Total 324 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11   Older >
Not the solution...
by Classified on Feb 29, 2008 01:02 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its like giving them fish instead of teaching them how to fish...

The need of the hour is to introduc watershed management, drip irrigation, organic manure cultivation, education in rural areas, developing co-operatives, rainwater harvesting and the like...only then can the farmers come out of the clutches of the local money lenders and be self-sufficient.

The govt can also create vocational training institutes (sports, art and crafts, handloom/weaving, painting, music and dance,etc) in rural areas so that the villagers can also increase their revenue generation streams.

RE:Not the solution...
by BABY CHUT on Feb 29, 2008 01:08 PM  Permalink
AM SURE HALF THIS MONEY WILL GO IN THE WRONG WAY AND THEREFORE FM SHOULD APPOINT HIS PEOPLE IN PARTICULAR TO CHECK EACH CASE INDIVIDUALLY NO MATTER EVEN IF IT TAKES A YEAR AND ONLY DERSERVING HARDWORKING FARMERS WHO HAVE ACTUALLY TOILED AND ARE IN LOSS SHOULD BE COMPENSATED IN PARTS ONLY. THIS IS IMPORTANT OTHERWISE NO USE OF THIS. MORE CARE SHOULD BE TAKEN OF HIGH OFFICIALS WHO ARE INVOLVED IN CORRUPTION. A PART OF THE CBI TEAM SHOULD BE INVOLVED IN THIS. BETTER TO EMPLOY SOME BRITISH PEOPLE TO CHECK THIS THING. AS SEE OUR SHARE MARKETS ALSO ARE ALMOST 80 PERCENT DEPENDED ON UK-US ..GORA.. MARKETS. THEY ARE STILL AFRAID OF THE BRITISH AS THEIR HONESTLY IS NOT LOYAL. AND ANOTHER THING, ONLY FOR VOTES SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED

RE:Not the solution...
by Demo-crazy on Feb 29, 2008 01:34 PM  Permalink
You know what is going to happen when the FM does "APPOINT HIS PEOPLE IN PARTICULAR TO CHECK EACH CASE INDIVIDUALLY NO MATTER EVEN IF IT TAKES A YEAR AND ONLY DERSERVING HARDWORKING FARMERS WHO HAVE ACTUALLY TOILED AND ARE IN LOSS SHOULD BE COMPENSATED IN PARTS ..." - a new opportunity to make money for all these auditors, managers, and other officials of government machinery.

The cancer cannot be cured that easily.

Loan waival
by J G Latay on Feb 29, 2008 12:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I do not think that it will make much difference. Most of these were any way bad loans. Both lenders and borrowers understood that they were not to be repaid.Farmers suicides are due to loans from other borrowings from money lenders, sahookars, etc.

What a farce...
by mash on Feb 29, 2008 12:50 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Rediff readers donot realize (atleast the one who are paying tax !!) that the money PC is distributing comes from their pocket and not the politicians.. Though the objective of distrbuting doles is OK as the hapless farmers may not be able to pay.. but that's not the taxpayers problem.. Would the govt atleast apologize for wasting taxpayers money. I guess, 30% money (15000 crore) will certainly land up in politicans pocket)So taxpayers stop being an idiot and pl. STOP praising PC or the govt.

RE:What a farce...
by gac on Feb 29, 2008 01:35 PM  Permalink
dont say its not the tax payers problem, anyone who is paying tax is bcoz he's got lucky enough to be benefited by the govt policy that he is earning today. it's nothing wrong that our tax money being used for the unfortunate ones who have been left out from our economic development.

RE:What a farce...
by Quacker Oats on Feb 29, 2008 02:07 PM  Permalink
Money Paid as taxes is Govt's money.pls do not refer as taxpayers money !!! Govt s the owner to decide on wat to do wth it.pls change the govt. to see new uses for this money !

RE:RE:What a farce...
by on Feb 29, 2008 01:09 PM  Permalink
You are correct. The tax payers money is wasted to gain the votes of the farmers.

Loan Waiver
by mrjoko on Feb 29, 2008 12:45 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We middle class are the new beasts of burden.

We pay almost 65% of our total income as direct and indirect taxes.

Every tube of toothpaste you use, every roll of toilet paper you consume, every diaper your child wears, every shirt you wear, every cigarette you smoke in this taxing stress is taxed heavily.

Just to pay for our political masters, supporting in luxury lifestyles of our govt. babus and this type of wasteful bribery (waiver of loans)

RE:Loan Waiver
by k kumar on Feb 29, 2008 12:53 PM  Permalink
well said.. let us spread the word against the govt and system that eats away our hard earned miney and gives nothing in return.. PC go and have a look at the developed nations, atleast the system there is kind enough to respect the taxpayers and supports them when they need it..India I can vouch has got the most creepy and bullshit system thats screwing people(taxpayers) and they(taxpayers) are so happy to oblige.. WOW..

RE:Loan Waiver
by BABY CHUT on Feb 29, 2008 01:09 PM  Permalink
AM SURE HALF THIS MONEY WILL GO IN THE WRONG WAY AND THEREFORE FM SHOULD APPOINT HIS PEOPLE IN PARTICULAR TO CHECK EACH CASE INDIVIDUALLY NO MATTER EVEN IF IT TAKES A YEAR AND ONLY DERSERVING HARDWORKING FARMERS WHO HAVE ACTUALLY TOILED AND ARE IN LOSS SHOULD BE COMPENSATED IN PARTS ONLY. THIS IS IMPORTANT OTHERWISE NO USE OF THIS. MORE CARE SHOULD BE TAKEN OF HIGH OFFICIALS WHO ARE INVOLVED IN CORRUPTION. A PART OF THE CBI TEAM SHOULD BE INVOLVED IN THIS. BETTER TO EMPLOY SOME BRITISH PEOPLE TO CHECK THIS THING. AS SEE OUR SHARE MARKETS ALSO ARE ALMOST 80 PERCENT DEPENDED ON UK-US ..GORA.. MARKETS. THEY ARE STILL AFRAID OF THE BRITISH AS THEIR HONESTLY IS NOT LOYAL. AND ANOTHER THING, ONLY FOR VOTES SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED

terrorist
by Rahul on Feb 29, 2008 12:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The only way to survive in this country is to become a farmer. Take loan, spend, splurge on anything you like & the get the loan waived off. And tax the hapless honest tax payer so that one family's rule is perpetuated.
Isn't this bribery & at the same time extortion?

RE:terrorist
by Quacker Oats on Feb 29, 2008 02:10 PM  Permalink
banja farmer agar himmat hai to ! Jamin main deta haoon !pls come out of this urban thinking.look at the larger picture.

by am deep on Feb 29, 2008 03:06 PM  Permalink
Mr. Rahul i am also ready to give land to rahul and i being an urbanite -welcome you with all support and necessities required but you should not end up like us--R U READY

by Ashok and Anita on Feb 29, 2008 12:59 PM  Permalink
Please Sir think hard - do you really want to be a farmer ? We are fortunate to have dignity and not hounded by recovery agents. While I do not in the long run support waiver of loans would certainly look into the reasons why farmers are unable to re-pay loans. Is the farmer getting a fair price ? What happens incase of crop failure ? What happens incase of damage due to floods. All these are realities which the govt is not addressing completely.
Middlemen are making money on farm produce but not the farmers. We dont think of paying Rs.100-150 for a cinema ticket but start agitations if prices of vegetables go up. Please think of how our farmers can also live a good life and I am not looking at the few rich farmers, as most are poor.

by am deep on Feb 29, 2008 01:12 PM  Permalink
well said anita and ashok- i being a big farmer today i am unable to support my family for minimum necessities just because the way we are cheated by every person taking farmer for granted- an easy prey for anything and anyone- just try once to be a farmer then you will really say what i am feeling today because just like Rahul i said the same thing of becoming a farmer and today i am nowhere with lagre chunk of land laughing at me and telling me to till i end up - it is really hard to understand the problems being faced by farmers- the waiver is nothiong for me just a 25% if i pay or else pesticide.

RE:RE:terrorist
by Ashok Gupta on Feb 29, 2008 01:24 PM  Permalink
Sales outlets by farmer co-operatives could be a possible answer to get better prices. This is happening in Tamil Nadu and very successful.
There are many areas which need to be rectified and getting a fair return is a starting point.
The exploiters have to be stopped and that includes the politicians. Farmers must force the issue and highlight their problems to the people who may not listen or care but reality is that if farmers can get the retail prices they stand to gain.

by Rahul on Feb 29, 2008 01:18 PM  Permalink
Good to see farmers writing on the internet. Also language of JNU type. Go Farmer go..

by Rahul on Feb 29, 2008 01:06 PM  Permalink
Do you really believe problems like this can be solved. Fishing villages like Singapore, HongKong have been transformed by the entrepreneurship of their people and here we have people lauding these criminal steps of this Govt. I always thought of my mother nation as a great country but now just tears come out, how we ourselves have wasted our paradise to a wasteland

by Ashok Gupta on Feb 29, 2008 01:17 PM  Permalink
We have neglected agriculture and looked down on it as a profession since it did not pay enough. Food is a neccessity and farming has to become profitable. You have made a good point that singapore/hongkong have progressed because of entrepreunership. India has also moved forward with the green revolution but it seems we have got stuck here and now not taking it to the next step. Crops are always put to risk by nature and this is the area which needs looking into. Israel has converted arid land into rich agricultural land by implementing drip irrigation whrease we are are converting rich agricultural land to industrial land.Modern farming methods must be implemented and results will also come.

foolish
by bikram b on Feb 29, 2008 12:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

private companies willing to pay more to farmers (e.g. reliance retail), but govt can't allow that....see what happened in UP.

Then he says farmers not having enough income, waive off loans. Mostly people with link to politicians will get the benefit. Poor farmer will still not get anything.

RE:foolish
by Sudhakar Pandey on Feb 29, 2008 12:50 PM  Permalink
Apt point dude...Politicians don't care for farmers they only care for farmer's vote. If farmer's death can earn them vote then they will abet all farmers to suicide.

Teach them how to fish rather than feeding them fish
by Sudhakar Pandey on Feb 29, 2008 12:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

"All loans for farmers due up to 31 Mar 2007, have been waived," all goodies.. after all budget is last budgets of this government.
Good that election come after every 5 years else all budgets will be last budget and the nation will never progress. I am in favor of anything for education and health. But, don't waste the money by waiving off loans. This way people will become use to it, every yrs they will expect the same. One argument could be: %u201Catleast.. with the no of farmer suicides%u2026%u201D We can do a lot of things for farmers and poor. Old cliche "teach them how to fish rather than feeding them fish.%u201D Give them job rather than money. I am not blaming farmers. If your father don't teaches you how to earn and just keep giving you money then how long he can do that? Waiving off is a definite reprieve for farmers but they will remain poor. We need to change their condition and future. Provide them avenues to earn money for their present and future. Waive off is a short sighted and electorate luring instrument that is a burdan on others. I don't want people to be dependent on me. I want them to stand beside me. I don't want them to be burden on me rather I want them to share load with me. Eventually, we need to come out of dependency on agriculture and start something on service sector.

Simple...

RE:Teach them how to fish rather than feeding them fish
by ram kumar on Feb 29, 2008 01:25 PM  Permalink
I think it is high time to start agricultural business. Bcoz Land 2 acres free,Loan waiver, free power,subsidy for manure.It is possible
only in India. We fools voting for these type
of parties Vote bank Politics Jai hind

Farmers' debt to be waived!
by shivkumar bhosale on Feb 29, 2008 12:35 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Well done FM! Farmers work under intense sunlight. They have no proper financing scheme.By working over more than 12 hours they only manage to maintain themselves with third grade poor standard. Any of his or his family member's ailment or other health problem collapses his financial condition and leads him towards committing suicide. And ironically at the time when rest of India is shining.
Its high time now to bring growth rate of agriculture sector to match other sectors.
Kudos for PM,FM & Agri.Minister!!!

RE:Farmers' debt to be waived!
by pacificblue on Feb 29, 2008 12:44 PM  Permalink

Brother, if you are still not awake, it was Congress who was there ruling for around 60 years. It was congress who kept farmers that way. If it was not for people like Narayana Murthy, the rest of the -so called shining- india would have been in the same state. When are you people going to wake up?

RE:RE:Farmers' debt to be waived!
by shivkumar bhosale on Feb 29, 2008 03:44 PM  Permalink
No no Brother you have mistaken me. The referrence to India Shinning was not sarcastic.Person likes Narayan Murthy are matter of very pride to Indians.

Bullshit
by Gajendra singh on Feb 29, 2008 12:35 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The poor farmers will still die...some will get benefit but those who were really good in farming and didnt take any loan, they wont get any benefit, instead from now on they will start to take loans in hope that i may get waived in future.
Its all bullshit, money never reach to end user.

RE:Bullshit
by am deep on Feb 29, 2008 01:18 PM  Permalink
No succesful farmer will ever go far a loan because once he takes loan he will end up as unsuccessful farmer as i am today because of calamities, government and selfish leader take advantage of li'l pey they give to farmers and take away the pride of giving food to people

RE:Bullshit
by Gajendra singh on Feb 29, 2008 02:07 PM  Permalink
True Sir..but cant do anything here on net...
Must think of next generation and make it better place/country to live.
Lets work together, hopefully in future we can have clean and educated Govt.

the habit of Freebies
by Anil P on Feb 29, 2008 12:34 PM  Permalink 

The FM is giving lot of freebies. He is making lot of tax money. The service tax on Mobile REcharge is a new stream of revenue. He is spending lot.
TAX IS TO BE REDUCED>

Total 324 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11   Older >