Total 77 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
service tax on medical expenses
by Rama Subramanian on Mar 09, 2008 07:29 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

service tax of rs.2.50 lacs paid on hospital bill in one go and the patient expired () can i claim the service tax back from the hospital or government or what are the remedies available to me

RE:service tax on medical expenses
by Sun on Mar 29, 2008 04:58 PM  Permalink
No way. What goes into the govt coffer is never returned. There is no remedy. I actually paid service tax of over Rs.7 lakhs on wrong advice,came to know later that there was no service tax paid. But they say there is no chance of getting it back.

RE:RE:service tax on medical expenses
by Sun on Mar 29, 2008 04:58 PM  Permalink
Typo. No service tax was to be charged.

Home Loan
by Aashish Pathak on Feb 25, 2008 04:53 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If i am paying Rs 20,000 as EMI per month i.e 2.4 lacs per year... then is the complete amount non taxable.

Please reply.

Aditya

RE:Home Loan
by srinivas surreddy on Feb 29, 2008 07:30 PM  Permalink
if it is housing loan u can claim only interest paid to bank not on principal.

Consolidated pay hra
by Prabhu Ramappa on Feb 24, 2008 11:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have been earning consolidated salary of Rs. 12000 per month for 5 months. I used to sign the salary statement every month where they mentioned my HRA as Rs. 3000. Later I have been earning basic pay of Rs. 8000 per month in which the HRA is mentioned as Rs. 1200. My employers say that my consolidated pays HRA can't be deducted for tax calculations. Now my question is should I deduct that 3000X5 from my gross income or not for calculating my tax? Thanks in advance. Please suggest.

RE:Consolidated pay hra
by Sun on Mar 29, 2008 05:00 PM  Permalink
Your HRA can be deducted only if you can show a receipt. If you dont show a proper receipt, then it is taxable.

Does the fee paid to a certification be produced for tax exemption?
by Vijay K on Feb 11, 2008 10:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi, I have given a certification which costs Rs 45,000. Can I produce this I mean the receipt to get IT exemption?

RE:Does the fee paid to a certification be produced for tax exemption?
by Anilkumar Kucheria on Feb 24, 2008 12:55 AM  Permalink
of course, why not.

RE:Does the fee paid to a certification be produced for tax exemption?
by sujith kumar on Feb 25, 2008 07:20 PM  Permalink
Money paid for self education is not exempt from tax so you can't claim tax exemption on a certification exam which has cost you Rs. 45000. Only money paid as tuition fees for education of children is exempt from tax.

Reg Form 16 from previous employers
by MAHESH PATIL on Feb 10, 2008 03:01 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

i have a doubt regarding the submission of from 16 from the previous employers. I have submitted all the investment proofs to my current employer. However, it is a usual practis that many organizations ask for the form 16 from their previous employers. I have come to my current organization in the mid of financial year, how ever there is no question of form 16 coming into the picture in my present organization. I am confused whether i need to necessarily get from my previous employer or forget it. someone, please help me out!

RE:Reg Form 16 from previous employers
by Anilkumar Kucheria on Feb 24, 2008 12:42 AM  Permalink
The concept is quite very simple & comprehensible. Take your case, u changed ur. job in the mid of the current financial year, But, u got your salary from ur. ex-employer, that means u earned for that period and now, u changed ur. job and started drawing /earning from ur. new job, u club both the incomes, if the same goes beyond the exemption limit, u keep urself ready to pay tax, if the its below the limit, then vice-versa, means no tax payment. Is it clear ?

RE:RE:Reg Form 16 from previous employers
by Anilkumar Kucheria on Feb 24, 2008 12:44 AM  Permalink
In any case, u have to collect Form-16 from ur. ex-employer for the Income u earned. That's it.

by Anilkumar Kucheria on Feb 24, 2008 12:57 AM  Permalink
Mr. Patil, Form-16 is a compilation of Income you earned during one financial year whether from one employer or more than one, does not matter. So, u have to collect Form-16 from ur. ex-employer.

by cynic on Feb 24, 2008 11:23 AM  Permalink
Relax. I was in a similar situation, but did not have the inclination to go ask my previous employer for Form 16. You need the old employer's Form 16 only if you want your new employer to file returns on your behalf. Instead of filing my returns via the new employer, I filed it myself showing only the Form16 given by the new employer. It took hardly 15 minutes. It of course meant that I'd not declared my income for the year spent with the old employer, but I'm no millionnaire and so IT dept does not check at this level of detail (they're Indian government employees, after all!)

Unless you're a really rich guy, you can save a lot of hassle by not bothering about the old Form16 at all.

by akalp srivastava on Feb 24, 2008 02:14 PM  Permalink
It's not OK. One should show the total income earned in a FY and pay the tax accordingly. IT department can check the total income earned from the banks also, and then one has to pay heavy fine on the unpaid tax.

by rajeev goyal on Feb 11, 2008 12:31 PM  Permalink
you have to collect Form -16 from your previous emplyoyer on behalf of that only you can fill IT return of this year.

TAX
by jairaj on Feb 07, 2008 11:53 PM  Permalink 

sir what are "eligible shares"in income tax returns?How much time they have to be hold

Great? really?
by Amit Phatak on Feb 07, 2008 04:18 PM  Permalink 

Wonder how #4, #5 & #9 (all related to personal/relative disabilities) are "great" ways of saving tax?!!

single price
by on Feb 07, 2008 02:51 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

sir,single price be charged across country for lpg cylinder,petrol and diesel.well incometax and service tax is same for all,why lpg is less costing in delhi by rs.40/-and diff. in petrol pricers.4/-less in delhi.

RE:single price
by srinivas surreddy on Feb 29, 2008 07:34 PM  Permalink
state government also levy tax on those products. Delhi government kind enough to you and transportation also counts.

RE:single price
by nsca on Mar 09, 2008 10:14 AM  Permalink
Dilli walon ko kamaneki ki nahi khoon choosne ki aadat hai

Total 77 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >