Politicians are not interested to maintain prosperity or law and order situation. They are roaming here and there to collect bribes and make programme for next election result. Loot is everywhere.
There are huge differences between retail price and wholesale price in market. What is the reason? Some of the commodity ( perticulary vegitables) in samall cities or remote area is available at price 50-80 % less than in big cities or in metros. What is the reason? Kya kalabazari ho rahi hai. who is behind it? Is magic wand is required to curb it or efficient governing steps? Thanks
RE:No magic wand to curb prices: Govt
by my opinion on Apr 12, 2008 07:12 PM Permalink
Dear Mr Sahu, Why don't you go to these places where prices are supposedly cheaper to buy your daily rations? Then you will understand some basic fundas about about markets and pricing. Should airconditioners be available free in India just because cool air is available free in the Himalayas? Are there no other factors involved?
RE:Price is risign because infrastrure is not good
by Anuj Goyal on Apr 12, 2008 06:21 AM Permalink
These guys didn't made any progress on Golden quadilateral project as credit will go to Vajpayee government. Now when the price is rising in metro and elsewhere, these guy need a magic wand
I' not for or against any party...but I share one experience..In AP, adistant relation is a Govt official..He hated the regime during BJP(Center) TDP(Chandrababu- State ruling) He was the most happiest when Congress came in to rule...When asked why he preferred congress..He had to say...I can bribe people to get my promotion and Congress is laid back and we have free hand in taking bribes and sharing it with our superiors. I hate him till date.
But that's the fact. Majority of the price rise is due to hoarding and the middlemen are not controlled. Neither farmers nor consumers benefit.These people atleast in my state, live on bribes so that they can survive fr next ten years even if not in power. And they know tricks of the trade...just before elections..they divide people in their own sweet ways.
Government should distribute 20 kg rice or wheat at Rs 2 per kg per ration card through Public Distribution System
1. Will have a 'cascading' effect on remaining food items and will help in reducing the prices and inflation. 2. Will create 'demand' for agricultural products and will 'prevent' farmers suicide. 3. Will prevent 350 million Indians 'starving' every day for a 2nd meal.
RE:Government should distribute 20 kg rice or wheat at Rs 2 per kg per ration card through Public Distribution System
by my opinion on Apr 12, 2008 07:20 PM Permalink
Yes, and they are waiting for you to deliver the required 20 kg x Rs 2 x 365 days x approx 40,00,00,000 people = Rs 58,40,00,00,00,000 (Nearly 6 trillion Rupees) for this purpose. As soon aa you give the govt this money from your piggy bank, the scheme for the next year will be launched. Have you ever heard of something that goes like "There is no free lunch?"
What does it matter to the Aam Aadmi whether the Govt has a magic wand or not. The simple bottom line is that it is becoming increasingly difficult for the common man to sustain and the general feeling is that the Govt is not responsive enough. Ofcourse, it does not matter to some one like Mr. Sibal (or his colleagues) for he is a minister and he is living off our sweat and toil. Besides he is also a successful lawyer too.
It is a false statement to say food prices are rising across the board. In my state in West Bengal Potato farmers are committing suicides as the price of potato is now Rs.2 per KG while the cost of production is at least Rs.4 per Kg. Because of success in production there is no place in the coldstorage at all. Why is it not possible for the Indian people to eat potato instead of wheat or rice? Also this idiot Sibal is totally wrong. India is not importing much food; thus world prices have nothing to do with Indian prices. Prices are rising for many reasons: (a) Too much foreign money came to India through short term borrowings; it is normal to expect prices will rise; So Stop borrowing from abroad. (b) Fuel prices are too high, and transport costs are rising fast; So reduce or eliminate tax on imports of oil. (c) Reintroduce rationing and public distribution system for all. (d) Increase interest rates. (e) increase tax for the upper-most income group (f) Abolish forward trading and speculations on food and commodities.
the government can do a lot if it wants. If it does not want, it can say what this Sibal is saying.
PM Manmohan Singh in his stint as Finance Minister termed controlling inflation as the biggest anti poverty measure. But while replying to the debate on Motion of Thanks on the President's address in Parliament, he said we will not control the prices by paying less to our farmers as the NDA did. Anyway, farmers never get the higher prices that the consumers pay. Because price rise for a commodity happens only after the harvest is sold by the farmer. But the question is the PM's statement is a reflection of the Govt's commitment to control prices. We should never expect contol of price rise from this govt.