006. But I am personally disappointed to see only 40% hike. It should have been min 60%. But same time it is now the responsibility of all the employees to work hard and keep contributing to build a strong nation. Jay Hind.
RE:Pay raise ... long awaited ... Well Done !!!
by Roni gavaskar on Mar 24, 2008 02:51 PM Permalink
Awesome Joke - Without any PERFORMANCE Talks - Really good work.
I think the common public needs more accountability and efficiency from the govt. servants. Corruption is rampant in many areas and so is inefficiency so it is natural for the tax payers to become angry at such increase. Also such hike is unfair to the honest govt. servants who are resisting corruption, because they get the hike and others known corrupt people get it too.
There has to be a better method of measuring the performance as well as thwarting corruption in govt. machinery.
RE:Reward of Corruption - 40% Hike: Performace not required.
by pranatharthy satishkumar on Mar 24, 2008 03:05 PM Permalink
dear baba, discipline should come from within. First u people desist from corruption and the poor Govt. Servant will not indulge in Corrupt practices. You want the cake and eat it too. For the sake of 80% honest Govt. Servants, let the recommendations be accepted. u people will nourish the rest 20% wealthly. Govt. is not running any orphanage and the Govt. Servants hav realised well, long ago.
RE:RE:Reward of Corruption - 40% Hike: Performace not required.
by venkata narayana on Mar 24, 2008 02:44 PM Permalink
stupids better not talk. for 10-15%corrupt govt. officers, one should not blame the entire govt. machinery.
by satyarthi on Mar 24, 2008 02:51 PM Permalink
Just give one example of a honest government servant, from any department any where in India. I'll provide you check list to verify his 'honesty' yourself.
by sowmya chethan on Mar 24, 2008 02:53 PM Permalink
Person in the Defense who don't even have rights to go on strike to voice their concerns.
by satyarthi on Mar 24, 2008 03:44 PM Permalink
@sowmya chethan There are several posts in defence. Anyway, let us take the example of a general. The present army chief is facing an enquiry relating to some purchases during his tenure as 'chief' of northern command. Soldiers are selling their firepowers to extremist groups. The regular supply of shophisticated ammunitions to naxalites are one such example. Further, when they visit their native place, they sell their clothes, shoes, etc., and report these 'missing or misplaced'. For paucity of space, I am not giving others' miseeds.
by Roni gavaskar on Mar 24, 2008 02:47 PM Permalink
Then why you don't talk about PERFORMANCE..You are afraid of hiding it behind the door and except whatever you get with a hidden smile :).
by sowmya chethan on Mar 24, 2008 02:52 PM Permalink
Every person in the defense owes his life to the country what kind of performance are you talk about!!!Only few are corrupt not the entire system!!!!
by Akash Mathur on Mar 24, 2008 02:53 PM Permalink
Roni,
Talking about performance, I think your performance needs to be monitored since you are surfing rediff in office hours. I think you get paid for nothing!
by sowmya chethan on Mar 24, 2008 02:56 PM Permalink
We don't even have a net connection at office...watch out before you speak...
This is the political stunt of Congress. All four yeasr it has slept is now doing all these things. Tax cut, cormer loans and now the employee salary. Why the media is mum now? When NDA has helped formenrs this is the media made hue cry is quite because all these Left and Congress mouth piecies( NDTV, The Hindu news paper and deccan Herald news paper) gets lots of currput money from Congress. One should spitt on these medai first for biased coverage