Total 810 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>
May be a great guy, but his narration, hmmm
by Ramesh on Apr 29, 2008 06:04 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I don't know what this guy is upto, but his narrating style is boring. Sorry to say this but not up to the mark of IIM's. However whatever business he's started , one could also do it without an IIM education. He's only speaking of losses at the start, don't know if he had assessed properly what he's jumping into. hmm... anyway good luck guy!

RE:May be a great guy, but his narration, hmmm
by slicktiger on Apr 29, 2008 06:16 PM  Permalink
nevermind. he is not selling stories like other grads.

by Sheetal Kaur on Apr 30, 2008 12:55 AM  Permalink
You cant roll a wheel while it is laying on the ground, you have to lift it up and push.
it is that push which takes all your energy, once rolling you just need to push lightly.
Same is in business here that push is called loss, then you break even in other words you earn what you invested plus your losses then comes profit.
It does not come straight away,every company first make loss.
Success is a bitter pill which turn sweet with time and hard work.
It a like brass more you polish more it shines.

by Indiannnnnnnnnnnnnnnn on Apr 29, 2008 06:21 PM  Permalink
Dude !! have u gone nuts ? Are u listening to some penned up story? its his real life experience, try to feel from his shoes. If you want a very good narration listen to ManiRatnam's next movie, he would narrate it with everything what u want. Between empty vessels make more noise, like u.. If you can't appreciate someone do not care a damn about it, ofcourse u don't need a IIM education to start a biz, but still he had made a venture into catering business, he wants to do something to the society, let him..

by on Apr 29, 2008 06:27 PM  Permalink
idiot its not him who is narrating. its the editor of this column

A blessed one.
by Bishwa NathSingh on Apr 29, 2008 06:03 PM  Permalink 

E.Sarathbabu is a young man of firm determination. He has fondest love for his mother. It is because of her blessings & firm detemination; he is bound to go miles ahead till he reaches to his perfection. We congratulate him & wish him all success as rising entrepreneur.

waste of mba degree
by nitesh kumar on Apr 29, 2008 06:00 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

he is not helping any poor people.opening cafeteria in college is good for student as quality of food is not good in college mess.but he totally wasted his MBA degree.

RE:RE:waste of mba degree
by Sheetal Kaur on Apr 29, 2008 06:19 PM  Permalink
nitesh kumar why shouold he help poor, does he owe them a living. what is the contribution of these so called poors towards his success.
He was poor he had a vision, he worked towards it and is reaping the award.
He could have have followed the others by hanging around and not doing any thing.
His mother worked hard to educate him,he helped her to earn a living.
These so called poor should have doen the same or at least tried rater then sitting around in front of the Mandirs and Temlples begging for a meal.
Any one capable of working should be made to work by force there is plenty of work around.
Sweeping the streets is one of them.
any one refusing to work should be shot no one should give them any cash or what ever, they do not deserve it no one goes out to work for them.
No one owes these lepers of the society a Living.
If you are that worried Nitesh Kumar perhaps you should distribute half of your earning among these non productive idiots.
Sorry I for one is not ready to give these poor a single cent or any subsidy whats so ever they will have to earn it from me.c4hrs

RE:waste of mba degree
by prabhat mohanty on Apr 29, 2008 06:09 PM  Permalink

What you missed is that he plans to start 20 units next years.

That means the guy is thinking os scaling up.

Who knows this would lead a very efficient, reasonably priced food court chain.

After all Starbuck started with a single roadside joint !

Patience is road to success
by Rajkumar V on Apr 29, 2008 05:52 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Thogh a good inspiration to Many young men with some money to invest MBA or nonMBA can do this.
But Instead of starting right after MBA from IIM, he should have worked for MNC for 5 to 10 yrs and after gaining sufficient experience and capital he could have better utilised his skills enterpreneurship.
World welcomes success only so this story comes to light. we also know that many failed misrably and returned to jobs in MNC's.

RE:Patience is road to success
by eternity on Apr 29, 2008 05:56 PM  Permalink
Simply superb suggestion....even a infant will know that...what are u upto? Muft ka chandan ghis mere nandan....think big and be serious in life.

RE:Patience is road to success
by Rajkumar V on Apr 29, 2008 06:14 PM  Permalink
this a place to simply write your view points not a place for debate or competition.

I doubt this guy has vision
by AdfauunhAjrqQOmjh on Apr 29, 2008 05:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am sure this guy would have been more capable of touching many people's lives. But he is a caterer. It does not require an IIM degree.

I think Ambanis, for whatever their shortcomings, touch more lives than this guy does. They pay well (even a lowest mechanic) and they contribute to the GDP and pay a large percentage of Indian taxes through Reliance.

RE:I doubt this guy has vision
by Sheetal Kaur on Apr 30, 2008 04:31 AM  Permalink
AdfauunhAjrqQOmjh, Ambanis are well established, give this guy a chance and who knows one day he might be better employer then Ambanis.
At this point comparing him with Ambanies is just not on.

by Vighnaraj Kuloor on Apr 29, 2008 06:27 PM  Permalink
You might be an MBA from IIM or Premier institute. Many guys like you will work for him once he reaches a scale, lets say by 2011 and feel good... Thats your capability and class.

by Vijay on Apr 29, 2008 05:47 PM  Permalink
Just being a caterer does not require IIM degree. But being in Catering business requires lot of Management. He has turnover in crores which does not happen to other cateres in the third year.

not better than ours
by vishal potdar on Apr 29, 2008 05:11 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

are this guys is nothgin before our leader sushant surve. our leader is the more inteligent than the iim guys who can press cntrl enter on the ip messanger which holds all the dead flies of the toilet. he can also save all the unopened files in flash in once click. he can also provide free demos and to do that pls contact marshal.surve@majiwda.com.

RE:not better than ours
by ari ben canaan on Apr 29, 2008 05:17 PM  Permalink
i donts the trusts the indians....

RE:not better than ours
by ari ben canaan on Apr 29, 2008 05:37 PM  Permalink
eghzactly!!! tu table saaf kar, main abhi aya...

good better best
by venkat on Apr 29, 2008 05:09 PM  Permalink 

This is the second time Rediff is publishing this article.

He got loans from Banks because he was from IIM. If he is from BITs & IIM he should plan so that there would be no loss. He is getting losses worth lakhs of rupees & still can sustain the business.

My sely & my friend are doing business. I am working in another company & supporting the capital required for that business.

Kay pan
by vishal pp on Apr 29, 2008 05:05 PM  Permalink 

are hya kay, kuthlantari south chi idli wada sambar cutling chay doing some lufthandugiri work

What is new!!!
by kundan kumar on Apr 29, 2008 04:49 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I do not understand what special contribution he has made for the society. Whatever he has done, is an act of businessman, and so I do not see much scope for vision and all those great terms. basically, he has become a college caterer, and just like all other caterers making hell lot of money and certaily he would be managing his business by paying up the appropriate authorities. All the claims of providing employment, would have been true, had it been any other businessman. So, at best, it is a story of rags to riches, and I do not see any vision or anything great in it....India has a lot of such people...a lot..IIMs have got nothing to do with it..there is nothing special in his success!!! If he puts a completely different paradigm of employment like sharing his profits for building a school for all the employees kids...or providing free health benefits.provding facilities to these workers of an organised labor class with much more facilities..of course he would have deserved appreciation..otherwise..many leaders ..MPs..MLAs.and businessmen have become what he has become!!!!

RE:What is new!!!
by Nisha on Apr 29, 2008 04:56 PM  Permalink
it is attitude and his inclination to employ people, remember business is not his primary aim.. he has just started making profits, we will have to wait and watch to see how he uses the money to serve the poor

RE:RE:What is new!!!
by Sheetal Kaur on Apr 29, 2008 06:41 PM  Permalink
What poor Nisha and why.

by kundan kumar on Apr 29, 2008 05:09 PM  Permalink
That is very right...I whole heartedly agree we should wait and watch...however, my gut feeling and people may say cynicism suggests that he is not that much inclined towards anything other than the business issues.there are no words about his future plans indicating his social responsibilities dispositions!!!!

by Feel Like God on Apr 29, 2008 05:14 PM  Permalink
Is every successful man around is born just to help others ? Why cant the poor help themselves ? This guy himself is a glaring example. Whats up with us that we expect every one who makes money to help the poor? Why does one need to feed all the parasites around ?

by Vijay on Apr 29, 2008 05:53 PM  Permalink
Only successful businesses give employment. So creating successful business is the service one can do to the country. Most people do not see this. They just look at how much money he is making and getting jealous (end of story).

by Sheetal Kaur on Apr 29, 2008 06:43 PM  Permalink
100% correct Vijay

by sanju sah on Apr 29, 2008 05:50 PM  Permalink
i think u should judge urself 1st......."apne gireban me jhank kar to dekho.."
aapne kaya kaya kiya hain...?
wt's ur contribution for the society or country.. or else..????
just u try once (atleast for 1 day) live his similar life wt Sarathbabu had enjoyed...

sanju
Bhopal.

by kundan kumar on Apr 29, 2008 06:34 PM  Permalink
Mr Sanju..just see the opinions of people other than you..how convincingly they have argued their points...I disagree with most of them...yet I accept them...I respect them.for they are so logical.original..so clear and so convincing..and look at your opinion...so combative..so agressive..so trite..so banal..so meaningless...just like some ignorant village girl quarrelling with her neighbor...man...you may try to develop some ideas first before putting it down...this is no exam where you score marks...this is a place where you put down your ideas...and others help you in pointing out the alternative ways of thinking about the same issues...and then you also appreciate their points and in turn understand the issues better..thanks guys for providing valuable comments..I definitely have been impressed..and despite my misgivings..I think..I agree with most of you....

RE:RE:RE:What is new!!!
by joseph purathur on Apr 29, 2008 05:03 PM  Permalink
You seem to have looked at what Sarathbabu has done from the only angle of \'business\'. If you view it slightly broadly, his is an inspiring story, in the sense that instead of taking up an MNC job, he has tried to venture into an area where not many IIM-tians would enter. Besides, he has been able to provide jobs to a couple of hundres. A good beginning. Give him 5 years, and then see how many more hundreds he would be able to give employment. He will also be an inspiration to many more young entrepreneurs. Why don\'t you try to look at the positive side of his story!

by Narasimha raju on Apr 29, 2008 05:11 PM  Permalink
Man. He is an inspiration for many to become successful. People who are not self motivated should learn from. Even this is a kind contribution to the society. Contribution need not be always monetary. It can be in the form of being a role model also

by kundan kumar on Apr 29, 2008 05:21 PM  Permalink
There is no doubt that one has to agree he is a role model for people in self doubt and is a motivating example for lazy people. But do not you feel, these stories are more romanticised than the truth actually is....I mean..saying that studying with a kerosene lamp taught him how to concentrate!!! Many of us have studied under kerosene lamps I guess....but accounts like this are more fictional than truth..how was he paying the fees of BITS pilani..of IIM Ahmedabad..some coaching that he might have taken for CAT preparation....seems some liberty has been taken in mixing fiction to make the story more interesting and say'awesome'...

Total 810 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25   Older >   >>