I remember paying about Rs.8/- pl in the late 80s. When I started my degree in 1992 petrol used to cost Rs. 10/- pl. I remember filling up half a liter of petrol for Rs.5/- and that would be more than enough to take me to college and return back home.
I remember paying about 75 paise per litre for petrol in 1972. This went upto Rs 1.07 or so in 1973 due to problems in the Middle East. During 1974, after the Arab Israel War, the price jumped seven fold to around Rs Seven per litre, sending the entire world into an Oil Shock and Oil emerged as an economic weapon for the first time.
I remember in 1986 I used to drive an M50 which I used to fill full tank for Rs 50. The capacity was about 4 litres. Today my niece drives an Ikon and a TVS pep. She says we cant fill full tank in the car bcoz you have to shell out the full months pocket money at one time.
Cost of fule is one part. We waist about half it waiting in TRAFFIC JAM and on RED LIGHTS. Yes, i use to pay around Rs. 5 per liter in 1985. If increase in proice is compesated by better travell conditions that will be a real boom. an example at BADARPUR red light where 1000nd's vehical cross every day with a normal waiting time of 30 minuts and if we try to calculate loss it will comes up in crores.
RE:petrol price
by tinku kumar prasad on Jun 05, 2008 10:51 AM Permalink
what was your salary that time and what is this time. then you will come to know if income increases prices will also go up. A simple Economics funda
RE:petrol price
by me mumbaikar on Jun 05, 2008 01:12 PM Permalink
rightly said. income, cost of living, standard of living....everything has increased with the time so as population, pverty, corruption, number of politicians...this all will eventually reflect in high inflation.
The spoilt people on this board are whining about price hike. Congress had no option. It is the lifestyle that is to be blamed. As a Congressi, who had opprtunity to work with Arjun Singhji in Satna, I can say it is the city dwellers to blame for. Remember, the golden days of Mahatma Gandhiji. His ashram and simple and happy life of people in it. As a congressi, I hope people stop building Malls and Infotech parks. Instead, if everyone moves to Ashram, raises goats, cows, keeps only 2 pieces of clothes, how happy we can be. In India 80% people in villages live a simple, contended and happy life even without electricity. We should raise taxes in city so that such ashrams can be opened. All this materialism is harmful. We must stop all this that is going on and move back to golden era of 40s, as it used to be under Gandhiji.
RE:vote only for Congress
by anant bhandarkar on Jun 05, 2008 09:29 AM Permalink
Ya very much..Congressi..I was wondering why then your dear arjun singhji got this quota issue out?? he should have in fact given the the so called "other backward castes" OBCs SCs and STs the advice you had given and live the life style you have referred to instead of going to cities and consuming more resources?? He should have opened more schools or ashrams instead of your gov deciding to have more IITs..where they teach to milk the cow and other organic farming techniques which would have really helped the country than jus playing caste based politics to get votes..you congressis dont implement it yourselves..and advice others..
Good point buddy. Most of the villages don't have any hospital or medical facility. People and Infant die lot more because of unclean water. That also help to keep the population down.
by hameed vinod on Jun 05, 2008 10:42 AM Permalink
to desh ki 99% population (why 80% only) sirf 2 piece clothes le ke gaon mein per ke neeche baith kar bakri charaye ...and these bloody congressis will tour US and Europe to know how to reduce poverty in India...sahi hai bhai
by LC Soni on Jun 05, 2008 11:22 AM Permalink
Lal Bahudur Shastri started Monday half fast to overcome food grain shortage and minimise import bill. The Nation followed and system remain for years. Can todays rulers have oneday auto vehicle holiday and suspend fleet of cars? Can pooling of vehicles and use of public transport be adopted by them? This way massage can go to mass.
by krishna chaitanya on Jun 05, 2008 10:33 AM Permalink
where do u stay mr.congressi in a flat or in hut living simple life...the amount of public money that they are spending in publicity if it is given to control the inflation there would not be such gap...
by rajendra prasad tripathi on Jun 05, 2008 01:49 PM Permalink
Hi dude Public is never going to vote for Congress. Congressi are the biggest looters in the history of Indian History, of course after I am talking aout the era beginning from late 60's. You yourself could have made huge money by unfair means and must be living a lavish life, still see the shamefull advise you have in offer. Congress can't give anything to this country. What they have in stock to offer the public of India is a a dictator type leader who incapable of understanding the Indian Economy and Tradition, puppet/Chamcha PM who is responsible to his mentor not the the public of India, Communal disbalance, price hikes, shortage of basic commodities like LPG, foodgrains etc., resisting to the best of their ability to pass the woman bill in the parliament. Mr. Congressi public is so frustrated please do not visit to a public place in India without security.
RE:Solution = FREE Public Transportation
by tinku kumar prasad on Jun 05, 2008 11:06 AM Permalink
State govt must cut sales tax in order to accomodate the price hike. State govt can reduce the price upto 2 to 3 rs.
RE:Solution = FREE Public Transportation
by RajneeshChandraMohan Jain on Jun 05, 2008 07:45 AM Permalink
I agree fully. Government should also provide free food and 3 bed room house for all the citizens.
Every year government should provide every citizens with at least 4 set of new dresses including underwear and towel.