It is true money satisfies a person for his/her personal, family needs. But it is not everything. Family, good friends, person whom you love are more important than money. Money is of no use if a person does not have the above 3.
Yeah, looks like it is a paid Ad for Wharton and neoliberal agenda. US is worse off in terms of human development index and standard of living compared to other developed nations like Canada, France etc despite much higher wealth and GDP. The Wal-Mart family owns as much wealth as the 120 million lowest earning Americans combined. And what would they suggest next- millions losing their home in foreclosures are a "happy" lot? 40 million with no health covereage are joyous of their situation? sick joke.
RE:Only idiots and Wharton experts would believe that
by Moderator on Apr 09, 2008 09:09 AM Permalink
good rip off from the "SICO" movie....you note is plagiarized...
RE:Only idiots and Wharton experts would believe that
by sam on Apr 10, 2008 09:04 AM Permalink
there's no plagiarism in telling the Truth! BTW, my observations are not from Sicko, foreclosures did not happen then.
to have only if you are rich. Middle class people all over the world are always struggling to balance their need to show off and their grim realities(living on month to month basis with all those recurring costs). Dont stop at earning a few 10s of lakhs , dream big and try to earn a few crores apart from your house. Only then can you actually live out your dreams and contribute something to society also. Middle class people are actually in a trishanku state, neither they are poor nor they are rich, they are in-between
v say "health is wealth" its our own wisdom taught by our ancestors, not without reason. money can buy comforts and luxuries but not happiness. or may b money can buy physical happiness but not mental happiness.(although even tablets can only suppress the incurable disease n not eradicate it fully, so physically no help from money here also).
i remember one ad made for the cold drinks 'sprite' which was funny but really thought provoking. which shows one collegian sitting idle, drinking sprite n enjoying while others r roaming around something or the other.
money can buy comforts n luxuries but not happiness. even if the whole corporate empire of one billion is left by father, his children will fight for sharing the empire although both of them vl already b having control ovr half billion. so even half billion cant buy u peace then what money can buy.
I agree money buys a person happiness. I wudnt exactly classify it as happiness. But often a lot of things we set out to do and acheive is counted for its value in money... even if its a social cause it makes you feel better to start 10 schools rather than 1... so yeah money is equal to happiness...
If u have money, u can solve almost 99% of ur problems leaving only 1% . But, if u don't have money, u will face 99% problems & will solve only 1% problems. So, it could be said that, money can buy (or rather bring) happiness to most extent, if not all.
Even as someone with a reasonable amount of it, I have noticed that liquid cash in the wallet can often control my mood swings like nothing else usually can. Even though I have managed to earn myself most other things to keep me happy in life, the days when my wallet's light, I tend to be in a lousy mood, snap at people and the works.. so I guess the learnings of this study cannot be ignored.