Total 126 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
WE NEED TO CHANGE ATITUDE.
by on Feb 01, 2008 12:23 PM  Permalink 

HATS OFF TO TATA,THEY DIDNOT WAIT FOR THE SOPS FROM THE GOVT BEFORE STARTING NANO PROJECT .THEY ARE THE REAL SOCIAL BUILDERS ,BUSINESS MAN CAN MAKE MONEY BY CATERING TO THE NEEDS OF POOR PEOPLE ALSO,THEY HAVE PROVED.IF ALL BUSINESS HOUSE THINK THE SAME WAY INDIA WILL BE A REAL SUPER POWER.CHINA IS WORLD POWER IN MANUFACTURING SECTOR BECAUSE OF SAME IDEOLOGY,FIRST THEY STARTED PRODUCING AFFORDABLE THINGS FOR THEIR DOMESTIC MARKET AND LATER CONQURED THE WORLD.WHATEVER INDIA IS TODAY IT IS BECAUSE OF PRIVATE SECTOR ,AS EVERYBODY KNOWS WHAT OUR POLITICIANS ARE.SO WE MUST NOT EXPECT GOVT HELP AS GOVT NEVER DID ANYTHING GOOD ,FOR THE PEOPLE. EVEN AFTER SO MANY YEARS OF INDEPENDENCE OUR FARMERS ARE FORCED TO COMMIT SUICIDE,GOVT CANNOT PROVIDE BASIC AMENITIES TO CITIZENS.

We need another Nano
by S V on Feb 01, 2008 04:39 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We really need another Nano, and its a Nano Tracotr, becoz maximum number of farmers in India owns small area of land (say less than half acre) and can't afford a big tractor. A Nano Tractor will change the shape of agriculture production.

RE:We need another Nano
by amit saini on Feb 01, 2008 10:31 AM  Permalink
it would be good. Mr. tata pls think on it

by senthil kumar narayanasamy on Feb 01, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink
You are absolutely right ! India's agricultural growth has declined from 6.1 % to 3%. If a tractor were to cost 1 lakh it would do wonders for the agricultural industry.

by LOVEEGUY on Feb 01, 2008 10:49 AM  Permalink
Mr.SV
Your Idea is great!

by dharmesh vyas on Feb 01, 2008 12:11 PM  Permalink
u r correct... Bajaj or Tata should think about to manufacturing of such Tractor.

YES!!!!!!!
by abhinav on Jan 31, 2008 10:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

i live in sweden and this was the first time ever in my 3-4 years of stay i saw any news from india other than IT and outsourcing, in the news papers and media.. and not on the last pages in some hidden corner but on the front page!! It is a big news from a country home to brands like Volvo, SAAB, Skania and where Audi is sold like Honda is sold in india.

RE:YES!!!!!!!
by Tamil Baiter on Jan 31, 2008 11:03 PM  Permalink
wow man, how did you become a citizen of Sweden ?.Sweden must be a cool little place with low population and a reduced pace of life and lot of hot chicks.

RE:YES!!!!!!!
by sonia sharma on Feb 01, 2008 01:23 AM  Permalink
he is my husband.
i m born in sweden. so i got him here after i got married to him.
u can also search a girl in sweden and stay here forever

Yup , it can be used as springborad to spur indian entrepreneurs ..
by chandan on Jan 31, 2008 09:50 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Crumbs !! Hats off to Ratan Tata..He did unprecedented job by bringing 'Nano' in to picture...which on the contrary to its literal meaning, is colossal challenge for automobile sector...!! I hope our other Indian entrepreneurs will take this as challenge and flabbergast the world with the fact that nothing is Holy Grail for Indians..!!

RE:Yup , it can be used as springborad to spur indian entrepreneurs ..
by chandan on Jan 31, 2008 09:51 PM  Permalink
*Springboard

Extrapolation of Nano thought!!
by vijay kumar on Jan 31, 2008 01:39 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Article highlights following the footsteps of Nano in Healthcare and other industries, which is indeed right and good for Many poor across the world. Infact India Pharma is already giving tough times for some rich countries. However, i donot agree that Nano is an Innovation it is at best a resized model of our own AUTO
Nano may be a Middle class dream but it is Nightmare of poor with environmental effects it might pose. Remember India still has large sections living on Agri and any environmental impact will play havoc for them

RE:Extrapolation of Nano thought!!
by abhinav on Jan 31, 2008 10:58 PM  Permalink
you are a pessimistic idiot.. try to think positive if you ever want to help the poor... you do no good to poor by giving food or giving a blanket or free electricity.. if you really want to help them give them job through which they can become independent and can lead a honourable life...
It is not an individual like Mr. Tata to think of the common man, but he does. He isn't going to be making profit by selling it for 1 lac, infact the losses will be transfered to the other cars and vehicles sold by the company, he did it because he wants people to lead a better quality of life..

by prashant kv on Jan 31, 2008 04:23 PM  Permalink
i think tata's have filed some 40 patents while making NANO, does alto has rear engine ? duel cylinder ?, did u really read about NANO ? environmental and all other effects are bullshit people who drive costly cars and neta's who get free petrol never worry about it, why should a common man who can afford this car worry about this?

by Sunit Kumar on Jan 31, 2008 05:10 PM  Permalink
prashant kv, well said its only because we have people like vijay kumar, we cant move ahead fast like CHINA !!

by Ganesh R on Jan 31, 2008 07:44 PM  Permalink
Simple. All of us buy a nano, sit & drive fast so that our economy will also grow fast.

by Sunit Kumar on Jan 31, 2008 09:43 PM  Permalink
Ganesh, whats ur problem if u can afford to buy Mercedes buy it, but if ur Watch man buys it than its pollution ? waa bete...

Booking
by Ravi on Jan 31, 2008 12:11 PM  Permalink 

A friend of mine says that the booking for Nano will start is September. Sounds right. might be a month before or after. Please confirm from your sources too!

fuel
by manu selot on Jan 31, 2008 11:59 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

and what about more pollution from emissions. these dreams are going to cost us in the long run........

RE:fuel
by bagsnsave on Jan 31, 2008 12:11 PM  Permalink
Look, thats the resposibility ot our beuracrats. They shud endorsed policy and guidelines, put up more tax, or congestion charge etc. MInd you singpore has so many options but people think twice before buying any car. Bacause running cost is more there.
Ratan tat has done his duety gving middleclas and poor seciton of the societ y to buy a car. Now let other do there duety as well.
Againb, environmentalist always do policing that you do this, you shud not do that ..etc. THey need to be innovative as well in providing solution in long run.
I have not seen an indian environmentalist to come up with innovative idea to control pollution. They only knows to catch media attnetion.

by Atul Patil on Jan 31, 2008 04:11 PM  Permalink
Are you saying all the cars running today are not to be blamed for pollution?..If not them why blame the people car.

by Anuj Goyal on Feb 01, 2008 11:40 AM  Permalink
you know what guys its the number how many ppl buy big cards. NAno would sell like crazy all the ppl surviving on victors and splendors would go for nano i am just imagning how many more new flyovers we would need.

RE:RE:fuel
by bagsnsave on Jan 31, 2008 12:12 PM  Permalink
Look, thats the resposibility ot our beuracrats. They shud endorsed policy and guidelines, put up more tax, or congestion charge etc. MInd you singpore has so many options but people think twice before buying any car. Bacause running cost is more there.
Ratan tat has done his duety gving middleclas and poor seciton of the societ y to buy a car. Now let other do there duety as well.
Againb, environmentalist always do policing that you do this, you shud not do that ..etc. THey need to be innovative as well in providing solution in long run.
I have not seen an indian environmentalist to come up with innovative idea to control pollution. They only knows to catch media attnetion.

by prashant torke on Jan 31, 2008 01:03 PM  Permalink
regarding pollution from the nano ,then we should stop all car makers from producing suv and high engine capacity cars which are a real polluters and all the factories that emit pollution ,instead the ngo and government should plan to spread the green cover whereever possible and stop deforestation by implemkenting strict rules

Booking
by Chandra Prakash on Jan 31, 2008 11:43 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I want to booking Nano so pls tell me when is booking start.

RE:Booking
by Amit Phatak on Jan 31, 2008 11:49 AM  Permalink
booking is start when you're English writing is stop.

by chandan on Jan 31, 2008 09:44 PM  Permalink
Dude..no one can learn without mistake..so I think you could have better told him his error,rather then just pointing it out..!!

by sathish kumar on Jan 31, 2008 12:02 PM  Permalink
Amit.. first correct your (not you're) English, then comment on others

by sathish kumar on Jan 31, 2008 12:05 PM  Permalink
Amit.. first correct your (not you're) English, then comment on others

by narendra jain on Jan 31, 2008 01:42 PM  Permalink
PLS GIVE ME NANO BOOKING ADDRESS.

by Ganesh R on Jan 31, 2008 07:46 PM  Permalink
Why didn't u ask to buy a nano for you

by raj on Jan 31, 2008 11:46 AM  Permalink
call the local tata dealers.

healthcare - for sure - good point
by raj on Jan 31, 2008 11:38 AM  Permalink 

nicholas piramal has a clinical lab chain - wellspring - that gives good results for a decent price, if they could reduce the price point, it will be truly affordable to all. simlarly hospitals.

TATA PRODUCTS!
by RKT on Jan 31, 2008 11:28 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Maximum Indians have full faith is Tata products and quite rightly Tatas have always delivered as promised. Many of us will certainly agree that we change salt of Rs. 9.00 at our shopkeeper if he gives salt othere then TATA ka NAMAK. Long back in my village people used TATA KA OK DHULAI KA SABUN...They used it for washing clothes, used it as alternate to shampoo, used as bath soap (3 in 1) with belief that TATA ka OK will never harm. It never harmed any one. So we are proud that TATA is an Indian company with quality products and a global business house. Coming to TATA NANO, in press conference at launch in Autoexpo Mr. ratan Tata answered all querries. Whole world (especially US & Europe) is no more concerned about TATA quality, environment etc. etc. They are discussing Indian engineering power and future impact of Indian growth on world economy etc. Strangely some of our own contrymen doubt themselves and TATAs. They must open eyes and feel pride on something an Indian had given to world......

RE:TATA PRODUCTS!
by Naman Sood on Jan 31, 2008 11:40 AM  Permalink
Yea right !!!

Tata Indica, Safari have been ranked as bottom and least reliable car in South Africa in 2007 designated as worst of the worst.

Tata Safari was rated in UK as the worst car they have ever driven in the Top Gear program, and is not selling there.

Tata quality may be like gold standard within India but internationally they dont stand anywhere.

Tata Nano itself has been designed at IDEA agency Italy where Tata gets all their cars designed with fuel injector by Bosch, Germany to help them meet Euro norms.

by Santosh Shetty on Jan 31, 2008 12:18 PM  Permalink
precisely, ranking from a SA agencies matters more to some people and a benchmark for postin g their views. anyway its no new that any new discovery will always be critised by few bunches.

by Sunit Kumar on Jan 31, 2008 09:45 PM  Permalink
Abe Naman Sood, Ghanchakkar, in ur mail ur writting that TATAs quality is good for India, than argument finish naa...Nano is for India!!

by Shikha Srivastava on Jan 31, 2008 12:20 PM  Permalink
Can you give us some links where we can check about these ranking...
As you told:
1. Tata Safari was rated in UK as the worst car.
2. Tata Indica, Safari have been ranked as bottom and least reliable car in South Africa in 2007 designated as worst of the worst.

Kuch prakash daaliye sood sahab...

As i know if tata is having this much bad quality.. then why they are making Diesel Engines for europian companis.. is it for Cost only...

by Sanjay Sen Choudhury on Jan 31, 2008 11:08 PM  Permalink
The basis of Sood's posts are based on facts that may be had from:

Dhakkan-who-works-for-an-mnc-thats-come-to-india-to-earn-cheap-bread

&

Jo-fuse-bulb-ho-wo-prak ash-nahin-daalta

I hope the "Tubelight" understands the meaning of all this.

RE:RE:TATA PRODUCTS!
by Sanjay Sen Choudhury on Jan 31, 2008 11:15 PM  Permalink
DEAR REDIFF MODERATOR,
You have it built-in your web-directory that any post that depicts a link to a web-site is reported automatically for abuse. I had to re-phrase my post 4 times until I figured out & got myself posted past your settings...You need to improve that bit so that real pests are not able to paste links irrevelent to the topic on discussion.

by Anuj Goyal on Feb 01, 2008 11:42 AM  Permalink
i agree no tata car is improved before a year and a half just like the buggy iphone :p I had 2 tata cars and a hyundai honestly tata was very unreliable and some parts were so bad that they were not even replaceable. I have sold em and got a hyundai again.

by springvale on Jan 31, 2008 12:07 PM  Permalink
Come on Sood, at least be proud when the time is ripe. Don't be critical of everything, the companies which you have mentioned, they also learned thru trial & errors & it took decades. At least indian companies are on much faster learning cycle. Everybody appreciates that.

by Sanjay Sen Choudhury on Jan 31, 2008 10:32 PM  Permalink
HEAR!!! HEAR!!! Kudos to TaTa.

by on Jan 31, 2008 11:48 AM  Permalink
So which car do you own Mr. Sood?

by Sanjay Sen Choudhury on Jan 31, 2008 10:27 PM  Permalink
My guess is he drives a "BATA" model (He walks..) since he does'nt like anything "TATA". Hee-hee... OK.. Tata..!!

by RyaN on Jan 31, 2008 03:23 PM  Permalink
Dont expect safari/Indica to compete with Audis/Jaquars/VW/Benz....

by manu mariyappa on Jan 31, 2008 07:44 PM  Permalink
@RyaN -Dont expect safari/Indica to compete with Audis/Jaquars/VW/Benz....

Tata doesn't have any vehicle in this segment so I don't think you are right in posting the above comment...

by TheThinkingHindu on Jan 31, 2008 12:00 PM  Permalink
Mr Sood,

I completely agree to you. But you should also look at the other side of the story. What is the price point Tata is offering on their products as compared to there competitors. Tata did an amazing job where government is not supportive of

1) Manufacturing sector
2) Duties on components
3) R&D expenditure is Low

Do you know an Old Story. Two companies got same design for a car in early 50's. One company made big with the design and amongst the top Auto firm and second is almost vanished now. Do you know the companies?
Toyota and Hindustan motors.

by sonia sharma on Feb 01, 2008 01:26 AM  Permalink
so y all international companies r praising tata for nano

by manu selot on Jan 31, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink
true! but kudos to them for taking the right path to improvement in standards and quality. Acquisition of Rover and Jaguar will certainly help

Total 126 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >