- a pre-matric scholarship scheme with an allocation of Rs.80 crore next year; - a scheme for modernising Madrassa education for which a provision of Rs.45.45 crore has been made in 2008-09; - 256 branches of public sector banks have been opened this year until December 2007 in districts with substantial minority population. 288 more will be opened by March 2008 and many more in 2008-09; and - exercise started this year, more candidates belonging to the minority communities will be recruited to the Central Para-Military Forces.
SO INDIANS CAN BE CASTED AS SC/SC/OBC/MINORITIES. DO ECONOMICALLY BACKWARD FALL UNDER OBC ? 288 MORE PUBLIC SECTOR BANKS IN MINORITY POPULATED AREAS. GOOD. EASY ACCESS OF MAJORITY POPULATION'S FUND PUT TO GOOD USE BY MINORITY POPULATION. GOOD. VERY GOOD. MORE CANDIDATES OF MINORITY COMMUNITY IN CRPF. MORE OPPORTUNITIES ARE AVAILABLE FOR OPENINGS IN MILITARY, BARC, R & D, SPACE RESEARCH. MAYBE, WE CAN SEND ONE TO SPACE OR MOON BECAUSE THEY FALL IN TO SC/ST/OBC/MINORITY. OH NO! I DO NOT MEAN THE FM's JOB. THAT IS NOT TO BE BASED ON THE ABOVE CATEGORY. DEPENDS UPON WHOM ONE NEEDS TO PLEASE? WANT TO KNOW WHERE THIS NATION IS HEADING ? FINALLY, WE CAN CALL OURSELVES A RESERVED REPUBLIC.
VERY GOOD BUDGET SPEECH DEAR FM. KEEP GOING. THE ELECTIONS ARE JUST AROUND THE CORNER.
EXTRACTED AND PASTED FROM BUDGET SPEECH :
SC, ST, OBC and Minorities
42. Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, socially and educationally backward classes, and minorities will continue to receive special attention.
Development and Finance Corporations
43. Development and Finance Corporations have been set up for certain disadvantaged groups. I propose to contribute additional equity to these corporations in the following manner:
Rs. Crore
1 National Minorities Development and Finance Corporation 75.00 2 Three National Finance and Development Corporations for Weaker Sections comprising
(i) Safai Karamcharis
(ii) Scheduled Castes
(iii) Backward Classes 106.50 3 National/State Scheduled Tribes Finance and Development Corporations 50.00 4 National Handicapped Development Corporation 9.00
Scholarships
44. In previous Budgets, we had announced a slew of pre- and post-matric scholarship programmes for SC, ST, OBC and minorities. All of them will be continued in 2008-09 with adequate funds as summarised below:
Scheduled Castes Rs.804 crore
Scheduled Tribes Rs.195 crore
Other Backward Classes Rs.164 crore
Minorities (post-matric) Rs.100 crore
45. I propose to allocate a sum of Rs.75 crore in 2008-09 to the Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship Programme. As Honourable Members are aware,
What message does this give to people n world....Loan defaulting is good practice ??
Farmers are already....given loans at low rates....why Wiev-offs ?
If you See reality....No Farmers get Loans....Such Farmer Loans are only given to Political people who Show farm lands to hide their Black money.......
This money will never reach poor farmer......All money will be eaten by corrupt Bank Employess, Govt Employess and Politicians.
Also more than 3 packages and lots of money (above Rs 2000 Crore) is been wasted on Minority for what?......Why are they been treated Specially.......Hipocracy of Congress.....such a Moraless/Howard Party.
Agreed Income tax of Salaried People is reduced but this was on the card n Expected....nothing to get too cheered about it. Overall its very poor budget....Shame to Congress.
Aam Admi should never Forgive Congress for this....throw them out from power......they will always remain hipocrats
finance minister cleared the babu pay commision will be submited by 31 march. He should make the submission data such a way that it is submitted and information release out friday around 0500pm. This will make all babus to discuss about pay commision report in night of friday sat sunday. they might discuss even thorugh phone with each other and govt will get income through service tax. this will save lot of official time and during holidays of sat sunday they might have broken their heads.
This department has become a gift distribution center for the crooks and cloonies in the name of benevolence and relief.....shame on you the FM.No accountability in distributing the TAX_PAYERs hard earned money for free and laundering the Government Fund like that.PRIVATISE the FINANCE MINISTRY and fix accountability.
RE:PRIVATISE the FINANCE MINISTRY
by CatchTwentyTwo on Mar 01, 2008 03:02 AM Permalink
Can you please shed some light on the facts that you seem to be so sure of?
Shame on the FM for what? Have you personally recieved any gift or know anyone who has recieved such a gift due to the policies of this FM?
RE:Waiver of Farmers's loans
by CatchTwentyTwo on Mar 01, 2008 03:04 AM Permalink
That is what is budgeting. The waivers should be covered by the taxes that this burgeoning middle class of India pays and in part with an outlook to the future that the agriculture sector can perform better and in such a case, the pay off may be more than the waivers.
small exporter will collaps from export. Govt policy against small exporters, Bank play GUNDA, rolls. Bank can auction any time small exporter property. Court and law will not play roll of justice. very bad time for poor.
It is a very short sighted measure and a political gimmick to waive of Farmers Loans. It also makes those honest farmers who had toiled hard and who had paid back their loans feel foolish!
Many of the small farmers fall into a vicious trap by borrowing money for High Input Industrial monocrop Farming which uses Fertlizers, Pesticides, Seeds or GM seeds which are not tested for local conditions etc. This method is proven to fail in two or three cycles with soil erosion, new and resistant pests and seed failure.The poisonous pesticides also spoil the Surface & Ground water and also the ecological balance. Organic Farming on the other hand uses natural manure, Vermicompost, pest control by multiple crops and 'Predator - Prey' concept, Locally collected and suitable seeds along with traditional methods of Water Shed Management. This not only helps in Low Input Costs, but also helps in better and assured yield. With Multiple Crops, the chances of full failure are reduced. Seeds are collected locally and with little care a good supply of seeds are assured.
Organic Sustainable Farming with proper watershed Management techniques and Producer-Market connection coupled with Local Handicrafts/Small Scale Production units is the only way to address the Poverty Alleviation and Rural Job creation in this country.
RE:Low Input Organic Farming with Water Shed Management is the Key
by CatchTwentyTwo on Mar 01, 2008 05:55 AM Permalink
With all due respect, a statement that has "this is the ONLY WAY to do something" is not inclusive.
As for the proposal to waive taxes, the inherent problem is not who pays for it, where does that money come from, is this a good political gimmick etc.
The problem with such proposals is that it sets a dangerous precedent to expect more of the same. Meaning... if another segment of the population also expects the same perks, then we are in trouble.
So, is this being done to start on a clean slate (citing the obvious insight to humanity and social problems) or is this being done to enhance the chances of an economic jumpstart to a sector (agriculture) that has so far not performed to expectations?
Whether this will help the agricultural sector to get back into shape and start running up the numbers to grow at more than 4% or 5% a year, only time will tell. I, for one, am willing trust that the government of India has had the foresight to take all the "pros and cons" (as teh FM put it) before coming to a decision.
by DSK Rao on Mar 01, 2008 10:28 AM Permalink
Kindly read my observations carefully. I am discussing need to have Sustainable Low Input Cost Agriculture which addresses the Root Cause of Farmer's Debt. After 60 years also we still have the same slogans of 'Gharibi Hatao'! Time to address the Root Cause than to cover it up with knee jerk reactions. Sorry for my candid views
by CatchTwentyTwo on Mar 01, 2008 01:27 PM Permalink
Mr. Rao, Perhaps this is a way to clean the slate and being your proposed changes and perhaps even more than your proposed changes so that we may never get to this state ever again.
Thank you for your candid views but I still think that neither is this a knee jerk reaction on my part nor is this a knee jerk decision on the FMs part.
its quite evident that the budget is aimed at ballot box and the said sops will be withdrawn in an other route in the next fiscal if chid's party comes into power. instead of tuning the system properly for agriculture fm has confined to loan waiver is not a good example but is only a election gimmick. as people memory will be short he will increase service tax etc in the nest fiscal if congress comes into power and all the benefits declared will be for short term only.
RE:fm budget for india 2008-09
by Rahul Kulkarni on Feb 29, 2008 05:50 PM Permalink
Boss, People like u and me r might be 5% , he has to address 95% others and bloddy educated people dont vote!!!! I had same opinion like u was changed after seeing the report from world bank wherein it is stated that the subsidies for organised sector is much more than the amount of 60 thousand crores!!!
Listen , the amount of tax Govt. Could have earned is 60% more than Farmers write off amount!!! What is Sez and IT Industry ? Waiver of tax from Govt !!!!!!!
RE:fm budget for india 2008-09
by bcxy on Feb 29, 2008 05:54 PM Permalink
can u be more clear on what ur trying to say. pl respond to me email id bcxy@rediffmail.com
Re: fm budget for india 2008-09
by rajesh on Oct 15, 2008 04:17 PM Permalink
i wonder if anything done to agriculture sector is an election stunt. i think that waiver is only part of tuning the system. A Rajesh