Bernake said last October that 'Economy is strong.and the FED is not here to save Markets on a daily basis'. But he along with JPM worked on the Bear sale yesterday for $2 on a weekend. Even Bush rushed to strike a note of calm to the turbulent situation few minutes back, hailing the Fed's action saying We're in challenging times.We've taken strong decisive action'.Imagine the situation. In Today's world nobody is insulated esp. India. with its enormous growth in '07 and until this January SENSEX is going to be the first to take the pinch! My blind guess is that the FII took atleast a $ 1billion out of our Market yesterday. may be more. Mr. Chidambaram and Congress are here to fool around just like how they did by waiving 60,000 crores of farmers loans.Be cautious and stay out or short.
Many companies couldn%u2019t think beyond quarter and focus on long-term investments. Every companies forced to show some results for every quarter, it force them to stick with short-term goals and missing to build strong strategy. Every quarter companies are restricted to show some positive results; otherwise they should answer for idiotic question from so called market analyst and penny investors. Beyond this restriction when there is a market crash, all stocks washed in the stream. Slowly this will force companies to switch the business model and go back to private sector or shouldn%u2019t worry about short falls by keeping focus long-term goals.
Who is going to initiate? That is the million-dollar question for now, but this kind of fall will help them to choose such environment by aligning like-minded business magnets (may be from Wipro, Infosys) with keeping Win-Win-Win (Win for me %u2013 Win for you %u2013 Win for Society) strategy in mind. So possibly this will control public limited maniac or force them to choose non-public model.
RE:Slowly equity archetype will replace by private business.
by Suraj Singh on Mar 17, 2008 08:55 PM Permalink
I agree that quarter-to-quarter thinking has ruined long term strategy.
RE:Stay invested in blue chips
by Prakash Pandey on Mar 18, 2008 12:37 AM Permalink
Mr Suraj, I am sorry for appearing rude , but this comment looks like coming from someone who would probably have a hard time when asked what PE ratios mean. It's not personal but please refrain from making such comments . And if you're so sure, please go ahead and make those purchases that you see fit.
by jay b on Mar 17, 2008 09:17 PM Permalink
It is amazing to see 6% fall in bse whereas the source of all this ie dow falls only .5 to 1%. There seems to some big manipulation going on by FIIs,Banks,.... in their favor to cause panic selling (or buying) and make the small investor loose money eventually.
Also where are all those experts who were predicting 25-30K index and india story,..... (None Predicted the current scenario) . Sab ko jute marne chaiye .
RE:RE:Stay invested in blue chips
by Prakash Pandey on Mar 18, 2008 01:14 AM Permalink
Hey Jay, dude those who predicted 25k-30k sensex are the same ones predicting a 12k sensex now....they always knew what they were doing ...just that they don't really care for the "pigs" ...we were in a "pig market" back then and are in a "sheep market" now.....this happens all the time and with every market, so no point blaming the brokers for being greedy when so were most of us in the first place in expecting stocks at ridiculous PE ratios to keep going up.
by Bob Seth on Mar 17, 2008 09:45 PM Permalink
sell of all your holdings and salvage whatever money you can get sensex will touch 6000
by Suraj Singh on Mar 17, 2008 08:54 PM Permalink
The same astrologers who predicted the market will touch 30K by December. The India story is intact.
by Loan Shark on Mar 18, 2008 02:14 AM Permalink
30k by december or 13k by december? LOL
looks like you have lost a ton .. and so asking people to buy ... we are not fools ... the FIIs are fleeing India to fulfill credit obligations elsewhere .... fall of dollar will squeeze indian companies profits ... wages will fall and the real estate market will go bust
RE:RE:Real estate fell maximum
by ameed kuwari on Mar 17, 2008 07:53 PM Permalink
subsequently, the fell has being observed in all area, its overall market breakdown
RE:Real estate fell maximum
by Das on Mar 17, 2008 11:02 PM Permalink
Obvious Reason. The whole Real estate sector is Over Valued. They should learn a good Lesson. They are only Building there own Asset by Snatching many peoples Dream home. Hope to see DLF @ 200/ JP associate @ 100.
hahahahah Like farmers loan waiver of 60000 crores, same way all investor losses should be waiver by govt. ? Isnt it ?
Whenever market is booming 21000, you never call govt intervention, whenever loss, at that time you come to know that there was once govt, it has to help.
RE:Government Support?
by ameed kuwari on Mar 17, 2008 09:03 PM Permalink
then why US president Bush, he cut down the interest rate after melting US stock market,, why he dont felt silly in this?
by Loan Shark on Mar 18, 2008 02:16 AM Permalink
LOL ... Bush is not the Federal Reserves' chief ... Federal Reserve works independent of executive leadeship.
by jugal joshi on Mar 17, 2008 07:40 PM Permalink
We the general people always come to but when bull is in form but we neglect bhaalu.Both are powerfull & they both can be utilised.We should not panic .It is real picture.Our all FM,analysts were singing raaga of Indian development & direct relation with stock market but Stock market is nothing more tham gambling.And gambling is entirely based on LUCK.
RE:Pls advice me..
by ameed kuwari on Mar 17, 2008 07:30 PM Permalink
Yes Mr. MBA 10000/- toh minimum balance you have to keep in the demat account, phir what u gonna invest??
by binish mathew on Mar 17, 2008 07:36 PM Permalink
nahi sikhaya be ullu..isliye to poocha....well am into marketing.....n in IT....
RE:RE:Pls advice me..
by Loan Shark on Mar 18, 2008 02:17 AM Permalink
phir bhee kuchchh to finance bhee sikhaate honge MBA mein ... yaa sirf coding sikhaa IT mein aur tel bechna seekha marketing mein?
by jugal joshi on Mar 17, 2008 07:42 PM Permalink
Donot give wrong information if you donot know.Half knowledge is dangerous but half information is Tsunami.
by DSK Rao on Mar 17, 2008 07:29 PM Permalink
Look for Group 'A' shares like Chambal Fertilizers or ISPAT Industries or some other shares which are around Rs.30/
by TITO AKKARA on Mar 17, 2008 07:36 PM Permalink
Hi Binish...Its the best time to invest. Look out for stocks like DLF, Unitech etc., DLF has closed at Rs 603 today...You wont find a better time to enter the stock market. ALL THE BEST !!!
RE:RE:Pls advice me..
by jugal joshi on Mar 17, 2008 07:49 PM Permalink
I agree with TITO but I advise donot jump directly into Market First plan your matrix --Market may not give each year 20-22 % returns but Bank FD can surely give 8.75 - 9 % p.a .I personally do not like investing MF as If I have money Why I should give it to others?Keep open your eyes & ears but follow only your Brian's order.No room for emotion and tips/All tips are nothing but totally time pass.
by mpls on Mar 17, 2008 08:13 PM Permalink
Get Gold or If ur desperate to invest in Stocks wait until Sep.The days from now to Sep is going to be horrible.The basic problem is US dollar is weak which shoots Oil price high.We are all bound to oil price.So invest in GOLD u will be safe.
by jugal joshi on Mar 17, 2008 07:35 PM Permalink
Invest only if you have excess.Assuming Rs. 15,000/- for share market : I advise you to have :
RE:Never understood
by Loan Shark on Mar 17, 2008 07:30 PM Permalink
it's not bad at all ... it tells greedy people that they must work hard to make more money ... investing in stocks is subject to loss of capital
RE:All major falls are during Congress Government
by Loan Shark on Mar 17, 2008 07:31 PM Permalink
stocks (BSE-SENSEX) also went up to 21k during congress rule ... LOL
by ameed kuwari on Mar 17, 2008 07:41 PM Permalink
this may be because of sun outage, lets see after 18th of march, we hope market will back to its earlier position which is 21k
by ameed kuwari on Mar 17, 2008 09:05 PM Permalink
you did not watch share market timing its being change until 18th of march 2008 becoz of sun outage
Even after such a big fall (as claimed by many), most of the stocks are still at higher (more than 15 percent) from what every value they were just one year before. So, what is wrong with an yearly return of 15 percent? It is never a bad idea to invest in stocks if people go for fundamentally sound companies on a long term basis.
RE:Unnecessary panic
by Srinivas on Mar 17, 2008 06:54 PM Permalink
You conveniently selected one good period. How about some body who got in a month back. How much time will it take fo him to get his money back ?
by Sunil Kumar on Mar 17, 2008 06:58 PM Permalink
my suggestion, keep buying moderately to bring down the weighted average price of holdings.
by Loan Shark on Mar 17, 2008 07:33 PM Permalink
average down is not always a good policy ... sell now, buy lower next month ... as FIIs start pulling away, the markets will fall further.