Total 144 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
And what a way to present the information......
by Mukundan on Jul 26, 2008 07:59 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The slide show is unnecessary...... Just a photograph of the country and their consumption figures.......

Could have had a table with their consumptions and how much of the world's consumption is their contribution.

Would have made sense to have included per capita consumption and the country's GDP to understand the situation better.....

Message awaiting moderator review. |  Show message
RE:And what a way to present the information......
by abhishek on Jul 27, 2008 05:13 PM  Permalink
he is just putting in front a valid point...
its appropriate to provide per capita consumption along with the total consumption. This is an imp factor, India consumes ~ 2.5m barrels of oil per day, that is 3% of total consumption in world even though India has 26% of the world population, on the other hand US consumes 20m barrels per day, which amounts to 25% of total world consumption but their population is just 5% of the world. YOu can see he contrast!

RE:RE:And what a way to present the information......
by abhishek on Jul 27, 2008 05:14 PM  Permalink
Just a correction, india has 16% of world population.

RE:And what a way to present the information......
by Mukundan on Jul 29, 2008 08:19 AM  Permalink
A million people from across the world go through these statistics. Its easier for rediff to have done the table than a million people individually doing it......

Dont have to mention about your IQ here..... as good as the person who wrote this article.....

Keep it up

Bad Image published for India
by Amit on Jul 26, 2008 05:09 AM  Permalink 

Its good to know which country consumes more Oil. But I feel Media has to change the way they thinks and present the picture of India.. Look at all the pictures for other countries presented in this slide show...happy faces, good scenes all around and while presenting India they have shown a Bad Traffic Jam....
Why such negative image of our own country...
Really SAD and Bad job by Rediff....

India Can be save only by its people
by inder jeet khanna on Jul 25, 2008 04:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

India fails because of educated people who despite seeing the drama and truth behind politics don’t vote. We have to use PIL RTI Civil obedience Boycott (Product or services by companies like reliance) like tools more frequently. As far as the FDI is concern my friends let me tell u that since 2005 via SWISS Maurious IND route or P note we have got enough money but only to have inflation. My request/suggestion to Indian govt is that they should come up with Black money bond once for all. The money should be invested in improving Infrastructure, creating employment, education etc. And do not divide Indian by caste, religion, sex etc. For people of India I urge spread the positive, grow yourself and grow society, after all ultimately we have to bequeath this world to our children and I am sure they deserve the best.

RE:India Can be save only by its people
by ROHIT SINGH on Jul 25, 2008 09:44 PM  Permalink
kindly explain in detail about Black Money Bond...

RE:India Can be save only by its people
by inder jeet khanna on Jul 26, 2008 11:45 AM  Permalink
Mr Chidambaram has launch VDIS in 1997 for voluntry disclosure of Income scheme. In which people who have unaccounted money get the opportunity to disclose. Now we have seen that big drama in parliament ( Cash case). No body bothered from where this cash come from. what if this type of cash utilize for infrastructure purpose. The people who have this will invest In Infrastructure fund and they will may get some saving bank interest rate and after 7 or ten year they will get all money tax free. But this should be once for all, and person will be prosecuted if not investing in it and caught in future. This is just an idea and can be explore by ICAI or Min of Finance. But definatly it will help infrastructure.

all nations
by cynic on Jul 25, 2008 10:58 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

have taken the help of others in the course of developments. Only Britain has not taken the help because Industrial revolution. US depended on France for its freedom, Japan depended on US for marshall plan, all the western countries took lead from Britain. Germany took the help of US. So all these guys who are shouting about self-reliance and not taking the help of other countries are lying and will take India backward. India needs the help of industrialized countries to kickstart its own industrial revolution. Without industrial revolution and application of science and technology there can be no progress and no prosperity.

RE:all nations
by rajesh on Jul 25, 2008 11:08 AM  Permalink
to starts industries where is infrastructure in india boss..
shortage for everything..
shortage for fertilisers
shortage for diesel
shortage for electricity
shortage for food
shortage of water
at last shortage even for human values also

RE:all nations
by cynic on Jul 25, 2008 11:14 AM  Permalink
every country started out like us. Nobody had money initially. And nobody developed in just 10 years. It is a long and hard process. FDI is one source of money ie how China is developing its infrastructure.

RE:RE:all nations
by rajesh on Jul 25, 2008 11:18 AM  Permalink
boss please don't insult china by comparing with us... even with such a huge population also they are developing like anything.i really appreciate them. why are u discussing about money???have u seen forbes world's richest people list??four indians are placed in top ten... india have enough money but they are not utilising it fully

india's Vision 20 - 20
by rajesh on Jul 25, 2008 10:09 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

by 2020 india will be

overtake CHINA in population
overtake ZIMBAMBWE in inflation
overtake HAITI in corruption
overtake SOUTH AFRICA in Aids
overtake USA in oil consumption

great going india...

RE:india's Vision 20 - 20
by Pradeep Pillai on Jul 25, 2008 10:25 AM  Permalink
I fail to understand Indians who keep looking at the negative side of India. Grow up look ahead POSITIVELY.

by rajesh on Jul 25, 2008 10:29 AM  Permalink
see pillai i can think positive but where is the infrastructure in india?? population is growing but not infra.

by cynic on Jul 25, 2008 10:41 AM  Permalink
go and settle in CHina dude if you like China so much.

by rajesh on Jul 25, 2008 10:48 AM  Permalink
china...who said they like china??/

by rajesh on Jul 25, 2008 11:04 AM  Permalink
what a joke.. instead of thinking about developing infrastructurem you are asking to go china..i really feeling shame on u.. like this how many people do u want to send china???think how we can develop infra instead of passing this type of shitty comments

by cynic on Jul 25, 2008 10:51 AM  Permalink
china has better infrastructure so you can go and settle there. Since you dont see India improving as India has less infrastructure development compared to china.

by abhishek on Jul 27, 2008 05:17 PM  Permalink
by 2020-
India will have:
Largest workforce in the world
Highest productivity in the world
Highest number of engineers and medical Professionals in the world

I know it sounds impossible, but we are the ones who need to work on making it a reality!
So stop cribbing and do some good for your country. People like you dont do anything but also discourage others!

Mad writer
by Remesh C on Jul 25, 2008 09:50 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why rediff could not put India's beautiful symbol Taj Mahal instead of showing the big traffic. All other countries represent with their beautiful item. The rediff makes India's image down infront of other countries. Stupid rediff.

RE:Mad writer
by Naveen Babu on Jul 25, 2008 10:24 AM  Permalink
Very true and good observation Ramesh

ARE THE HIGHEST SPENDERS FOR TERRORISM
by Proud Hindustani on Jul 25, 2008 07:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Meeting of two losers. P.Patil is occupying the most expensive real estate in India, India wiil be better served if occupied by homeless people, at least they will bless India to wash away the bad karmas of Sonia/MMS. Patil is more useless than a mans tits.

Indians should NOT be under the misconception that MMS has accomplished anything of grandeur by signing the nuclear deal. Get ONE fact straight in your head--USA wants the deal more than India wants, the tatus have only complied. For their gain and NOT India's. The environmental reasons will DEMAND the need for nuclear power for any reason that can afford it and NOT oil producer or dependent. They (Congress) have only done it for robbing the country. $100 billions are at stake of the Indian treasury.

USA would be willing to sign the nuclear deal with a paanwala, rickshawala, chamar, or a homeless person staying in Rashtriya(Patil) Bhavan.

INDIA can be self sufficient with its own natural resources and brains and manpower.

NONE of these politicians except a handful have earned the right to be cremated on Indian soil. One such persons (name withheld) should be moved from Raj Ghat to Porkistan. You know who. N.

RE:ARE THE HIGHEST SPENDERS FOR TERRORISM
by cynic on Jul 25, 2008 10:44 AM  Permalink
if India had been self-sufficient, Indian rupee would not have been trading at 42 rs to 1 dollar. India is not self-sufficient in anything except food production. And even in that it had to rely on help from US via green revolution. It will take a long time for India to be self-sufficient. Wake up and smell the coffee.

Upgrade infrastructure
by Rajendra Rao on Jul 25, 2008 02:23 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Indian cities are in pathetic state- traffic jams every where. This wastes a lot of petrol, and contributes to pollution. This must be fixed. Improve public transport, and seriously invest in solar and other resources. But will Soni's gang do anything about theseissues? NO. They are too busy appeasing the minorities.

RE:Upgrade infrastructure
by kanu kangal on Jul 25, 2008 02:41 AM  Permalink
I am not pro congress but neither does BJP, JD, CPI, Shivsena, samajwadi or any party.

Cut the petrol and keep diesel subsidies only for trucks
by sahi on Jul 25, 2008 12:48 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Cut the petrol and keep diesel subsidies only for trucks. Consumption will go down by another 50% in India. People will stop buying cars as they will realize that the real price of petrol is 200 Rs. per liter.

RE:Cut the petrol and keep diesel subsidies only for trucks
by madhava vb on Jul 25, 2008 02:29 AM  Permalink
i welcome ur opinion
Govt should welcome other mode or search new things for transport aprt from petro chemicals

Total 144 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>