Total 158 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Dr. Ambedkar the man behind the growth and development of India
by Vinay Nad on Jun 13, 2008 12:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Yes, all of you may wonder how? But it is true. Had he not come up with his idea of reservation and equal participation of all sects and castes in education, jobs and politics then India would have been left in the hands of so called elite class or upper class who restricted education, business and power to themselves. Because of their self interest they discouraged SC, ST, OBC, etc to refrain from education and participating in overall growth of the country. All these years and even after 50 years of Independence these so call elite people occupied the top most chairs of power and authority who drove the country only towards poverty and corruption. It is just because of reservation that now people from various castes and background are getting educated and are ready to support the demands of the economy as well as participate in an aggregated manner with their innovative and varied ideas and thoughts in bringing India in competition to the so called super powers. Now SC, ST and OBC's who form a major population of India are representing every aspect of the growth drivers. This is the main reason of India's increasing Human Capital.

RE:Dr. Ambedkar the man behind the growth and development of India
by Harsha K on Jun 13, 2008 12:33 PM  Permalink
While I oppose reservations without any pre-conditions, you have a very good point.

Two things that have contributed to growth of India are upliftment of lower classes (not just caste), through reservations and land reforms.

It was essential at the time when Ambedkar framed constitution, but being a great man that he was, he was aware of its potential of misuse, and he put in a safeguard of a time limit for reservations and restricted the reservations only to the most discriminated among the society.

Over the years, this tool was misused and now it has even become a political tool of reverse discrimination.

So, having uplifted huge amount of SC/STs and even backward classes, now it is only fair that some of the sections who have benefited from it earlier yield it to others who are in desperate need of it.

But, our politics doesn't allow it, hence the talk of increasing Creamy Layer limit to 10lakhs!!! Which is almost the US average per capita income!! And if the IT department is to be believed, there is less than 0.1% of Indian population who have 10L income!

So, as I said, the reservation should continue with focus on people who need it the most. Not indiscriminately. People with incomes of above 3L can afford their children to be educated without state assistance.

by Vinay Nad on Jun 13, 2008 12:52 PM  Permalink
I accept your views completely. But for any socio-economic transformation to yield positive effects it takes a lot of time. While there have been a small fraction of people who have benefited from that and have attained a decent economic status there is still a majority of these people who are still deprived and unware of these privileges to benefit from them. And also they have been mentally and economically threatened and handicapped through these ages which made it difficult for them even to understand and realize these available options and privileges. If you happen to visit any of the villages you would understand that it is only the landlords through their Gunda-giri (yes don’t be surprised it still prevails to a great extent.. like Baburao from Sarkar Raj) have still kept a majority of people under fear and have left no scope for them to think of their betterment and development.

Hence rather than criticizing the benefits extracted by the economically strong lower caste people (who happen to be in the cities and are much less in proportion) we the youth should put our energy in educating those people from the villages to come out and benefit. Only the India can have a large proportion of Human Capital ready to compete and rule the world with its social, economical and technological superiority.

by Calspadeaspade on Jun 17, 2008 05:22 PM  Permalink
Well said. I love both Vinay and Harsha for their views. Reservation definitely has helped. In any thing there is always some misuse. People have to be constantly vigilant. All our energy should be spent in education ofthe children of the down trodden. Moost of the charity organizations should also focus on children. As Harsha said if one generation has benifited from reservation and they are financially sound they should be removed from that layer to benifit the next level.

by Secular India on Jun 13, 2008 12:19 PM  Permalink
What you have said is mere theory - much of the development in India - by businessmen, technologist etc have all been upper caste. In fact there is no SC/ST owner of a top 1000 firm in India and even number of executives will also be handful. No scientist who is not an upper caste. It is yet to been seen when the effects of reservations will ever have positive effect. Caste system is evil but reservations have not been helping.

Six things that are holding India back
by Secular India on Jun 13, 2008 12:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

1) Caste system
2) Regionalism
3) Masses educated in local languages; poor quality primary and secondary education
4) Largely uneducated and selfish politicians
5) License Raj still very active
6) Corrupt administration

RE:Six things that are holding India back
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 12:22 PM  Permalink
how can u say these things..
india prides itself on this things..

Sustained Growth a point of view
by Balankeswar Patnaikk on Jun 13, 2008 11:52 AM  Permalink 

Yes it is true that we are much better poised in the last 10-15 years as compared with 40-45 years of post Independence.

However to retain the growth my suggestion to all CEO's, Administrators & Minister's at Centre & State is

1. Travel Only when there is no other substitute
2. Most of the meetings can be comducted on Net Meeting & Video conferencing
3. Send/ reply a mail instead of Talking on phone
4. Monitor and deliver progress rather than accept loss and reprimand/ downsize / transfer
5. Plan for reviviving Green revolution/ corridor water connectivity & collective farming.

6. Let's not rest or rejoice...this is just the beginning we have to handover much better India to our youngsters than what we had received ourselves. This alone shall clearly differentiate India as a nation comprising of leaders rather than Snake Charmers.

world is changing faster than india
by star on Jun 13, 2008 11:34 AM  Permalink 

All these changes are because of one reason that is world is changing so fast and creating opportunities for all our weekness such, strictly seeking we are changing only for survival , just imagine we opened up our economy only when our treasuries dried up and if that has not happened to day we would have been in a stonage, India is not changing by its own , where as other circumstances are changing us , this is only to change for survival

Human Capital...Not always..
by A. Swaminathan on Jun 13, 2008 11:23 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This may be true for the IT Companies. But not for the nation and Government. There was a shocking revelation that only 35 % of our engg graduates get Job. What about rest ? Infy,wipro,TCS need not worry about the rest 65 %. But for the nation, that is not an asset,in fact it is a liability.

RE:Human Capital...Not always..
by Keith Jones on Jun 13, 2008 11:34 AM  Permalink
yawn

nothing new
by SSP on Jun 13, 2008 11:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

is this the content of his forthcoming book. then there is nothing new. his views on population are wrong. especially if you consider the overburdened infrastructure in cities and complete lack of it in rural areas.

his views on democracy are also wrong. democracy in india is another joke. criminals and businessmen have taken the avtars of polititians and poor people keep fighting in the name of cast religion or secularism. no one is concerned about key issues like health, education, economy, infrastructure, law and order, justice etc. all the state institutions are crumbling down under currupt polititians, criminals and businessmen.

RE:nothing new
by Sunil Dodeja on Jun 13, 2008 11:48 AM  Permalink
Right you are ! Today IT companies are facing manpower crunch despite employing in huge numbers, so for them people are an asset. The important question that needs to be answered is who is going to control the RUNAWAY population and how. Who is going to get the food supply , the land supply, the water, the electricity and where will all the sewage be dumped.
The combined effect of growing population and its growing money power are singlemost important reason for many ills that creep into our system like inflation , law and order including white collar , environment , quality of life etc. etc.
A slower pace of growth would have made life much more enjoyable. Today 4 year olds have to slog for a seat in nursery school, 14 year olds have to burn the midnight oil, 40 year olds are sucumbing to lifestyle dieases and 80 year olds are unwanted elements in society! If this is growth, development,progress,prosperity then India has lost its mind!!!

sahara_b@rediff.com
by Sahara on Jun 13, 2008 11:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

the latest thing that is changing india most is "i-pill" !!

RE:sahara_b@rediff.com
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 11:19 AM  Permalink
How?
are u getting laid more?

by SSP on Jun 13, 2008 11:24 AM  Permalink
true. and this revolution is going to change indian families like never before.

by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 11:40 AM  Permalink
So what ur saying is that indian married couples will have more sex...
bt what about all those relatives..
:)

RE:changes
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 11:20 AM  Permalink
How do u knw?
Do u work for infy?

He is better han Naryanmurthy
by Suraj Singh on Jun 13, 2008 10:59 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I disagree with his views but he is far better than megalomaniac Naryanmurthy.

RE:He is better han Naryanmurthy
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 11:21 AM  Permalink
riiite....u think u r better than narayanmurhty..
and u dont even own a company...

IS INFOSYS TREATING WELL WITH IT'S YOUNG EMPLOYEES?
by shantanu chakravarty on Jun 13, 2008 10:58 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

certainly not.at times this highly lauded,overestimated CO's policies as practiced with the juniors may appear to be petty.calculate the wages on per hour rate and it may appear at par with blue collared workers.these young souls are exploited,overworked,denied leave for more than 15days a year,while the seniors enjoy the fat salaries and other perks.that's the reason,lot of young people leave the CO. when their dreams turn sour,observing the double stds. practiced by the CO. in the name of HR policies,which are not communicated well to these yong,unsuspecting souls.

RE:IS INFOSYS TREATING WELL WITH IT'S YOUNG EMPLOYEES?
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 11:22 AM  Permalink
welcome to the indian IT industry..

by syed abass on Jun 13, 2008 11:01 AM  Permalink
This is not only the story of InFY, all teh software companies are doing the same thing with their young employees,

by raj kumar on Jun 13, 2008 11:13 AM  Permalink
Not only with young employees but with the every employee of the company...only they will look company profits but not the employee satisfaction...most of the co. has policy of 10-15% hike during their appraisals...but some not only give .01%....these are chalta hai HR policies of the companies....u just want to work for the company...thats it...but company never back to you...

by A. Swaminathan on Jun 13, 2008 11:19 AM  Permalink
Dear Guys,

There will be always competition and performance only reward you. No company can survive in long term without rewarding the best performer and at the same time, you should understand that they can not give 10-15 % for everybody. If you are performing and not rewarded, you have every other option to change your company. They are not running human service organisation, they are running a pure business enterprise. Don't forget !!!

RE:RE:IS INFOSYS TREATING WELL WITH IT'S YOUNG EMPLOYEES?
by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 11:23 AM  Permalink
so then how come google and microsoft make more money than of these IT companies and yet their employees dont quit..

RE:RE:IS INFOSYS TREATING WELL WITH IT'S YOUNG EMPLOYEES?
by A. Swaminathan on Jun 13, 2008 11:28 AM  Permalink
Google and Microsoft ..only employee few hundreds here and they operate in a product market. Not like TCS,INfy,Wipro, competing in application and support businesses and recruiting 10-15 thousands from any third class engg colleges.

by BrotherhoodofNod on Jun 13, 2008 12:25 PM  Permalink
yes..agreed..
bt we still in the same business..of creating software for customers...
so why different mgmt policies?
almost every product company started out by providing consulting..
so what ur basically saying is that google and MS hires horses..and Infy,wipro hires donkeys..

Total 158 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>