Govt. should ncrease working time of govt offices also to 40%, to make use of the extra burden put on tax payers of this country. Take necessary steps to trace out all corrupt babus and put before law.
I understand that this pay hike is to support the goverment employees to survive in midst of HUGE cost of living now-a-days due to sky-rocketing salaries of the Private companies. If this pay hike is going to also have a positive effect on reducing corruption in the government departments then this is a worthy move. But despite this hike if the Bribe-system is going to stay then India is going to have a BIG PROBLEM. Government should do something to couter corruption and make all the government offices computerised.
All the extra money that government has got is from the taxes being paid by big Private companies and Private employees. Once the private business/software boom is down...Goverment would have a problem. To sstain the growth, government should also encourage small or medium businesses/ entreprenuers....not just monopolies.
RE:Hike Vs Corruption
by Sahadevan KK on Mar 24, 2008 05:49 PM Permalink
Government must pay more farmers, unorganised employees, unemployed youth, students, women etc. Then 6th pay commission is much acceptable.
Shri.Krishna the Hon. Justice has done justice to the salaried class. The 40 % increase envisaged in the pay will be jsut about to live in the reality costs of today.No wonder the oil and the dhals will take over the price mechanism, added woe is the increase in the price of gold globally, and the ever increasing cost of prices of essential commodities. It is nice that he has had a good share for the pensioners too. Hope Mr. P..Chidambaram takes it fully and makes a speedy action over the implementation. b s srisailapathy
RE:on the sixth pay commission
by Narahari K on Mar 24, 2008 05:20 PM Permalink
This would benefit the congress and team to gain the favouritism of public sector employees during the voting, and no one wants to do when it was nearly needed. We arent proactive. Are there no statisticians in India. Can they predict and evaluate how the cost of living is going to hamper a middle class and make amends accordingly. They are giving a salary increase effective jan 2006, meaning they know all those who are to benefit now have been starving since then. huh.
Govt office are only working because they have 5 workers for one job . and all pray that someone will work any day . As such the govt is already paying 5 times of one pay to complete the work . This act will unnecessary increased the cost of working .
RE:Pay Hike
by Sreevalsan on Mar 24, 2008 05:08 PM Permalink
While going through many messages here I found many Govt. employees even dont know how to calculate their salary. Why the commom tax payers of this country suffer these lazy dump heads-or the so called Govt. officers?
these govt. craps are real burden for India. Their salary should not be increased, because they just dont deserve it.
by fdfd fdffdf on Mar 24, 2008 05:18 PM Permalink
yeah you are right..only software pros and others in the private sector must be given obscene pay packets. why should people in govt sector get salary hikes bcos they are not human beings. they do not have families and they need not take luxurious vacations like those in the private sector.
by Locale Magazine on Mar 24, 2008 05:18 PM Permalink
Ask ur wife or sister if she had applied for a govt job. IF so ask her why? Can u convince her not to apply with ur justification. Live in India man..
by Sreevalsan on Mar 24, 2008 05:24 PM Permalink
Locale(Yellow)Magazine, Iam an Indian and living in India. Thats why I said this pay hike is a challenge to common people of India.
by Locale Magazine on Mar 24, 2008 05:47 PM Permalink
I suggest u take the recomendations to ur employer.. Maybe he might be sympathetic 2 u and giv u a 40% pay hike after 10 years..
by shamsh ehsan on Mar 24, 2008 05:31 PM Permalink
Dear Sreevalsam and Narendra, I was scintist in Govt sector and was involved in SARAS aircraft design and development, I resigned and joined MNC just for the sake for money and right now I am working for World's one of the best aircraft manufacturer as our client and I found the quality of work and dedication what NAL, Bangalore staff (So called Govt. employee) shows is missing at one of the best aircraft manufacturer, they are just good in management, I have seen the ground reality. Its not like that all govt employee wont work, please visit at least NAL, Bangalore where people uses to come on all most all saturday for the sake of project, perhaphs more than those techee.
RE:reg.paycommission
by Sreevalsan on Mar 24, 2008 05:08 PM Permalink
While going through many messages here I found many Govt. employees even dont know how to calculate their salary. Why the commom tax payers of this country suffer these lazy dump heads-or the so called Govt. officers?
these govt. craps are real burden for India. Their salary should not be increased, because they just dont deserve it.
by damodar kampa on Mar 24, 2008 05:40 PM Permalink
why boss aapko govt employee se itne jala kyon ho rahi hai???maidaan khula hai koi bhi govt job join karlo.
by Anand YNI on Mar 24, 2008 05:32 PM Permalink
Say the pay is 8000. Add 50% DA merged with this, that is 12000. Add another 47% DA on this, that is say, another 6000 = 18000. Add 40% hike on this. The New pay will be approximately 25000/- Rs. Please note that there may be a variation of /- 10% of this amount.
by Sukhwinderpal Singh on Mar 24, 2008 05:54 PM Permalink
hey hard worker govt. employees , why are you getting mockery by these non deserving and jealous persons who all times are saying that govt. employees dont know how to calculate their salaries, why dont you consult the ready reckoners after the report is finalised and accepted by govt. and implemented. if you are getting approx. 13-14000 salary in the scale of 5000-8000, why dont you spend just 40-50 rs. on books and get knowledge . this time calculations will be only dreams. JUST ON RECOMMENDATIONS if basic pay is 8000 4000 DP then add DA @ 25-26 percent which was as on 31-12-2005 and this becomes 15000. now add 40% ie 6000 .this becomes 21000 as basic pay on 1-1-2006 with DA NIL. after that you add 2 more annual increments at new rate and new rates of DAs wef 1-7-06,1-1-07,1-7-07 and 1-1-08 which will be revised and announced by govt. at the time of implementation. along with other allowances. This becomes the actual you deserve . Why the people like that MAD person like SREEVALSAN are jealous.
by Locale Magazine on Mar 24, 2008 05:22 PM Permalink
Mr Sreevalsan, is ur father in law or motherinlaw in govt or is it ur divorced wife.. I see a lot of hatred in u for govt employees. I hope u dont travel by train...
by Sreevalsan on Mar 24, 2008 05:29 PM Permalink
Locale Magazine, Iam an Indian and living in India. Thats why I said this pay hike is a challenge to common people of India. In my train journeys I see many arrogant govt. babus and poor people struggling to earn bread for their family. Dont forget you govt officers ask bribe from these poor people also.
RE:is this going to affect BSNL employees
by Steve on Mar 24, 2008 05:14 PM Permalink
dont worry chetan, daddy will soon be more richer and then he will buy you chetak
by Akash Mathur on Mar 24, 2008 05:30 PM Permalink
Steve, looks like your dad didnt even buy you a bicycle till date. Perhaps he got kicked when he went for govt, job.
As for you, I think you are jobless too, looking at your hatred and jelously for government.
RE:RE:is this going to affect BSNL employees
by sunil pradhan on Mar 24, 2008 05:52 PM Permalink
mathur u cant exist a day in pvt sector ....say thank to god if u in got a govt. job
by Akash Mathur on Mar 24, 2008 05:06 PM Permalink
Definately Kumar, your father can expect 40% hike in his net earnings.
by Hanmant Mohite on Mar 24, 2008 05:24 PM Permalink
being an BSNL employee, i am not sure about hike in salary.. today it self we are well payed.....
by sunil pradhan on Mar 24, 2008 05:50 PM Permalink
even BSNL can be sold to pvt. players & that is good for nation
by shah vipi on Mar 24, 2008 05:06 PM Permalink
Second symptoms of goverment service sickness.. Spread all across.
please exclude defence. I feel defence people deserves it but not all babus.
by sunil pradhan on Mar 24, 2008 05:15 PM Permalink
better if u ask ur dad to find a employment for u inside BSNL. afterall govt. jobs are Hereditable if u wish afer ur dad'
by srinibas tripathy on Mar 24, 2008 05:39 PM Permalink
kya sunil babu bahut jankari rakha hey tuney ..dimak kam istmal kar jealous na ho bhai... BSNL central govt nehin hey public sector ho chuka hey so 6th pay commission is not applicable. 2nd if u die while on duty your kith and kins may be considered for unskilled job.
RE:PAY HIKE FOR GOVT EMPLOYEE
by Anand YNI on Mar 24, 2008 05:11 PM Permalink
It is very simple.
The basic pension will be fixed from 01 Jan 2006 or the date of implementation as approved by the govt. DA will be calculated on this from 01 Jul 06, 01 Jan/01 Jul 07 and 01 Jan 08 and probably 01 Jul 08. Ready tables will be available for the purpose. Once the new pension is calculated, the difference between the new & the old is also calculated & the difference is given as arrears. In all likelihood, pensioners will be given the arrears in one instalment.
RE:PAY HIKE FOR GOVT EMPLOYEE
by Steve on Mar 24, 2008 05:06 PM Permalink
Yes, if you read rediffs headline tht is what it exactly says. Open your eyes wide and read it agian and then pinch yourself and this is TRUE. Very strange, why are you not able to believe?
Again a big burden on tax payers. Govt. employees (Barring 1%-professionals) are costing 4-5 times to Govt. without any accountability. It is highly unfair/unjust to increase the pay hike-particularly when it is linked with inflation index, without providing employment to everyone at least with a minimum wages. Our left parties are also not interested to listen to a common worker of the country.With cascading effect, every State and PSU will also have similar fever.
RE:Pay hike
by sathisha bhatt on Mar 24, 2008 05:13 PM Permalink
kindly make sure that many comman emplyees are working hordly and honestly without any extra for them this only encouragement.
This is indeed a fitting package to the govt employees for the contributions they make to the indian economy namely : 1. Increasing revenue by eating as much paan, gutkha, cigarettes, tea, coffee etc all the 5-6 hours they spend in office and drinking all the alcohol received as bribe. 2. Reducing money spend on foreign commodities because common man doesnt have any money to buy those after giving all to govt employees as bribe. 3. Showing real unity and strength by creating unions and striking when ever possible, after all who cares if all the PSUs go bank rupt..Babus bellies needs to grow bigger and bigger. 4. Showing an exemplary beaurocratic system to rest of the world. No matter what you do or you do nothing at all, you get high compensation, promotion, benefits, bonuses and extra income in the form of bribes. Very comforting for the labor force.