9 out of 10 cities featured here (except for the suprise Bardhman) are the among the 10 largest cities of India. If they had included Kanpur(9th largest) instead of Bardhman, this list had all 10 largest cities as fastest growing cities.
this means rest of of the nation is not growing as fast as the big cities growing. This also means that only big cities can grow fast, not the small cities. So, there would be mass scale migration from small cities and villages to these cities leaving rest of the country underdeveloped. This paints a very dangerous picture of India's future.
There is no authenticity of this list and data. Could be handiwork of builders who might have invested in land in these cities and looking for good rates of the properties.
RE:Gujrat
by Karunakar Patil on Feb 06, 2008 02:49 PM Permalink
10% growth rate of Elephant and 10% growth rate of Mouse cannot be compared yaar. Mumbai is bigger than combined all cities of Gujrat.
Mumbai GDP in just service IT and finance sector is bigger than any states combined GDP of AGRI, INDUSTRY & Service-Finance sector of any Indian State.
One Marathi cities one sector GDP is greater than Any whole state. So you have give credit to Maha CM and politicians.
by D C Shaikh on Feb 06, 2008 02:30 PM Permalink
Maharastra has seen earthquakes, flood, drought, bombing, riots, etc. in last 50 yrs still maharastra progressing rapidly we never gives credit to CM of Maharastra. we r not blind follower
by shankar aurade on Feb 06, 2008 02:36 PM Permalink
you are not blind follower, but blind person as you cant see in your home that power has gone for 12 hr a day & that in industrail area 3 hours a day. most of the farmers suicide. good progress but you cant coplaint on it.
by D C Shaikh on Feb 06, 2008 02:51 PM Permalink
shankar, everywhere people facing same problem. this is not only maharastra's problem but entire india is having same proble. Still Maharastra progressing rapidly. Credit goes to Maharastrian people not to CM of Maharastra.
by Rajendra Nigam on Feb 06, 2008 03:34 PM Permalink
i hope by maharashtrian ppl u dont just mean marathi speakin ppl but everyone residing here..
Modi has two cities from Gujarat in top three. I am not a politician and I am not a north Indian. I am from Chennai. But Modi is doing wonders to Gujarat.
RE:Kudos to Modi if this rating is correct
by Shubhangi on Feb 06, 2008 02:20 PM Permalink
Let us hope he will get a chance to do wonders for the whole nation soon.
RE:Kudos to Modi if this rating is correct
by Cookscape Jayanagar on Feb 06, 2008 02:20 PM Permalink
i agree with u kudos,but iam sure i am agreeing to u just because iam also frm chennai,ha ha,modi is good
RE:Bardhaman & kolkata ahead of chennai?
by JOYDEEP GUPTA on Feb 06, 2008 02:27 PM Permalink
not sure Burdwan, but Kolkata is far far ahead from Chennai..
by Anand Srinivasan on Feb 06, 2008 02:30 PM Permalink
Kolkata has just got bandhs ,bandhs thats it no scope for growth for any industries
by Bjp harbe on Feb 06, 2008 02:50 PM Permalink
You cry,weep whatever-Kolkata and Bardhaman comes in the list above Chennai-This is not LTTE survey where you find Chennai the most progressive in the world.
by Anand Srinivasan on Feb 06, 2008 02:26 PM Permalink
No way Kolkata,Bardhman,Hyderabad is ahead of chennai.Bangalore,Hyderabad are just so called hyped city .......
by deep admane on Feb 06, 2008 04:24 PM Permalink
I think everybody, who is watching this site is not satisfied with this list.
RE:Growth of Bangalore
by S Shrikanth on Feb 06, 2008 02:26 PM Permalink
Mr Shridhar is absolutely correct. Govt policies and builder's greed is destroying good things.
Once Bangalore was a walkers paradise 2 decades back, is now driver's hell. Politicians in Karnataka never thought beyomd Bangalore and encroached it at their will. Result - a distorted, wounded Bangalore. Every politician, builder putting as many nails as they can.
by timepass on Feb 06, 2008 02:18 PM Permalink
migration is the best way forward for national integration and spread of humanism
by mahesh lakshminarayan on Feb 06, 2008 02:35 PM Permalink
i am a chennai guy i no longer live in chennai.May be in future.I was really moved by my dads job,also my job to other states.When i went back to chennai i felt its not my place anymore.I dont know why we have same view.Its distrubing.Regards,Mahesh Iyer.
by Rajendra Nigam on Feb 06, 2008 03:41 PM Permalink
how cud you expect places to remain same?? whole world is changing... whts disturbing u?
by Rakesh gupta on Feb 06, 2008 02:52 PM Permalink
What i think is that it is just only a Political stunt and no body should involve into this.Thinkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk if it will happen in all over India then............... we are human being not animal and in India no body have right to stop any body to live any where.
by SAM KIM on Feb 06, 2008 02:10 PM Permalink
That's the story of many of us in india, bcoz misrule of our rulers. infrastructure and industry did not go out of many states capital cities.
So the migration happened. Result is choas. for example, recent vandalism in Mumbai by MNS!!
by Raktim on Feb 06, 2008 02:23 PM Permalink
are we thinking about introducing regional passport/ visa now? A lot of jobs will be created to form BSF's. Maybe Ranji should be named as India Cup, and all the Khans should be doing only Urdu movies. No need to have only one PM.
RE:perfectly said
by D C Shaikh on Feb 06, 2008 02:15 PM Permalink
there is two city from Maharastra Pune and Mumbai is always remain on top since 50 year, we never gives this credit to CM of Maharastra.
by Abhinesh Kumar on Feb 06, 2008 02:20 PM Permalink
gujarat has seen earthquakes, flood, drought, cyclones, riots, etc. in last 10 yrs n is still No. 1 state of India.
by D C Shaikh on Feb 06, 2008 02:26 PM Permalink
Maharastra has seen earthquakes, flood, drought, bombing, riots, etc. in last 50 yrs still maharastra also progressing rapidly we never gives credit to CM of Maharastra. we r not blind follower
chennai has automobile,it,it-enabled,engineering,shipping industry next to mumbai and delhi in transportaion -less crime -social lift parameter exceeds most of the cities in india .why it ranaked 10th share the basis and methodology
RE:why-chennai-10th
by B Ramamurthy on Feb 06, 2008 02:08 PM Permalink
hey the cities have been rated based on GDP and this is how the cities have to be rated.. chennai's GDP is 6.2% hence its rated 10th, quite natural.
by mahesh lakshminarayan on Feb 06, 2008 03:01 PM Permalink
Guys,Chennai is not less in Crime.Chennai is next to Banglore (in e-Crime and hard crime).Actually chennai should be said as 8th but the raise in property rates with poor industrial oppertunitys had let to 10th. because this counts in GDP.If you take mumbai crime rates are high compared to any city but industrys are also very high.The security is tight making it space to 3.Most of the time its Surath,Vadora which wins mumbai as heavy money in those places.Chennai should improve as more peacefull state to stay and come head in this chart.Crimes count a lot,Delhi is top but they erase it there many times.In other states thay do it but late.Banglore,Hydrabad are actually in a threat time for development.
by Rajendra Nigam on Feb 06, 2008 03:44 PM Permalink
chennai is one place where outsiders do feel like outsiders... havent faced this in any other south indian city.. chennai is not a true cosmopolitan city..
by Cookscape Jayanagar on Feb 06, 2008 02:27 PM Permalink
yeah,its based on gdp,see they didnt say the top ten cities in india,if so chennai will be ahead of many cities in this list.