If a small upgrade is made in the new tracking system, it would save many heads time (I think so). The upgrade would be - Satelite Based Closed Circuit Television which keeps Picture and Sound track while traveling in the cab. After getting down the passenger to be tracked upto particular distance like 100 mtrs or so. I am sure if this is the upgrade then security is near to achievement without much of the after-happening headaches for all involved and courts as well. Thanks for allowing me to put my vision into technology to be re-developed by scientists.
I dont get it safety is achived by following simple rules, which is never allow a single woman to travel alone in such BPO taxis at night, always atleast 1 male companion. We cant imagine what a driver might think of the girls but if drivers with Senior age (40 ) the chances of such cases reduces !!
RE:This is like Minority Report
by arbitary on Feb 23, 2008 01:09 AM Permalink
The Pune incident had the driver and another male in the car. Look what happened. Also, the driver can lie to the woman employee and say that the person to be picked up before her is sick or something. Technology is not fool-proof but at least it is an improvement.
In each of the solved cases, the driver was known and scheduled to pick up. So in essense, this system will only pinpoint the schedule of a crime if it happens (assuming everybody carries the devices)
This is not the job of the CEO or CIO of a company. It is job of the police to maintain law and order in the country. Poor BPO people cant appoint 1 police for one employee. Even if they do so we will see police raping the employee.
I dont understand why we are so sensitive about matters to women alone. 3 rape and murders in 4 yrs in BPO industry and we talk so much. Where as there are 1000's of rape and 1000's of murders everywhere else in the country and we keep our mouth shut.
Is it possible to completely wipe off murders and rape in the world. Answer is NO. So dont talk about things which we can never do.
Can anyone say how many are raped in the day time and murdered in the day time. Should we call for BAN for working during daytime as well
RE:God Save India & Indians
by Gautam Sinha on Feb 22, 2008 10:26 PM Permalink
yes so there will be a new position for chief of intracity transit urban security (COITUS)
This "sounds" good but the use is to be seen when actually the system is in place. This may create a psychological impact that "uncle santa" is watching in cab drivers.
Do they have a response team who can reach a spot in case of "Alert" to protect the victim?
Where is the infrastructure for this?
True solution would be deploying a strong "Law and Order force", stiffer punishments for "Crime" and "capable officers".
How can all this happen in India? where the guy who attached the Parlament building years back is still enjoying laxury in the jail. "Congress govt is protecting the criminals" Not to mention about the background of our so called puppet "president" :)
RE:What about privacy? more over this is a reactive system.
by Gautam Sinha on Feb 22, 2008 10:31 PM Permalink
where is privacy violated? who is going to disclose your whereabouts to anyone? BPOs are typically not funded by govt so RTI does not apply and in case of crime you anyway have to tell the investigative agencies.
A verse from one old song 'Muhabat Karlo Ji Bharlo Kisne Roka Hai, Par Bade Gazab Ki Baat Hai Ismebhi Dokha Hai. Shikayat Karlo Ji Bharlo Kisne Roka Hai, Hosake Toh Duniya Chhoddoh Duniyahi Dokha Hai'.
If everything is counted adversely then only you yourself can help your ownself. Like other establishments, BPO management may think of informing all employees to travel by their own ways and means at their own risks - matter closed (who so ever is interested would work otherwise look for other option) it is that simple to deal with such expanding issues.
I think I am not unfair to negative energies showcased every moment on every subject.
Any tracking device we invent is useless. Soon you will find people crying foul for invasion of privacy if not then what good it does even if you come to know that some one is hijacked becuase by time police can respond the crime will be complete. I think we have to look for some ways to check that only right people are hired as drivers. Will need to have a system where in drivers feel responsible and they will not be lured to commit crimem thats the only safe way. You need to have detail investigation of drivers and security before hiring.
RE:Any tracking is useless
by Libran on Feb 22, 2008 09:03 PM Permalink
I agree. But, while there are criminals (so called wrong people) who can be avoided while hiring, there is nothing like right people because the right person at the wrong time could turn in to a criminal (there is always first time for everything. right?). In addition to all the technology, people should have defense mechanism such as pepper or some other spray. Finally, sadly, there is nothing like 100% effective method!! That does not mean we should not improvise and try to save at least a few occurences if not all.