Total 50 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
why do we need solar when we have signed nuclear deal
by Kris on Aug 02, 2008 06:26 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Ok , never mind

RE:RE:why do we need solar when we have signed nuclear deal
by rajkiran on Aug 02, 2008 07:33 PM  Permalink
I'm surprised to see educated middle class feels as if n-energy is the answer...note that it is very expensive and we have to rely on a '�artel' for supply. We shd only cautiously take n-path.

We shd go for renewable energy systems.

RE:why do we need solar when we have signed nuclear deal
by Kris on Aug 02, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink
I am surprised that educated middle class can not recognize sarcasm and humor.

by neeraj Chauhan on Aug 03, 2008 12:24 AM  Permalink
There is no single solution for energy problem, The solution includes a combination of solar,wind, geo-thermal,ocean and nuclear energy soutions to be chosen depending upon different factors such as cost,environment,ramp up time,availability of input resources and infrastructue to name a few and besides other factors such as achieving energy independence. Also, this is nothing to do with middle class etc. If we talk of Nuclear energy, France feeds 76% of its energy requirement from nuclear power. But all said, we should be careful in negotiating the terms and direction of nuclear option.

by nimit patel on Aug 04, 2008 11:36 AM  Permalink
buddy dont give examp;le of france... i dont know where u read it.. but u are right not 76% more then that they are going for n enrgy..

but do u know why??? france is net supplied of electricty to poland, lithania, germany and some other country.. their export revenue comes from energy and its 19% of their GDP...

so theya re earning from that... that is doffrent matter...

by NoManLand on Aug 02, 2008 11:21 PM  Permalink
You are not right baby.
Sola is only solution to put the light is rural & remote villages.
Other wise like today most Indian village will remain in Dark for ever.

India's first solar housing complex
by subra manian on Aug 02, 2008 06:07 PM  Permalink 

This is one of the great article I have seen in rediff. These information will help the posterity to be greener and less Dependant on the other non renewable energy which is getting costlier depleted.
Thanks for the rediff and the contributer.
sun

solar usage for domestic purpose
by ARUMUGAM on Aug 02, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am eagerly waiting for erecting solar system for my houase @ Trichy, Tamilnadu where we are having sun power for more than 10 monthes in a year. If any body sugest me that erection of solar system is economical than regulat power supply,in long run, and what will be the cost for a building of 1000 sq.ft and where to get the subsidy for that etc. I am a retd. person aged 68 yrs and willing to provide solar system before my demice rather than buying another house. Kindly advice with all details to my email id jambu59@rediffmail.com which will be very much thankfull and appreciable. Early advice is very much appreciated.

RE:solar usage for domestic purpose
by Nilesh Patel on Aug 02, 2008 05:48 PM  Permalink
Sir,
I am also searching information for same. If I will get I will mail you. If you got any information pl. forward to me at nijkadi@rediffmail.com
Nilesh.

by aps on Aug 02, 2008 05:49 PM  Permalink
Yes Uncle I can guide you, only with your permission. Can I ?

by ARUMUGAM on Aug 03, 2008 04:07 PM  Permalink
sure. I am waiting for your sugestion dear.

Best news in past 6 months
by Sincere Citizen on Aug 02, 2008 05:31 PM  Permalink 

Frankly this is the best news I have read in the media in past 6 months. I wish good luck for these enterpreneurs and hope that more will follow suit.

India gets one of the most abundant supply of solar energy during most times of year if tapped properly each roof top is a potential mini power plant which can feed excess power into the grid.

This could be a very cheap and easy solution for daytime power needs and also a possible revenue earner for common man.

Excellent news this is what we need to be done on a mass scale, simple but efficient.

Also if produced on mass scale PV panels will become cheaper and cost effective.They also have a long life of 30 years approx.

The next step is to be able to recycle the PV material thus bringing the cost down further.

solar house - help me
by Nilesh Patel on Aug 02, 2008 05:27 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear all,
If any one knows that who can help for installation and set up for solar house. I am trying to get information through web, but not succeed. I am in Gujarat. We have one house. Now I want to set up or install or make change in that to utilise solar energy. (Particularly electricity). If any one can help ?

RE:solar house - help me
by Shekhar on Aug 02, 2008 05:35 PM  Permalink
it is given in article:

it's SunTechnics India.
search in google

by Sincere Citizen on Aug 02, 2008 05:33 PM  Permalink
Did you visit the GEDA site also your local yellow pages will have lots of contacts for solar water heater dealers.

I suggest you get a water heater first because it will pay back fast.

by aps on Aug 02, 2008 05:46 PM  Permalink
Do u want technology on Solar Cooker

by Sanjai on Aug 04, 2008 10:27 AM  Permalink
I plan to do the same for my house, but project plan is around 6 months. If you wait I can help you.

Once concept you should remember, and I dont know if the WB experiment does that solar power is extremenly expesnive. So as a first step, one should make the house very efficient. Switch to energy efficient lighting to start with, like the new T-5 14W tube lights can easily light a whole room, even of 300 sq ft, if positioned correctly. In which case lighting can easily be covered by Solar.

Next is to see your energy guzlers. If you have air conditioning, forget solar. AC should go. If you have space plant leafy trees around the house. Because I have lot of greenery around, I live without AC or fan. Key is you should not allow your building to see direct sunlight, that heats it up. If you have a roof which is not covered, the space not taken by solar, put Managlore tile roofing so the roof does not heat up ( I am assuming the place where you live, problem will be it gets too hot, and never toooo cold)

More later, once I am done with the project :)

by aps on Aug 02, 2008 05:32 PM  Permalink
ya I can help you.
Does your house have a roof ?

by Nilesh Patel on Aug 02, 2008 05:38 PM  Permalink
Yes I have roof. I have house with ground floor. Obstruction to direct light is nil.
even you can mail me at nijkadi@rediff.com

by aps on Aug 02, 2008 05:40 PM  Permalink
Ok then first u remove your Roof,
Then u see automatically after few days u will
get lots of Solar energy in your house.
Any more help u ask me

by Nilesh Patel on Aug 02, 2008 05:42 PM  Permalink
Thanks for your help. Atleast I get smile on my face.

by aps on Aug 02, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink
I have technology for Solar Cooker
Do you want it ?

no political will
by roopesh kumar c on Aug 02, 2008 05:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

i had a long standing plan to toimpliment this project to most of the cities and the villages so that some of the power requirement during the summer could have been achieved by this solar energy but the goverments have no political will to do, which made this out of reach from a common man

RE:no political will
by Nilesh Patel on Aug 02, 2008 05:29 PM  Permalink
can you guide me atleast for my home.

green energy
by Karthikraja K on Aug 02, 2008 04:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Govt should promote in mandatory basis for new buildings which costs more than 10 lakhs.
I am being proud to work in Solar company. My hosue is about to power by solar.

RE:green energy
by Nilesh Patel on Aug 02, 2008 05:30 PM  Permalink
I want to use same. If you can guide me.

by bhawani chauhan on Aug 02, 2008 05:04 PM  Permalink
sir,
i am based at jaipur. want to use same at my
up coming home.
can you give me more tips on this.?
regards....bs chauhan= 9829056018
mail- bsc_india1234@rediffmail.com

by chandrashekhar kumbhar on Aug 02, 2008 05:36 PM  Permalink
it is given in article:

it's SunTechnics India.
search in google

by Nalin Kumar on Aug 02, 2008 05:19 PM  Permalink
i agree with u Madam.
it is a very good idea.

by Sincere Citizen on Aug 02, 2008 05:27 PM  Permalink
To start with you can install Solar water heaters and then slowly get solar PV systems as well. PV systems are expensive water heaters are not.

Also all these installations have a slant from North - South (that gives maximum solar energy so make sure you have such areas on your roof tops if possible.

Welcome to the clean and green choice, wish you best luck.

good news
by aman on Aug 02, 2008 04:41 PM  Permalink 

I love to these technologies easily avaiable to the common man.

amazing
by amitgoel dimt on Aug 02, 2008 04:09 PM  Permalink 

I love to see this

Total 50 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >