Wats wrong when Raj is asking for reservation for his people when congress party is asking for reservation for OBC. Is country mein sab neta log apni apni dukaan khol ke bethey hain aur vohi samaan bechte hain jike customer hon. Ab Raj thackray bhi to vohi bechega jo uski dukaan sey bekega aur jiski grahak honge.
If raj has so much love towards Marathi's then let himself do something for them...ask so called marathi;s to educate themselves to fit for the jobs...this non-sence bastered know that marathi's do not have any quality to compete with others so want to play this politics...he want india to be in 16th century...not 21st...
RE:Raj the bloddy foooool NO-1
by on Apr 14, 2008 06:33 PM Permalink
you seem to know the man inside out bt you forgot dat he has ears only fr marathi ...better get it translated fr him let him also know wot his fans think abt him...
If raj is serious, then it's a bad news of the most industrialized state....companies recruit on the basis of talent and no other criteria....if govt of maharastra really enforces..companies will move out of the state
It is indeed good to see someone standing up for Maharastrians. I have seen in my work experience abroad, the regional bias is existent even in the most developed countries. So why should maharastrians be left without jobs when the bhaiiyas royally handout jobs in thier community.
RE:Go Raj
by manish tawde on Apr 11, 2008 10:01 AM Permalink
Is India really democratic country? When we have quota on the basis of Cast (SC/ST/OBC) we dont have right to call overselves democratic country. Congress call other parties like BJP/Shivsena that they play cast politics but they themselves giving quota on the basis of cast and playing cast politics. There should be quota only on the basis of status of the family or person. If he/she doesnt have enough resources / money to uplift his/her life they should be given preference in some thigs like education/jobs. We cant recruit bad doctors only on the basis of cast. I am maharashtrian but and I m in majority but when i travell by train these days I feel like I am in minority as there are very few left from my cast in this Mumbai. May be marathis are responsible for this to an extent but Government is also equally responsible for the same. Government is not at all transperant in disclosing what they are getting from public as Tax and on which things how much they are spending. Are they building really quality infrastructure for the next 25 years atleast. There should be transperant accounting same as private corporates maintained by all governments state / central. I think our governement is getting enough money from people but they are wasting it or they are consuming the same for themselves. Goverment people are getting rich but they do not want to think about people who vote for them. If they make less frauds may be we will get enough facilities from government. I want to wri
It is a given fact that India's states have been formed on the basis of linguistic identities. I am not going into the discussion as to whether this decision is correct or not, but simply recognize this as a fact and a good 50 years have passed since then.
The linguistic identity of Maharashtra is threatened by the massive influx of Hindi-speaking migrants in the past 5-10 years. These hindi-speaking migrants are not learning the local language and remaining a distinct group. These guys refuse to let go of their regional identity but still want Maharashtrians to accept them?
In this case, then Maharashtrians have the right to protect and maintain the linguistic identity of Maharashra just as other states do.
Instead of Hindi as national language, English should be made the national language as it is a neutral language and therefore should be accepted by all. Moreover, we cannot forget the all-India presence of British for 150 years and the fact that English is an international language for business and science.
It might be a game for the political parties to put one group against another .. a way to increase their vote bank. But in the middle of rising inflation, and a wavering stock market, along with weak global economic cues, this kind of trouble just spells more doom and gloom for industry and the overall economy. I am against any kind of quota system .. jobs should be given according to ability and education. This is a country of many different peoples and cultural groups, and does not belong to any ONE person or group, so stop this stupid narrow-minded regionalism. I prefer to vote for a party that shows economic sense, since what affects my pocket and my stomach affects my vote. I vote for the party that shows us the highest increase in overall Indian GDP, and a peaceful existence for us all, and that is my only political affiliation. So they should keep that in mind before they start another needless fight and lose more votes.
THERE IS VERY LITTLE DIFFERENCE BEWEEN MARATHI AND HINDI..ANY NORTHINDIAN(REFERRING TO A UPITE AND BIHARI)CAN UNDERSTAND MARATHI AND VICEVRSA. THE HINDI FILM INDUSTRY HAS THRIVED HERE......WITH MANY MAHARASHTRIANS WORKING AS ESTABLISHED ACTORS ... THE LOCALS HAv NO PROBLEM WITH HINDI AS A LANGUAGE....UNLIKE MANY OTHER COUNTERPARTS IN INDIA... IT IS VERY UNFORTUNATE SOME RECENT EVENTS HAV BEEN LABELLED AS A "TIFF BETWEEN MARATHIS AND UP AND BIHARIWALLAHS" BUT U MUST REMEMBER THAT THIS ALL STARTED WITH A STREET BRAWL BETN MNS AND SP WORKERS.. I THINK THE MAIN PARTIES RESPONSIBLE 4 THIS R---- THE MEDIA SENSATION--HUNGRY VIEWERS STRESSED UP PPL WHO WANT SUM SOLACE IN THE CONTROVERSIES ABOUT THE RAILWAY EXAMS , WE WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY IF THE EXAMS R CONDUCTED IN FREE AND FAIR MANNER... BUT THE PROBLEM IS THAT IS NOT THE CASE....BUT THERE IS RAMPANT CORRUPTION AND FAVORITISM.. FOR EG THE ADVERTISEMENTS ABOUT THE EXAMS WERE ONLY ISSUED IN BIHAR AND NOT ELSEWHERE IN THE COUNTRY !!!WE R AGAINST THIS.... AFTER THIS IF THE BIHARIS GET JOB THEY R MORE THAN WELCOME.. WE MAHARASHTRIANS R INNOVATORS... FOR EG KIRLOSKARS ,VITHAL KAMAT ( FIRST ECOTEL IN ASIA),... THE ONLY PROBLEM IS WE DONT SEEK FAME... WE R MORE BOTHERED ABOUT SPIRITUAL PROGRESS.... ABOUT MARATHIS WORKING ELSEWHERE,LOOK AT THEM THEY HAV TOTALLY BLENDED WID THE LOCALS THEYR NOTSTARTINGPARALLELCULTUE.
RE:REALITY CHECK
by milind sabnis on Apr 11, 2008 05:48 AM Permalink
I do not agree with your observation on Hindi bhashis understanding Marathi.
My experience is that most Hindi-bhashi migrants do not understand and speak Marathi nor do they make any attempt to do so.
They cite the presence of Bollywood industry and Hindi being "Rajya Bhasha" to get away from learning or understanding Marathi.
You have totally ignored the main point of the problem. Hindi-bhashis have migrated in such large numbers into Mumbai and (surprise) in Tier2 cities of Maharashtra, that they have started forming vote-banks. Hindi-bhashis are aspiring for political power by attending the rallies of Amar Singh and Laloo Yadav in lakhs. Marathis resent the quest for power by Hindi-bhashis.
Believe it or not, Hindi-bhashis are trying to make Hindi an official language in Mumbai's BMC too.
Therefore your observation of Hindi-bhashis trying to assimilate with Marathis is incorrect!
RE:REALITY CHECK
by rekha singh on Apr 16, 2008 07:20 PM Permalink
We all learnt in our growing years that language is a bridge between two people communities or nations ...but it is sad to see that the very languages which acted as bridge not long ago is now being trated as a barrier in bringing in harmony among our people . It was only our sense of nationalism that kept us together during the pre-independence era but the moment it was achieved we suddenly realized how foolish we were to live together as a single nation ..and then came our new generation leaders-- irresponsible , indifferent unconcerned myopic , dumb deaf and whatnot ...ensured that the very thread of harmony that bound us together must be snapped for if it didnt they will not be successful in aquiring power and money and we like fools played in their hands and achieve nothing but our own doom.....and in the bargain making these lowly creatures called politicians our heroes our saviours .....
This is utter nonsense! I know many marathis who are really intelligent. Jobs are for intelligents not based on localites. If outsiders stop coming into maharshatra for job then there are jobs which might also go out of maharashtra. There is no caste, gender, race or region of knowledgable people. Its a short term gain for maharashtra but a long term loss. Be carerful marathi brothers and come out from this attitude. It may kill you.
Media is distorting the facts. There is an undertaking signed by industries to employ 80% of unskilled labor from local people.
This is the usual practice not only in Maharashtra but in other states too.
The huge influx of migrants into Maharashtra are prepared to work for lower wages, thus jobs are denied to the local people.
This is an injustice to local people.
The argument of Industry moving out of Maharashtra due to jobs given to locals is fallacious.
Industries are free to relocate to states from where the migrants are coming from as the wages are low there. Industries knowing this fact well have still refused to set up industries in the states from which these migrants are coming from as there are many factors like a favorable investment climate that Maharashtra offers and not low wages for unskilled labor alone.
RE:Nonsense
by on Apr 11, 2008 06:41 AM Permalink
I think what you are saying is right. Its about time that Ambani, Godrej, Mahindra, Tata, Bajaj move out of Maharashtra as they aren't Marathi's. They should move out to Gujarat or their states. Same goes for Infosys/Wipro/HCL and Satyam which are primarily a south india based companies. Also may be farmers from Punjab should raise prices of agricultural products why should they get less price in order to feed poor from other states and states like Bihar and jharkand should raise cost for minerals why shouldthey think about effect it may have on others......To politicians playing this dirty game I would say "Have a heart".
RE:Nonsense
by milind sabnis on Apr 11, 2008 06:49 AM Permalink
The argument you make of industries shifting out of Maharashtra is fallacious.
Industries are free to relocate to states from where the migrants are coming from as the wages are low there. Industries knowing this fact well have still refused to set up industries in the states from which these migrants are coming from as there are many factors like a favorable investment climate that Maharashtra offers and not low wages for unskilled labor alone.