Total 810 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Its time for getting together!!!
by bhaskar bhatt on May 05, 2008 01:35 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its funny to see the way people perceive the things. I read messages from some dudes talking about Sarath's clothes, his shirts and trousers and his Girlfriend even. Absolutely, funny. Few words I would like to say for them - "just grow up, guys". I read the story about Sarathbabu when I was in ahmedabad during 2006. His decision of refusing the lucrative jobs at that time was quite commendable given the fact that he had something else in his mind to do which was to start catering. And I guess people have their discretion to chose what they want to. Today he is doing well in his business after the early losses. And the important thing is that he is able to provide employment to many others which he wouldn't have been able to if he was working on a salary. What's wrong now if he wears expensive suits or shirts. He deserves it.

The important thing that comes out is that we have got a young group of individuals who are willing to contribute to the upliftment of the nation to the highest level. Its good to see the awakening and rising of the Indian youth. All we need is to unite all the efforts with better co-ordination and co-operation. And it should be supported and guided by the political parties as well. Looking at the growth and development in Gujarat, I feel Narendra Modi can be one such leader as he has got visions, ideas and knows the implementation as well.

Better derive good things from people like Sarath and be part of the chain of uplifting India.

RE:Its time for getting together!!!
by chinnanai on May 06, 2008 09:35 AM  Permalink
He is not recruiting from Rural TN. He is recuriting from chenniia.

He is not profitable as to be crorepati as published by rediff. The whole idea as someone told is to get more business, He has already begged one enng. collge and have got the offer to cater.

And jeans, t-shirts. Sarath is a smart guy. He did all these to impress his GF.

People are not fools. They can see through.

Bhatt Sahab,

Open your eyes.

by sivashakthi sivaramakrishnan on May 06, 2008 04:13 PM  Permalink
attn: chinnanai.
how does it matter to u that he is tamil, that he recruits from chn and not from rural tn. when employment is provided and ppl r beneffited, we shld learn to appreciate it. and fyi a tamil not knowning India's Independence day sounds better to me than a stupid person like u, who only knows to discriminate between a south indian or north indian, and who doesnt see happiness in the growth of a fellow indian. As long as ppl like u r here in india, it is better to forget that we have got independence at ll. discrimination/reservations and such things remind us that there r ppl in this society who aren't independent in the true sense of it.

by Andhaa Kanoon on May 05, 2008 02:07 PM  Permalink
To both you and Sarathbabu, first stop population growth. MAke efforts to reduce adding Australia every year to our nation, then only we can serve idlis to all and do some real development.

by suma on May 06, 2008 12:55 AM  Permalink
Why wouldn't you do whatever you are asking others to do ?

Only more Entreprenuers can solve problem of India
by manoj on May 05, 2008 10:37 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In India we have land, labour, capital. But knowledge and entreprenuer are missing. We need a lot of courageous people like him who can risk their time, effort, money to set up business. That will creat profit for him, job for unemployed. Problem is many people just want to do any small job and live a lezy life. Thats not gonna work if we dream to make india a super power. we need people who can set up business offices/shops etc.
Also knowledge is missing. We have to set up system where if entreprenur want to start business knowledge should be easily available to him about market, product, service etc Then he will feel confidence and start business.
America is richest nation because it provide money, knowledge everything to its citizen who want to start business. And u must know that more than 50% of american are working in smaller business. That generate income for people easily and tax for govt. Then govt. has a lot of money to provide best infrastructure. the cycle goes on. Now china is following same mantra.

good work
by ben hur on May 05, 2008 09:33 AM  Permalink 

however, v not only need enterpreneurs like sarath but also the farmers who can feed the 1 billion ppl. in the present generation, agriculture has lost its charm and every1 wants to do white collar job.
may b by being foodking, sarath can go for reverse expansion (backward integration is the word!) in agri field.

Great...
by Xyz on May 05, 2008 01:19 AM  Permalink 

Sarathbabhu, frist of all i would like to salute your mother. I can imagine how much You and your mother would have strurggled.

India needs people like Sarathbabhu who wants to help poor people. As suresh said you are inspiration to all of us.
Thanks to rediff for publishing this inspiring article.

great
by sushanta barman on May 04, 2008 04:28 PM  Permalink 

Sarathbabu: You are among those great persons who can change the India. You are real \"HERO\". I would be very happy if I can serve you or your idia anyway please.

S. Barman

Great Job
by Bishwajeet kumar on May 04, 2008 04:16 PM  Permalink 

I proud such a person Shri. E.Sarathbabu he prove it one who want any thing he get it . for this only he will keep passions .

Facts as Always
by Ordinary Indian on May 04, 2008 04:15 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

First of all, cudos to Sarath. He has come up, the hard way. He deserves a lot of credit.

However, telling that how poor he was, how difficult it was for him for money to study etc. are utter non-sense.

1. How come you go to BITS Pilani Sarath?

It is one of the most expensive institutions.

2. How come you reach IIM-A Sarath?

Another institution with expenses which can not be borne by a normal engg grad, even with so called fees of scholarship. To have loans, you need to have other immovable assets. And you had it for sure.

3. How come you reject offers when you are so penniless Sarath?

Can anyone reject an offer (he was offer 9lakhs - now a days a software engineer gets 15 lakhs if he is good!). Even then 9 lakhs is a very good money for higher middle class family. Not for you?? !!

4. How come you visit you girlfriend so often without money Sarath?

Well, you seem to very smart in having girlfriend. But, where you find all the time, money and energy to do that when you are so poor?

5. How come you dress in a all new age dresses (branded jeans, t -shirts, every photo I have seen) Sarath?

This one beats it all. I can understand if someone is simply dressed. But I see you in branded t-shirts, jeans and shoes and that is from a penniless person?

We have seen people of true character (really without money when they did not have it). A Shastri in politics, a Murthy in Corporate or a running champion from Uganda even.

RE:Facts as Always
by Ordinary Indian on May 04, 2008 04:16 PM  Permalink
But you have all the money to have branded assesories, but you claim you do not have money.

6. How come you throw all the money spent during studying (Engg from BITs IIM-A = 20 lakhs plus) if you want to get into business?

For getting into business, you need not have all these degrees. Without them, (with the characters you have projected), you would have done just fine!

7. Now what is the aspiration. I do not give a damn about greed. But I need a car, I need a house, I need a girlfriend and I need a profitable business. Good lord! Stop this non-sense. Contradiction at its best.

Nobody is taking credit for your hardwork. It is deserved.

But, stop bit-ching on not having money and trying to get sympathy. Nobody is a fool. What you are saying is:

"Friends, I did engg from bits, and I did not have any money. I did not join any company after bits as I did not have money, hence I joined iim-a. After iim-a, i did not have money. So i did not take any offers."

Good heavens! Even a 5 yeard old kid will not believe it!!

by chinnanai on May 04, 2008 04:36 PM  Permalink
But, he is smart. Is not he?

He requested Rediff to publish. So some more business from propestive companies to whom he can the caterer. That is good business sense or sympathy sense!

by venkat m on May 05, 2008 07:13 AM  Permalink
how can you say he requested Rediff to publish? Its more likely that Rediff approached him.
chinnanai - u must be a useless fellow who can only see useless things.

by chinnanai on May 06, 2008 12:49 AM  Permalink
Check the facts again.

He has already done with one enggineering college in tamilnaud after a "speech" about his poverty.

The whole idea to publish in rediff is to gain symphathy and get some food business.

Do not get it yet?

RE:RE:Facts as Always
by Praveen Jha on May 04, 2008 04:52 PM  Permalink
Hi "Ordinary Indian", I don't think you have read the complete story about Sarathbabu. Yes, he did study at BITS but you should also read that he got the money from a govt. scholarship. And once you are in BITS life does get simpler after that. His achievement is really commendable and you should have read more about him before making such allegations.

by Ordinary Indian on May 04, 2008 05:00 PM  Permalink
I know in and out of scholarship at BITs. You can definitely study and do well with that.

But you can not go for a branded jeans/shirts, girfriend, do not take any offers after engg. and then go for iim-a. And again do not accpet offer and say that I do not have any money! That is ridiculous.

As it has been said by someone this is catering sense for business. He has done it with one engg college (and nothing wrong with that).

But what is funny is he is crying for being poor, penniless, tough life et al.

RE:RE:Facts as Always
by Ordinary Indian on May 04, 2008 05:09 PM  Permalink

You read the story of this @ Rediff.

The rickshawallah's son who cracked the IAS. see Govind, see his face, his interview, his lifestyle, his way of doing things. Which is belieable? This one or this pseudo one? You tell me.

specials dot rediff dot com slash getahead slash 2007 slash jun slash 07sld1 dot htm

sarathbabu
by Vivek Mehta on May 04, 2008 03:50 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Only one word: 'Hats off'

RE:sarathbabu
by varun arora on May 05, 2008 04:37 PM  Permalink
its two word not one

Sarathbabu
by A N Balakrishnan on May 04, 2008 03:36 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Mr.Sarathbabu,

I come from a middle class family, but my life has been a cake walk when I compare yours.

Sir, I am much elder to you, now 55 years of age; but if I ever I have a chance to meet you, the first thing I would do is touching your feet. You are one of the best this country has produced. I wish you all the best. May God shower his choiciest blessings on you.

RE:Sarathbabu
by subah jaani on May 04, 2008 04:06 PM  Permalink
dinyar,

you certainly is a big time IDIOT and there's no doubt about it. Try to understand the feeling Balakrishnan tried to convey in his message. You certainly doesnot even qualify to be a beggar, forget about being a crorepati with the attitude you have.

by A N Balakrishnan on May 04, 2008 05:28 PM  Permalink
Thank you for your understanding. Not everyone understood the true meaning of my words.

by A N Balakrishnan on May 04, 2008 05:24 PM  Permalink
A sycophant does what he does to get favour. I have nothing to gain from Sarathbabu and I may never meet him in this life.

Sometimes, certain events touch one's mind and soul. Such events go on to show that still good exists in this world and hard work pays off.

Your comment, sir, was totally unwarranted.

Repeat
by peearen on May 04, 2008 03:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This article was published last year by rediff. But I feel there are thousands of people who like Sharath have come up in life some of them even without education or financial support. I don't think this man needs so much publicity to inspire others. Every one can not be lucky as him.

RE:Repeat
by Web Monkey on May 04, 2008 03:40 PM  Permalink
Lucky? The difference here is that he was passed out from the top business school in India and could have opted for a job paying in crores. He had a vision and gave up a well paying job to give something back to the society.

His story is inspiring because he came up from a very poor background and was in aposition to make easy money. Still he chosen to take risk to make life better for a lot of people from poor background.

Hats of to him!

RE:Repeat
by venkat m on May 05, 2008 07:15 AM  Permalink
peearen - may be u can tell us your useless story instead.

Total 810 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>