Total 45 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
biggest tax payer
by Samir Rathi on Sep 03, 2009 12:08 PM  Permalink 

BHEL is going to surprise this year. Huge growth in bottom line

Tax
by Rajesh Kumar on Aug 25, 2008 09:18 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Most of the government companies have contributed in building this country. If the economy was not open or there was not competition there is no fault of management of these companies and enterprenuership skill of theri management should not be played down just because of the fact that they work in governrment compnaies. LIC and SBI are competing with the private sector players despite the fact that the playing field is not even. These companies still carry so much baggage of social service and foot the bill unlike their counterparts in private sector, who just care about their profits and growth and avoild the rural and poor mass.

Re: Tax
by sanjay khetan on Sep 19, 2008 06:01 PM  Permalink
blah blah blah. Even Govt. in interested in Money and hence the high rates of taxes. Pleasse also note that there is a high degree of corruption in govt. companies unlike private sector and hence the Govt. companies make less profit.

Employees get paid more even if they dont deserve it

All bull shit
by Ravi Rajendran on Aug 05, 2008 04:49 PM  Permalink 

All companies mentioned here are #1 bullshitters

Why Ambanis are not in the list
by Aftab on Jul 08, 2008 10:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Ambanis are one of the top richest person in the world but you can guess why he could not be listed among the top tax payers.

You are wise enough to know the answer.

Re: Why Ambanis are not in the list
by sanjay khetan on Sep 19, 2008 06:02 PM  Permalink
aftab lagta hai teri jal gayi

RE:Why Ambanis are not in the list
by Sachin R on Jul 09, 2008 02:12 AM  Permalink
who is on number 6 you idiot?.....

It is change of money from one pocket to the other !!
by SK2007 on Jul 05, 2008 07:06 PM  Permalink 

Govt companies just need not bother to pay taxes coz they want to show performance, whether loose or gain just show profit so that the top management get their benefits. In cases whenever they fail and run under loss, they can always bank on the govt funds to support.
In case of private companies, it is not possible because they need to look into their future reserves. Just imagine a case where pvt companies pay heavy taxes earlier years and then thye start loosing. Money paid to govt is gone and the same govt will not come to their rescue whever they loose. Moreover there will not be any appreciation for tax payers whatever they pay. After paying taxes in every step of their activity in differene forms, excise, sales tax, esi, pf, etc etc, the companies are paying income tax too. This no body understands. The so called critics, particularly salarid class always pointing finbgers at the business class.What they should understand is that the private entrepreneurs need to create security for the future and just can't share every rupee earned wth the govt. In case of loss, they are the most hit. Though salaried class has limited resources, (except govt servants), their life is secured.

Where is Infosys?
by Vagabond on Jul 05, 2008 01:46 AM  Permalink 

Does it pay any tax at all or is it fully subsidised like land and other amenities? Wonder what would happen to IT/BPO if they were made to compete on a even footing with other industries!

top 10 companies paying income tax
by ssmani ssmani on Jul 03, 2008 07:43 PM  Permalink 

Out of the 10 8 are government companies.The people who these companies does not get anything by saving income tax. It clearly shows that many private sector companies are avoiding payment of tax. They see some loopholes in the law and reduce their tax liability. This is apart from false adjustment in the accounts.Government company directors do not bother about these and pay the tax

profits
by Ab on Jul 03, 2008 06:40 PM  Permalink 

The reason govt companies make profit is that they have huge monopolies and the government foots the bill for the subsidies in oil, but it does not do it for private oil companies.

Companies like LIC have been allowed to create a monopolistic market for decades, in which they spread their tentacles far and wide. that is why they are turning in profits. all private players were debarred earlier, thus killing competition. the result is that in spite of losuy services, these companies rake in profits.

markets in india are totally third rate, there is no compateition or quality of service worth the name.

many other PSUs have been kept alive on public money to save jobs. SAIL was kept alive due to populist reasons when it was turning losses for decades. no private company would be afforded such facility.

I would appreciate a gov company which can run along with private players in free competition, which incuded some high technology rather than these low tech commodities, and then rake profits. but there are none. look at indian airlines, sindri fertilizers and many others which are long dead.

Coal India Limited
by Rathin Mitra on Jul 03, 2008 06:20 PM  Permalink 

The name of Coal India Limited is missing which has paid a corporate tax of 3575 crores in 2007-08.

Taxes in India - FYI - I am copying it from a different thread!
by usa on Jul 03, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

TAX STRUCTURE IN INDIA

1) Qus. : What are you doing?
Ans. : Business.
Tax : PAY PROFESSIONAL TAX!

2) Qus. : What are you doing in Business?
Ans. : Selling the Goods.
Tax : PAY SALES TAX!!

3) Qus. : From where are you getting Goods?
Ans. : From other State/Abroad
Tax : PAY CENTRAL SALES TAX, CUSTOM DUTY & OCTROI!

4) Qus. : What are you getting in Selling Goods?
Ans. : Profit.
Tax : PAY INCOME TAX!

5) Qus. : Where you Manufacturing the Goods?
Ans. : Factory.
Tax : PAY EXCISE DUTY!

6) Qus. : Do you have Office / Warehouse/ Factory?
Ans. : Yes
Tax : PAY MUNICIPAL & FIRE TAX!

7) Qus. : Do you have Staff?
Tax : PAY STAFF PROFESSIONAL TAX!

8) Qus. : Doing business in Millions?
Tax : PAY TURNOVER TAX!

9) Qus. : Are you taking out over 25,000 Cash from Bank?
Ans. : Yes, for Salary.
Tax : PAY CASH HANDLING TAX!

10) Qus.: Where are you taking your client for Lunch & Dinner?
Ans. : Hotel
Tax : PAY FOOD & ENTERTAINMENT TAX!

11) Qus.: Are you going Out of Station for Business?
Tax : PAY FRINGE BENEFIT TAX!

12) Qus.: Have you taken or given any Service/s?
Tax : PAY SERVICE TAX!

13) Qus.: How come you got such a Big Amount?
Ans. : Gift on birthday.
Tax : PAY GIFT TAX!

14) Qus.: Do you have any Wealth?
Tax : PAY WEALTH TAX!

15) Qus.: To reduce Tension, for entertainment, where are you going?
Ans. : Cinema or Resort.
Tax : PAY ENTERTAINMENT TAX!

16) Qus.: Have you purchased House?
Tax : PAY STAMP DUTY & REGISTRAT

RE:Taxes in India - FYI - I am copying it from a different thread!
by shahid shaikh on Jul 04, 2008 03:48 PM  Permalink
well said!!!!!!

Total 45 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >