Total 30 messages Pages | 1
Tax planning on superannuation
by thirumalapura viswanath on Jun 22, 2008 09:01 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Please let me know about the tax planning on my superannuation benefits which will be received by way of PF, Gratuity, Encashment benefits and other benefits. How to invest them and any tax applicability on the investments.

RE:Tax planning on superannuation
by Amit Phatak on Jun 28, 2008 02:10 PM  Permalink
on EPF I can say is you should not withdraw it ideally (till your retirement). If you withdrwaw it nonetheless after 5 years of being with the employer (or 5 years on the same PF account transferred from old to new employer) the amount is tax free. If not, you have to pay tax on it and also refund the tax benefit you gained (if you claimed it under 80C) on the EPF..

Rediff had an Outlook Money article on Gratuity 3-4 days back.. Search for it..

RE:Tax planning on superannuation
by Benny Thomas on Jul 02, 2008 12:00 PM  Permalink
If you are nearing your retirement, then the best option to invest would be in a Unit Linked Plan which provides you the additional benefit of Insurance cover. Not only are your payments to such plans tax-free, but your final returns are tax free as well and you get the benefit of insurance as a bonus. Certainly the best option available. For help call 919868493843

HRA
by sumit chakravarty on Jun 21, 2008 12:24 AM  Permalink 

my appointment letter says i will be paid 14000/- as HRA or in lieu i can take company lease accomodation, in which case HRA will not be given. the lease agreement shall be between the owner & my company. now will i be able to take HRA tax benefit if i go for company lease under the given circumstances.my HRD people r saying that if i go for company lease accomodation i shall not get HRA tax benefit. but my logic says that since my money ie my HRA portionj of the salary is being deducted & paid to the owner, i should be eligible for HRA tax benefit. pls provide relevant sections of income tax rules etc for me to take up this issue with my employer. there r 100s of colleagues of mine who will benefir from this.

Good one
by RahulS on Jun 17, 2008 03:43 PM  Permalink 

This good one but if Government try to minimize the use / wasting of resources it will be beneficial to reduce taxes in some amount of %.
Aur sabse pahele suruvat mantri logo ke travelling se kiyi jaye.. :D

Tax
by old man on Jun 17, 2008 11:58 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

There should also be taxes for the following:-
1. Reservation tax (on unreserved categories)
2. Nuclear tax (for nuclear tests)
3. Anti-Inflation tax (to reduce prices)
4. Anti-Strike tax (to avoid strikes)
5. Question tax (to allow mps to ask questions)

Each tax should atleast be of 1%.

RE:Tax
by Yash Vij on Jun 20, 2008 04:34 PM  Permalink
What about
1. Congress failure Tax.
2. Election Tax.
3. Re election Tax.
4. Television license tax.
5. Radio license tax.
6. Number of times eating food tax.
7. Number of times bathing tax.
8. Number of vehicles tax.
9. Number of mobile connection tax.
10. so on.

RE:Tax
by Yash Vij on Jun 20, 2008 04:38 PM  Permalink
Forgot to mention Toll Tax at everybody's door. Come out of house, every time pay tax.

Tax
by Kaushal Shah on Jun 17, 2008 11:05 AM  Permalink 

How much tax we will pay? There is no loop hole where salaried person can get escape from this.
a) Want to watch movie - Pay Entertainment tax.
b) Going to Hotel - Pay Service Tax
c) etc...

After some years one more tax will be applicable i.e. Death tax - you can't die also without paying tax.

hii
by Suchitra Ram on Jun 16, 2008 09:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

here I m not aware of some notations like u/s 80c…what is it.. and i wish 2 knw more bout taxation and d lik...plzz suggest me how can i..

RE:hii
by Milind Sovani on Jun 17, 2008 10:55 AM  Permalink
Section 80c is benefit to a tax payer if he/she invest upto Rs. 1,00,000/- in specified scheme i.e. VPF,PPF, NSC, ELSS, Primium to LIC policy etc. In that case taxpayer's responsibility is being calculated beyond Rs 1,00,000/- Excess income . Currently as per latest budget provision for general male indian citizen basic limit is Rs1,50,000/- For ladies it is Rs. 1,80,000/- and for Sr. Citizsen (Both Male & Female) it is Rs. 2,25,000/- Hence if they invested Rs. 1,00,000/-in specified scheme as quoted above then their tax liabilities will be counted beyond income Rs. 2,50,000/-,Rs2,80,000/-and Rs3,25,000/- respectively. I hope this is enough to decide course of action

RE:RE:hii
by Suchitra Ram on Jun 22, 2008 08:36 PM  Permalink
thanks yaar...

by Nand Gupta on Jun 22, 2008 09:08 AM  Permalink
To clarify more:
VPF means Volunteer Provident Fund. You can ask your employer to deduct more of PF than they usually deduct. This money is tax free.
PPF: Public Provident Fund. You can open a PPF account with SBI and other nationlized bank. Here also you can avail tax benefit.

NSC: National Saving Certificate
ELSS: Equity Linked Saving Scheme
etc.

by Sankar on Jun 25, 2008 03:15 PM  Permalink
Hi,
I'm earning salary of 5lacs/annum.If i invest for 1lac,how much tax will be deducted in the year end for me?
Could you splitup & explain how tax is deducted in detail?

by vishal choudhary on Jun 17, 2008 10:26 AM  Permalink
Petrol Fever - A Real Eye Opener

Find the detail break-up of the Final price of petrol available in
pumps.

This is a break up considering crude oil at 120 $ per barrel. Following
details are for per liter petrol in Rs.

* Basic Price = Rs 21.93
* Excise duty = Rs 14.35
* Education Tax = Rs 0.43
* Dealer commission = Rs 1.05
* VAT = Rs 5.50
* Crude Oil Custom duty = Rs 1.10
* Petrol Custom = Rs 1.54
* Transportation Charge = Rs 6.00
* Total price = Rs 51.90

So for a Rs 22 liter petrol at pumps we people pay Rs 30 extra.

Govt. is thinking to impose more price hike to curtain with the current
crude oil bubble in International oil crisis.

If Central Govt. wish, it can still reduce the price of petrol in the
current crisis situation, but it doesn't intend to do so, instead
trying
to fool the people and Nation. This is the basis LEFT parties are
opposing, just generating more profits for the oil marketing companies.

RE:RE:RE:hii
by Suchitra Ram on Jun 22, 2008 08:38 PM  Permalink
thanks yaar...

by Nand Gupta on Jun 22, 2008 09:03 AM  Permalink
I think you are only the intelligent guy in the country and other economist in the country are fool. I wish you could have read some economics books before commenting here. No government will hike price because this is one of the major blow for the government. UPA government has done this even though the elections are near. That clearly means there was no options left.

by Suchitra Ram on Jun 22, 2008 08:36 PM  Permalink
thanks yaar...

by Suchitra Ram on Jun 22, 2008 08:37 PM  Permalink
thanks yaar...

and the 31st way is the smartest !
by First Last on Jun 16, 2008 09:06 PM  Permalink 

this way is:

- listen carefully to the advice of pc/mms/sonia.

- figure out what they want you to do.

- THEN DO EXACTLY THE OPPOSITE !!!

mark my words: your chances to succeed will rise substantially if you do the opposite of what,
these thieves-criminals-terroristic people at our center advise you...

This is probably misleading
by Nicholas on Jun 16, 2008 08:24 PM  Permalink 

#1. You also pay tax on supplementary allowance, LTA is taxable for two years out of four, other allowances are also taxable, The authors should not mislead general public.

IT
by srini on Jun 16, 2008 06:10 PM  Permalink 

The Authour could have given the section numbers so that it woule have been SPOON FEEDING to most of the Auditors who always refers to the Manual at the time of submission of IT

Tax savings.
by ashish bhagat on Jun 16, 2008 04:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Good article. I think pretty soon Chidambaram is going to sue the author of this article.

RE:Tax savings.
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 16, 2008 05:11 PM  Permalink
why will he sue the author?.
author is only trying to tell us how best we can save tax on salaries..
and PC also know that ppl do this ALL the time..
did u kwn that only 5-6% of indian population pays tax..
shocking bt true..

by manu www on Jun 16, 2008 05:56 PM  Permalink
Is it? that makes us "tax payers", the minority. me wonders, if we too can get a "minority" status...........and a special exemeption and so forth... :D

by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 17, 2008 10:04 AM  Permalink
yes..we re the minority..and WE FEED the politicians...

by tunak tunak on Jun 22, 2008 02:11 PM  Permalink
so what's the way out ? let's join politics and become politician ... huuh ?

by DrKnow on Jun 16, 2008 04:25 PM  Permalink
ha ha ha....

by SHYAMA PRASAD on Jun 16, 2008 04:37 PM  Permalink
Ho Ho HOOOOO

by chandra singh on Jun 16, 2008 08:25 PM  Permalink
Hi Sir,
Nice to see your commnets on this site and remembered the old GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD days. Just wanted to say Hello to you Sir.
CKM Singh

Total 30 messages Pages: | 1